Members of the Franklin Expedition were Royal Navy sailors as well as Arctic explorers. Their clothing aimed to uphold naval tradition while protecting the wearer from Arctic conditions.

Fourteen members of the crew were Royal Marines. Unlike the regular crew members, who wore blue, marines wore red coats with a white lining and black leather caps. Parks Canada underwater archaeologists found examples of pewter buttons and a shoulder belt plate from Royal Marine uniforms aboard the shipwreck of HMS Erebus in April 2015. Equipped similarly to soldiers of the British army, marines enforced discipline aboard the ship and formed part of its defensive force.

The cost of British Navy uniforms

Naval uniforms changed over the course of the 19th century. New additions in 1843 significantly increased the cost of dress uniforms, particularly for the officers. In a letter to his father, Harry D. S. Goodsir, assistant surgeon aboard HMS Erebus, detailed costs, which would have been considerable for a junior warrant officer. Before sailing the men received six month’s pay in advance. For Goodsir this was £114.

"I have been up looking after my outfit & find it will be rather expensive. The Queen visits us on Tuesday next & if we all require to attend it will be a cause of great expense as we must appear in full dress uniform & a cocked hat alone costs £4. As it is I have been obliged to get a suit of undress uniform which I hope will be all that I need at present in that way. My suit of furs alone will cost from 8 to £10 & what with shirts, outer clothing bedding etc. it will come to something considerable. Government only gives us a certain amount of clothing annually, the rest we provide ourselves."Footnote 1

Sir John Franklin in uniform.
Click to enlarge

Uniforms for the Arctic

Warm winter clothing was issued to the crew for polar expeditions. In addition to their uniforms, officers had to bring warm clothing with them. Harry D. S. Goodsir made his own list which included:

  • Pilot Jackets & trousers
  • One pair Deer-Skin Trousers
  • Racoon Skin Trousers
  • One Lambskin Waistcoat
  • One large Sealskin Greatcoat
  • One Sealskin Cap
  • 3prs Sealskin Gloves
  • 3prs strong boots
  • Chamois skin shirts
  • Chamois skin trousers
  • Grampian stockings
Top portion of the “Demand for Slop Clothing.
Click to enlarge

Adoption of Inuit clothing

Many explorers preferred Inuit materials and techniques for their clothing. Royal Navy officer Sherard Osborn described Inuit clothing during a stop in Greenland, part of a 1850-1851 search for Franklin’s ships: “the clothing of the natives is vastly superior to anything we could produce, both in lightness of material, and wind and water-tight qualities; - the material, seal and deer skin, and entrails, manufactured by the women; their needles of Danish manufacture; their thread, the delicate sinews of animals. We gladly purchased all we could obtain of their clothing.”Footnote 2

Inuit woman with baby on her back scraping a hide.
Click to enlarge

Layers for warmth

Sherard Osborn gives a detailed account what was needed to keep crew warm over an Arctic winter: “Inside the ship, the men wore long-sleeved flannel shirts, a cotton shirt, a flannel-lined waistcoat with sleeves, flannel drawers, flannel-lined trousers made of box-cloth [definition: water-resistant felted yarn], two pairs of stockings, a horse-hair sole and a pair of boots. Outside, the men would wear a box-cloth pea jacket, a welsh wig [definition: knitted wool tuque], a seal-skin cap, beaver-skin mitts and a shawl. Men with sensitive skin covered their faces with a piece of cloth.”Footnote 3

Les membres de l’expédition de Franklin étaient des marins de la Royal Navy de même que des explorateurs de l’Arctique. Leurs vêtements visaient à respecter la tradition navale tout en protégeant la personne qui le portait contre les conditions arctiques.

L’équipage comptait quatorze (14) membres des Royal Marines. Contrairement aux membres de l’équipage ordinaire, qui portaient du bleu, les Royal Marines portaient des manteaux rouges dotés d’une doublure blanche et des casquettes en cuir noirs. Des archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada ont trouvé des boutons en étain et une plaque de baudrier d’uniformes de la Marine royale à bord de l’épave du HMS Erebus en avril 2015. Équipés comme les soldats de l’armée britannique, les marins faisaient respecter l’ordre à bord du navire et constituaient une partie de sa force défensive.

Le coût des uniformes de la marine britannique

Les uniformes de la marine ont évolué au cours du XIXe siècle. De nouveaux ajouts en 1843 ont considérablement fait augmenter le coût des uniformes, en particulier ceux des officiers. Dans une lettre adressée à son père, Harry D. S. Goodsir, un aide-chirurgien à bord du HMS Erebus, détaillait les coûts, qui étaient sans doute considérables pour un officier marinier subalterne. Avant de prendre la mer, les hommes avaient reçu six mois de salaire à l’avance. Dans le cas de Goodsir, il s’agissait de £114.

« Je veille à mon uniforme et je constate que cela me coûtera plutôt cher. La Reine nous rendra visite mardi prochain, et si nous devons tous y assister, cela coûtera bien cher, car nous devrons tous porter un uniforme de grande tenue, et un chapeau à cornes qui coûte £4. J’ai été obligé de me procurer un uniforme de petite tenue et j’espère que ce sera tout ce dont j’aurai besoin pour l’instant. Ma tenue de fourrure coûtera entre 8 et £10, et c’est sans compter les chemises, les vêtements extérieurs, la literie, etc., qui constitueront une grande dépense. Le gouvernement nous fournit seulement quelques vêtements par année; le reste, c’est nous qui nous le procurons. » [traduction]Footnote 1

Sir John Franklin en uniforme.
Cliquez pour aggrandir

Uniformes pour l’Arctique

Des vêtements d’hiver chauds avaient été distribués à l’équipage des expéditions polaires. En plus de leurs uniformes, les officiers devaient apporter avec eux des vêtements chauds. Harry D. S. Goodsir a dressé une liste de ces propres vêtements, notamment :

  • Une veste de pilote et pantalons
  • Une paire de pantalons en peau de cerf
  • Des pantalons en peau de raton laveur
  • Une veste en peau d’agneau
  • Une grande capote en peau de phoque
  • Un capuchon en peau de phoque
  • Trois (3) paires de gants en peau de phoque
  • Trois (3) paires de bottes solides
  • Des chandails en peau de chamois
  • Des pantalons en peau de chamois
  • Des bas Grampian
Partie supérieure du document de demande pour vêtements.
Cliquez pour aggrandir

Vêtements inuits adoptés

De nombreux explorateurs préféraient les matériaux et les techniques inuits pour leurs vêtements. L’officier de la Royal Navy Sherard Osborn décrivit les vêtements inuits lors d’un arrêt au Groenland, dans le cadre de la recherche des navires du Franklin en 1850-1851 : Les vêtements des Autochtones sont nettement supérieurs à tout ce que nous pourrions produire, tant dans la légèreté du matériau que dans leur étanchéité à l’eau et au vent; les matériaux, la peau de phoque et de cerf, ainsi que les entrailles, fabriqués par les femmes; leurs aiguilles de fabrication danoise; leur fil, les babiches délicates d’animaux. Nous avons acheté volontiers tout ce que nous pouvions obtenir de leurs vêtements. [Traduction]Footnote 2

Femme Inuite avec un bébé qui gratte une peau d’animal.
Cliquez pour aggrandir

Couches de vêtements pour se garder au chaud

Sherard Osborn donne un compte rendu détaillé de ce qui était nécessaire pour garder l’équipage au chaud durant un hiver dans l’Arctique : « À bord du navire, les hommes portaient des chemises de flanelle à manches longues, une chemise en coton, une veste avec manches doublée de flanelle, des caleçons en flanelle, des pantalons en box-cloth [définition : tissu à fil feutré résistant à l’eau] doublés de flanelle, deux paires de pas, des semelles en crin de cheval et une paire de bottes. À l’extérieur, les hommes portaient un caban en box-cloth, une tuque en laine tricotée dite welsh wig, une casquette en peau de phoque, des gants en peau de castor et un châle. Les hommes qui avaient la peau sensible se couvraient le visage avec un morceau de tissu. » [Traduction] Footnote 3