Building on the remarkable exploration of the interior of HMS Terror and working in collaboration with Inuit from Gjoa Haven, Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Team continued with the investigation of HMS Erebus.

From August 20 to September 12, 2019 over 350 artifacts were recovered from HMS Erebus, including officer’s epaulettes and ceramic dishes, mainly from two cabin areas. Inuit Heritage Trust and Parks Canada are proud to highlight a selection of artifacts.

Transcript

Parks Canada Logo

In 2019, Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Team returned to Wilmot and Crampton Bay in Nunavut, to continue the research on the wreck of HMS Erebus -- one of two lost vessels of the 1845 Sir John Franklin Expedition. As one of the largest, most complex underwater archaeological undertakings in Canadian history, Parks Canada and Inuit are working in partnership to explore the wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror.

The Government of Canada’s on-going investigation of the wrecks is a collaboration with the Inuit Heritage Trust and based on the advice of the Franklin Interim Advisory Committee. The goal is to document and protect the Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site to help unravel the mysteries of the Franklin Expedition.

Prior to archaeological work, the Parks Canada research vessel David Thompson rendezvoused with the Canadian Coast Guard icebreaker Sir Wilfrid Laurier. This allowed for the David Thompson to be refuelled after its 5,000 nautical mile voyage to the Arctic.

Survey equipment and a pair of 3-tonne mooring anchors supplied by the Canadian Coast Guard were transferred to the diving support barge “Qiniqtiryuaq” — which means “searching for some thing or person which was lost.” With the barge set-up and securely moored over the wreck of HMS Erebus, the diving operation began in earnest.

During a three-week period, Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Team completed a total of 93 dives, spending approximately 110 hours underwater.

Marc-André Bernier: “I would like to show you a bit of what we’ve done… and how we’re proceeding with excavation… and what we’ve found.”

This year’s excavation efforts focused on two areas along the port side of the lower deck - - an officer’s cabin for the third Lieutenant, and the captain’s steward’s pantry. Within these two adjacent areas, enclosed drawers in fitted cabinets and the remains of cupboards were found, in which a trove of stored artifacts were revealed. All newly discovered artifacts from HMS Erebus and HMS Terror are jointly-owned by the Government of Canada and Inuit.

Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Team uses water induction dredges, trowels, and sometimes light hand-fanning to carefully remove sediments from around buried artifacts, exposing them for mapping, photography, and recovery.

Artefacts from the captain’s steward’s pantry included an abundance of ceramic tableware and beverage containers among other, more personal items such as clothing, a toothbrush with intact bristles and remnants of an accordion.

The precise position and depth of each artifact is recorded before it is gently removed, packaged and brought to the surface for the first time in over 170 years.

Delicate organic materials such as sealing wax and textiles are well preserved in the cold dark Arctic waters, which are covered by sea ice for much of the year.

At the end of the field season, the barge is untethered from its moorings and towed back to the community of Gjoa Haven where it will spend a long winter until next year’s operations.

Over 350 artifacts were recovered during the 2019 field season, including this stunning epaulette from a Lieutenant’s dress uniform. These artifacts are currently undergoing preliminary analysis - - a process that includes identifying the physical characteristics of each object, scaled illustrations, x-rays, and studio photography. Once the analysis is complete, the artifacts will go to the conservation lab for treatment and stabilization.

The systematic excavation of HMS Erebus has only just begun in collaboration with the Inuit Heritage Trust as co-owners of the artifacts. Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Team is excited to return to the Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site to expand the exploration these shipwrecks to new areas. There is much promise of yielding further insights into the shipboard lives of the crew, while hopefully uncovering more clues as to what happened in the final days of the Franklin Expedition.

Parks Canada recognizes the invaluable role of Inuit, the Government of Nunavut, and all partners, in the discoveries of the Franklin wrecks. Most importantly, the discoveries would not have been possible without the support, guidance, advice and knowledge shared so generously by Inuit.

The Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site is protected by a restricted area and activity order on the recommendation of the Franklin Interim Advisory Committee. Entering the site without a permit is an offence under the Canada National Parks Act, and is punishable by a fine of up to $500,000. The wreck sites are actively and remotely monitored by the Government of Canada, in partnership with Inuit Guardians. These restrictions do not affect the right of access by Nunavut Inuit for harvesting as provided in the Nunavut Agreement.


Artifacts

Epaulettes from officer’s uniform
Recovered from HMS Erebus, on lower deck
September 2019
Lead stamp
Recovered from HMS Erebus, on lower deck
September 2019
Sealing wax
Recovered from HMS Erebus, on lower deck
September 2019
Decanter/Eau de toilette bottle
Recovered from HMS Erebus, on lower deck
August 2019
Hairbrush
Recovered from HMS Erebus, on lower deck
September 2019
Pencil case
Recovered from HMS Erebus, on lower deck
September 2019

Suite aux résultats remarquables de l’exploration intérieure du HMS Terror, et travaillant en collaboration avec les Inuits de Gjoa Haven, l’Équipe d’archéologie subaquatique de Parks Canada a poursuivi les recherches sur HMS Terror.

Du 20 août au 12 septembre 2019, plus de 350 artefacts ont été récupérés de l’épave du HMS Erebus, dont des épaulettes d’officier, et des couverts en céramique, provenant principalement de deux cabines. La fiducie du patrimoine inuit et Parcs Canada sont fiers de présenter une sélection d’artefacts.

Transcription

En 2019, l’équipe d’archéologie subaquatique de Parcs Canada est retournée à la baie Wilmot and Crampton, au Nunavut, pour poursuivre les recherches sur l’épave du HMS Erebus, l’un des deux navires perdus de l’expédition Sir John Franklin de 1845. Dans le cadre de l’une des fouilles archéologiques subaquatiques les plus vastes et les plus complexes de l’histoire du Canada, Parcs Canada et les Inuits travaillent ensemble pour explorer les épaves du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror.

Les travaux de recherche entrepris par le gouvernement du Canada sur ces épaves sont le fruit d’une collaboration avec le Inuit Heritage Trust et sont fondés sur les conseils du Comité consultatif provisoire de l’expédition de Franklin. L’objectif est de documenter et protéger les épaves du lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror pour aider à percer les mystères de l’expédition de Franklin.

Avant les travaux archéologiques, le navire de recherche de Parcs Canada David Thompson a rejoint le brise-glace Sir Wilfrid Laurier de la Garde côtière canadienne. Cela a permis au David Thompson d’être ravitaillé en carburant après son voyage de 5 000 milles marins dans l’Arctique.

L’équipement de prospection et une paire d’ancres d’amarrage de 3 tonnes fournies par la Garde côtière canadienne ont été transférés à la barge de soutien à la plongée « Qiniqtiryuaq » — ce qui signifie « à la recherche d’une chose ou d’une personne qui a été perdue ». Avec la barge installée et solidement amarrée au-dessus de l’épave du HMS Erebus, l’opération de plongée a pu commencer pour de bon.

Au cours d’une période de trois semaines, l’équipe d’archéologie subaquatique de Parcs Canada a effectué 93 plongées et a passé environ 110 heures sous l’eau.

Marc-André Bernier : « Alors, ce que nous avons ici, ce que nous aimerions faire aujourd’hui, c’est de présenter le travail d’archéologie subaquatique que nous faisons présentement sur les épaves.»

Cette année, les fouilles se sont concentrées sur deux zones le long du côté bâbord du pont inférieur – une cabine d’officier pour le troisième lieutenant et les réserves de l’ordonnance du capitaine. À l’intérieur de ces deux zones adjacentes, on a trouvé des tiroirs fermés dans des meubles de même que des armoires, dans lesquels on a découvert de nombreux artefacts entreposés. Tous les nouveaux artefacts découverts du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror appartiennent conjointement au gouvernement du Canada et aux Inuits.

L’équipe d’archéologie subaquatique de Parcs Canada utilise des truelles, des pompes hydrauliques, et, parfois, un petit balai pour enlever soigneusement les sédiments autour des artefacts enfouis, pour qu’ils soient cartographiés, photographiés et récupérés.

Les artefacts des réserves de l’ordonnance du capitaine comprenaient une abondance de vaisselle en céramique et de contenants à boisson, entre autres, des articles plus personnels comme des vêtements, une brosse à dents avec des poils intacts et les restes d’un accordéon.

La position et la profondeur précises de chaque artefact sont consignées avant qu’il soit retiré, emballé et ramené à la surface pour la première fois en plus de 170 ans.

Les matières organiques délicates comme la cire à cacheter et les textiles sont bien préservées dans les eaux froides et sombres de l’Arctique, qui sont recouvertes de glace de mer pendant une bonne partie de l’année.

À la fin de la saison des fouilles, la barge est libérée de ses amarres et remorquée jusqu’à la communauté de Gjoa Haven, où elle passera un long hiver jusqu’aux opérations de l’an prochain.

Plus de 350 artefacts ont été récupérés pendant la saison de fouilles de 2019, y compris cette magnifique épaulette d’un uniforme de cérémonie du lieutenant. Ces artéfacts font actuellement l’objet d’une analyse préliminaire. C’est un processus qui comprend l’identification des caractéristiques physiques de chaque objet, des illustrations à l’échelle, des radiographies et des photographies en studio. Une fois l’analyse terminée, les artéfacts seront envoyés au laboratoire de conservation pour être traités et stabilisés.

Les fouilles systématiques du HMS Erebus viennent tout juste de commencer en collaboration avec le Inuit Heritage Trust en tant que copropriétaires des artefacts. L’équipe d’archéologie subaquatique de Parcs Canada est ravie de retourner au lieu historique national des Épaves-du-HMS Erebus-et-du-HMS Terror afin d’étendre l’exploration de ces épaves à de nouvelles zones. On espère ainsi mieux comprendre la vie de l’équipage à bord du navire, tout en découvrant, espérons-le, d’autres indices sur ce qui s’est passé dans les derniers jours de l’expédition de Franklin.

Parcs Canada reconnaît le rôle inestimable des Inuits, du gouvernement du Nunavut et de tous les partenaires dans la découverte des épaves de Franklin. Surtout, les découvertes n’auraient pas été possibles sans le soutien, les indications, les conseils et les connaissances si généreusement partagés par les Inuits.

Le lieu historique national des Épaves-du-HMS Erebus-et-du-HMS Terror est protégé par une zone réglementée et un ordre d’activité sur la recommandation du Comité consultatif provisoire de l’expédition de Franklin. L’entrée sur le site sans permis constitue une infraction à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et est passible d’une amende maximale de 500 000 $. Les sites des épaves sont surveillés activement et à distance par le gouvernement du Canada, en partenariat avec les gardiens inuits. Ces restrictions n’ont pas d’incidence sur le droit d’accès des Inuits du Nunavut à la récolte prévu dans l’Accord sur le Nunavut.


Artefacts

Épaulettes d’un uniforme d’officier
Récupérées du HMS Erebus, sur le pont inférieur
Septembre 2019
Tampon de plomb
Récupéré du HMS Erebus, sur le pont inférieur
September 2019
Cire à cacheter
Récupérée du HMS Erebus, sur le pont inférieur
Septembre 2019
Décanteur/bouteille d’eau de toilette
Récupéré du HMS Erebus, sur le pont inférieur
Août 2019
Brosse à cheveux
Récupérée du HMS Erebus, sur le pont inférieur
Septembre 2019
Boîte à crayons
Récupérée du HMS Erebus, sur le pont inférieur
Septembre 2019