Over one hundred and seventy years ago, British explorer Sir John Franklin and his crew went missing while searching for a Northwest Passage. Over time, Inuit traditional knowledge (Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit) combined with new knowledge and modern technology, led to the discovery of the wreck sites of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror. Today, there is still much to learn from the story of these shipwrecks.

Inuit culture

Inuit are an integral part of the Franklin story, and co-manage with Parks Canada the Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site. Living on the land, sea and ice in the King William Island area, they were first-hand witnesses to the Franklin Expedition, and they helped contribute to the search for the lost vessels over the ensuing years. In 2014, Inuit knowledge helped the Government of Canada and other partners finally discover the wreck of the HMS Erebus. The location of the second ship was discovered in 2016 as part of this multilateral partnership. Since the discoveries, Inuit have been working collaboratively with Parks Canada to manage this national historic site.

History

HMS Erebus and HMS Terror and the 129 men on board were lost during Sir John Franklin’s tragic 1845 expedition to chart Canada’s Northwest Passage. The lost vessels were sought for more than 160 years, and were finally located in 2014 and 2016.

Learn and explore

The disappearance of Sir John Franklin and his crew during his expedition in search of the Northwest Passage, Inuit culture and knowledge related to the expedition, and the recent discoveries of his ships, the HMS Erebus and Terror, provide many interesting modern day opportunities for learning.

Archaeology

The location of the Erebus and Terror had been a mystery for over 150 years, after Sir John Franklin and his crew went missing in 1846. But with the powerful combination of traditional Inuit knowledge and modern technology, the ships were discovered in 2014 and 2016, resting on the bottom of the Arctic Ocean near King William Island, also known as Qikiqtaq.

Il y a plus de 170 ans, Sir John Franklin et son équipe ont disparu pendant qu’ils étaient à la recherche du passage du Nord-Ouest. Avec le temps, le savoir traditionnel inuit (Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit), combiné à de nouvelles connaissances et à la technologie moderne, a mené à la découverte des épaves du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror. Aujourd’hui, il reste encore beaucoup à apprendre de l’histoire de ces épaves.

Culture inuit

Les Inuits font partie intégrante de l'histoire de Franklin et cogèrent avec Parcs Canada le lieu historique national des Épaves-du-HMS Erebus et-du-HMS Terror. Vivant sur la terre, la mer et la glace de la région de l’île du Roi-Guillaume, ils ont été les premiers témoins de l’expédition de Franklin et ils ont contribué à la recherche des navires perdus au cours des années qui ont suivies. En 2014, le savoir inuit a aidé le gouvernement du Canada et d’autres partenaires à finalement découvrir l’épave du HMS Erebus. L’emplacement du second navire a été découvert en 2016 dans le cadre d’un partenariat multilatéral. Depuis ces découvertes, les Inuits ont travaillé collaborativement avec Parcs Canada pour gérer ce lieu historique national.

Histoire

Le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror ainsi que les 129 hommes à bord furent perdus pendant la tragique expédition de sir John Franklin en 1845, alors qu’il tentait de trouver le passage du Nord-Ouest canadien. Ces navires ont fait l’objet de recherches pendant plus de 160 ans et ont enfin été localisés en 2014 et 2016.

Ressources éducatives

La disparition de sir John Franklin et son équipage pendant leur expédition de recherche pour trouver le passage du Nord-Ouest, la culture et les connaissances inuites liées à l,expédition, ainsi que les découvertes récentes de ses navires, les HMS Erebus et Terror, nous fournissent plusieurs occasions d’apprentissage.

Archéologie

L’emplacement des épaves du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror a été une énigme pendant plus de 150 ans, et ce, même après la disparition de sir John Franklin et de son équipage en 1846. Cependant, grâce à la combinaison efficace du savoir traditionnel inuit et de la technologie modernes, les navires ont été découverts en 2014 et 2016, reposant sur le fond marin de l’océan Arctique près de l’île du Roi-Guillaume, aussi connue sous le nom de Qikiqtaq.