From the sea to the lab

All artifacts retrieved from the wreck sites are first recorded by the archaeologists before they are excavated and taken to the laboratory in Ottawa for conservation treatment.

After the artifact is excavated, it can quickly deteriorate, causing the loss of many features of the artifact. The process of conservation begins as soon as the artifacts are out of the water. Taking the artifact from the sea to air and a dry environment can be very harmful to an artifact. We can keep newly excavated artifacts from deteriorating by maintaining similar conditions to those of the sea environment until it arrives at the laboratory.

We stabilize the artifacts by keeping them wet, dark and cold. Keeping artifacts cold while working in the arctic is easy but maintaining low temperatures during the trip to the lab can be challenging. The artifacts travel almost 3000 km from Nunavut to the laboratory in Ottawa.

Once the artifacts arrive at the lab, they are unpacked and their details are recorded and photographed thoroughly. Conservators check that the condition of each artifact is still stable.


Conservation and restoration

When the artifact is made from different materials (ex: glass, brass, wood, etc.), conservators need to make sure that treatment to clean one of the materials will not affect the other materials negatively. It’s important for the conservators to know and understand what the artifact is made of.

In the lab, the artifacts are gently cleaned of silt, seaweed and other marine life. It can be placed in an alkaline solution to remove the salt from the sea. This process can take many months but it is a very important step.

The solution is changed regularly until no more salt is detected. Once this is done, the artifact is rinsed and dried. The conservator careful cleans the rusted surfaces to show more details but the corrosion is not always all removed. Over-cleaning the rust from an artifact can result in losing some of the details or even reducing its authenticity.

The broad arrow and date of the bell recovered from HMS Erebus are actually preserved in the corrosion itself.

De l’océan au laboratoire

Tous les artefacts récupérés des sites des épaves sont premièrement enregistrés par les archéologues avant d’être extraits et apportés au laboratoire d'Ottawa pour y subir un traitement de conservation.

Après son extraction, un artefact peut se détériorer rapidement et un grand nombre de ses caractéristiques sont alors perdues. Le processus de conservation d’un artefact commence dès que celui-ci est retiré de l’eau. Le retrait d’un artefact de l’eau, de même que son exposition à l’air et à un environnement sec, peuvent le compromettre. Nous pouvons prévenir la détérioration des artefacts fraîchement extraits en les conservant dans des milieux similaires au milieu marin jusqu’à leur arrivée au laboratoire.

Nous stabilisons les artefacts en les conservant dans un milieu humide, sombre et froid. Le maintien des artéfacts au froid durant les travaux dans l’Arctique, c’est facile, mais le maintien des températures basses durant le trajet jusqu’au laboratoire peut être difficile. Les artefacts parcourent près de 3 000 km, passant du Nunavut au laboratoire d'Ottawa.

Une fois arrivés au laboratoire, les artefacts sont déballés et toutes leurs caractéristiques sont enregistrées et photographiées en détail. Les restaurateurs s’assurent que l’état de chaque artefact est encore stable.


Conservation et restauration

Lorsqu’un artefact est composé de matériaux différents (p. ex. verre, laiton, bois, etc.), les restaurateurs doivent veiller à ce que le traitement utilisé pour nettoyer un matériau n’ait pas d’effet négatif sur les autres matériaux. C’est pourquoi il est important pour les restaurateurs de savoir et de comprendre de quoi est composé un artefact.

Au laboratoire, les artefacts sont nettoyés avec précaution pour en enlever le limon, les algues et autres organismes marins. Les artefacts peuvent être placés dans une solution alcaline pour en retirer le sel de mer. Ce procédé peut prendre des mois, mais il s’agit d’une étape très importante.

La solution est régulièrement renouvelée jusqu’à ce qu’on n’y détecte plus de sel. Une fois cela fait, l’artefact est rincé et séché. Le restaurateur nettoie en douceur les surfaces rouillées pour faire ressortir davantage de détails, mais il n’est pas toujours possible d’enlever au complet la corrosion. Le nettoyage excessif de la rouille risque d’entraîner la perte de certains détails ou même de réduire son authenticité.

La flèche et la date de la cloche récupérée du HMS Erebus sont conservées à même la corrosion.