A sailboat in a canal

Table of contents


Title: St. Peters and St. Peters Canal National Historic Sites of Canada Management Statement, 2021

Organization: Parks Canada Agency


Foreword

 Jonathan Wilkinson

The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Canada’s national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas belong to all Canadians and offer truly Canadian experiences.

These special places make up one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world.

The Government is committed to preserving our natural and cultural heritage, expanding the system of protected places and contributing to the recovery of species-at-risk. At the same time, we must continue to offer new and innovative visitor and outreach programs and activities so that more Canadians can experience Parks Canada places and learn about our environment, history and culture.

This new management statement for St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites of Canada supports this vision.

Management statements are developed through extensive consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local and regional residents, visitors and the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

National parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas are a priority for the Government of Canada. I would like to thank everyone who contributed to this statement for their commitment and spirit of co-operation.

As the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I applaud this collaborative effort and I am pleased to approve the St. Peters and St. Peters Canal National Historic Sites of Canada Management Statement.

The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by:

Ron Hallman
President & Chief Executive Officer
Parks Canada

Andrew Campbell
Senior Vice-President
Operations Directorate

Blair Pardy
Field Unit Superintendent
Cape Breton Field Unit


Introduction

Parks Canada manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites of Canada.

St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites are commemorated for their role as the site of Fort Saint-Pierre, a 17th-century fortified trading post acquired by Nicholas Denys to trade with the Mi’kmaq. In addition, they are commemorated as the site of Port Toulouse, a French community with a military presence that was witness to Anglo-French rivalry during the period 1713-1758. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recommended both St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites for commemoration in 1929.

The area is significant to the Mi’kmaq people as it is the site of a former Mi’kmaq settlement, and was an important portage route for many generations prior to canal development. Several Mi’kmaq people were involved in building the canal. Although Parks Canada has compiled some information related to the importance of the sites to the Mi’kmaq, the current understanding is limited, and further understanding of the significance of these sites needs to be explored.

St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites are located in the Municipality of the County of Richmond on the southeastern shore of Cape Breton Island, and are part of the Cape Breton Field Unit of Parks Canada. The canal serves both pleasure craft and commercial vessels travelling to and from Bras d’Or Lake with approximately 1000 lockage services per year.

Management approach

Parks Canada will continue to manage St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites as an important navigational route for Cape Breton Island. Parks Canada will also ensure the commemorative integrity of these sites, working with the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia to review and update the commemorative integrity statements which document the sites’ national historic significance.

Parks Canada will continue to strengthen relations with Potlotek First Nation, the Village of St. Peter’s, community organizations, industry and the municipality to identify and collaborate on shared opportunities.

Management objectives

Building relationships with the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia

Parks Canada respects Aboriginal rights, including those identified within peace and friendship treaties, when building mutually beneficial relationships with Aboriginal communities, which is a priority for Parks Canada. In managing St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites, Parks Canada works with Mi’kmaq communities directly and through the Parks Canada-Mi’kmaq Unama’ki Advisory Committee to ensure that both western and Mi’kmaw knowledge inform site management, as well as reflect the values and cultural heritage of the Mi’kmaq people. Areas of interest moving forward include: reviewing and updating the commemorative integrity statements to reflect Mi’kmaq history and connections to the site; inclusive cultural resource management, including greater understanding of the history of the sites through collaborations in archaeology; cross-promotional visitor experience activities and potential employment or contracting opportunities.

Building relationships with local/regional partners

Parks Canada works cooperatively with St. Peter’s Economic Development Organization, Village on the Canal Association, Municipality of the County of Richmond and others to promote and deliver visitor opportunities at the sites, such as the Canal Landing, Lobsterfest, Swim the Canal and Pirate Days events.

Resource conservation

Parks Canada protects cultural resources at heritage places administered by the Agency in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada.

The statement of commemorative integrity and reasons for designation of St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites will be reviewed and updated collaboratively with the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia.

As well, recognizing that the sites have significance for the Mi’kmaq, Parks Canada commits to working with the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia to better understand and protect the values and cultural resources of Mi’kmaw significance at these sites, including from climate change impacts such as coastal erosion and sea-level rise.

Public understanding and appreciation

Parks Canada provides information about the significance of St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites on its website, through social media and on the Canadian Register of Historic Places. Parks Canada also delivers related outreach activities throughout Cape Breton, and has promotional information available at regional visitor information centres.

Canal services

Parks Canada continues to provide lockage services seasonally for vessels coming to and from Bras d’Or Lake.

Site maintenance

Parks Canada maintains the property it administers so as to respect the site’s heritage values, present a positive image to the public, and reflect the Parks Canada brand.

Summary of strategic environmental assessment

In accordance with The Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment is conducted on all management statements tabled in Parliament. The strategic environmental assessment for St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites assessed the potential effects on natural and cultural resources and visitor experience. The strategic environmental assessment concluded that the proposed management statement for St. Peters and St. Peters Canal national historic sites would have positive effects on cultural resources and visitor experience. Potential environmental effects on vegetation, species at risk, migratory birds and water quality were identified but the effects can be mitigated through project-level impact assessments when necessary. The Plan supports the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy goal of Connecting Canadians with Nature. There are no important negative environmental effects anticipated from management statement implementation.


Contact us

For more information about the management statement or about St. Peters and St. Peters Canal National Historic Sites of Canada, please contact:

St. Peters and St. Peters Canal National Historic Sites of Canada
P.O. Box 8
St. Peter’s, Nova Scotia, B0E 3B0
Canada

Email:  pc.information.pc@canada.ca

Phone: 902-295-2069

 St. Peters and St. Peters Canal National Historic Sites of Canada

Fax number:  902-295-3496

Publication information

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the President & Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2021.

Front cover image credit: Parks Canada

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

  • Paper: R64-581/2021E
  • 978-0-660-31679-6
  • PDF: R64-581/2021E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-31677-2

Note to readers
The health and safety of visitors, employees and all Canadians are of the utmost importance. Parks Canada is following the advice and guidance of public health experts to limit the spread of COVID-19 while allowing Canadians to experience Canada’s natural and cultural heritage.
Parks Canada acknowledges that the COVID-19 pandemic may have unforeseeable impacts on the St. Peters and St. Peters Canal National Historic Sites of Canada Management Statement.

Un voilier dans un canal

Table des matières


Titre : Énoncé de gestion des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters, 2021

Organisme : Agence Parcs Canada


Avant-propos

Jonathan Wilkinson

L’honorable Jonathan Wilkinson, C.P., député
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada appartiennent à tout le peuple canadien et offrent des expériences authentiquement canadiennes.

Ces joyaux forment l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires patrimoniales naturelles et culturelles protégées de la planète.

Le gouvernement est résolu à protéger notre patrimoine naturel et culturel, à élargir le réseau d’aires protégées et à contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril. Nous devons en même temps continuer d’offrir des activités et des programmes innovateurs sur place et à distance pour permettre à un nombre accru de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de faire l’expérience des lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada et de découvrir notre histoire, notre environnement et notre culture.

Ce nouvel énoncé de gestion des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters vient appuyer cette vision.

Les énoncés de gestion sont élaborés à l’issue de vastes consultations et avec l’apport de personnes et d’organismes divers, dont des peuples autochtones, des résidents de la région, des visiteurs et l’équipe dévouée de Parcs Canada.

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation sont une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. J’aimerais remercier de leur dévouement et de leur esprit de collaboration tous ceux et celles qui ont contribué à ce plan.

À titre de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada j’applaudis à cet effort concerté, et j’ai l’honneur d’approuver l’énoncé de gestion des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters.

L’honorable Jonathan Wilkinson, C.P., député
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Recommandations

Recommandé par :

Ron Hallman
Président et directeur général
Parcs Canada

Andrew Campbell
Vice-président principal
Direction générale des opérations

Blair Pardy
Directeur d’unité de gestion
Unité de gestion du Cap-Breton


Introduction

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes au monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters.

Les lieux historiques nationaux de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters font l’objet d’une commémoration en raison du rôle qu’ils ont joué comme site du fort Saint-Pierre, poste de traite fortifié du XVIIe siècle dont Nicolas Denys s’est porté acquéreur afin de commercer avec les Mi’kmaq. Il s’agit également du site de Port Toulouse, établissement français et ville de garnison qui a été témoin de la rivalité entre les Anglais et les Français de 1713 à 1758. En 1929, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a recommandé que les lieux historiques nationaux de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters soient désignés.

La région est importante pour les Mi’kmaq puisque des membres de ce peuple y ont déjà vécu ; un chemin de portage important y a été emprunté pendant de nombreuses générations avant l’aménagement du canal. Plusieurs ouvriers mi’kmaq ont participé à la construction du canal. Bien que Parcs Canada ait compilé des renseignements sur l’importance de l’endroit pour les Mi’kmaq, la compréhension actuelle est limitée et il faudra explorer davantage l’importance de cette région pour les Mi’kmaq.

Les lieux historiques nationaux de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters sont situés dans la municipalité du comté de Richmond, sur la rive sud-est de l’île du Cap-Breton, et font partie de l’Unité de gestion du Cap-Breton de Parcs Canada. Le canal sert à la fois les embarcations de plaisance et les navires commerciaux à destination et en provenance du lac Bras d’Or en offrant environ 1 000 services d’éclusage par année.

Approche de gestion

Parcs Canada continuera de gérer les lieux historiques nationaux de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters en tant que voie navigable importante pour l’île du Cap-Breton. Parcs Canada veillera également à l’intégrité commémorative de ces lieux, en collaborant avec les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour examiner et mettre à jour les énoncés d’intégrité commémorative qui documentent l’importance historique nationale de ces sites.

Parcs Canada continuera de renforcer ses relations avec la Première Nation de Potlotek, le Village de St. Peters, les organismes communautaires, l’industrie et la Municipalité afin de cerner les possibilités communes et d’y collaborer.

Objectifs de gestion

Établissement de relations avec les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Parcs Canada respecte les droits des Autochtones, y compris ceux qui sont énoncés dans les traités de paix et d’amitié, au moment d’établir des relations mutuellement avantageuses avec les collectivités autochtones, car il s’agit d’une priorité de Parcs Canada. Dans le cadre de la gestion des lieux historiques nationaux de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters, Parcs Canada travaille directement avec les collectivités mi’kmaq et par l’entremise du Comité consultatif Unama’ki-Parcs Canada pour s’assurer que les décisions de gestion sont basées sur le savoir occidental et Mi’kmaw, et reflètent les valeurs et le patrimoine culturel du peuple mi’kmaq. Pour l’avenir, les domaines d’intérêt comprennent l’examen et la mise à jour des énoncés d’intégrité commémorative pour qu’ils tiennent compte de l’histoire des Mi’kmaq et de leurs liens avec les lieux historiques ; la gestion inclusive des ressources culturelles, y compris l’amélioration de notre compréhension de l’histoire des lieux historiques grâce à une collaboration en archéologie ; des activités de promotion croisée de l’expérience du visiteur ainsi que des possibilités d’emploi ou de contrats.

Établissement de relations avec des partenaires locaux ou régionaux

Parcs Canada travaille en collaboration avec la St. Peter’s Economic Development Organization, la Village on the Canal Association, la Municipalité du comté de Richmond et d’autres intervenants pour offrir et promouvoir des possibilités aux visiteurs de ces lieux historiques, comme le Débarcadère du canal, le Festival du homard, la traversée du canal à la nage et les Journées des pirates.

Conservation des ressources

Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles dans les lieux patrimoniaux administrés par l’Agence conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada.

L’énoncé d’intégrité commémorative et les motifs de la désignation des lieux historiques nationaux de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters seront examinés et mis à jour en collaboration avec les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

De plus, étant donné l’importance de ces lieux historiques pour les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Parcs Canada s’engage à collaborer avec ces derniers pour mieux comprendre et protéger les valeurs et les ressources culturelles qui y revêtent une importance pour eux, y compris en ce qui concerne les effets des changements climatiques comme l’érosion côtière et l’élévation du niveau de la mer.

Compréhension et appréciation du public

Parcs Canada fournit des renseignements au sujet de l’importance des lieux historiques nationaux St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters sur son site Web, dans les médias sociaux et dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux. Parcs Canada offre également des activités de diffusion externe partout au Cap-Breton ainsi que de l’information promotionnelle dans ses centres d’accueil régionaux.

Services du canal

Parcs Canada continue d’offrir des services d’éclusage saisonniers aux embarcations en provenance et à destination du lac Bras d’Or.

Entretien du site

Parcs Canada entretient les biens administrés par l'Agence de manière à en respecter les valeurs patrimoniales, à présenter une image positive au public et à refléter la marque de Parcs Canada.

Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique est menée pour tous les énoncés de gestion déposés au Parlement. L’évaluation environnementale stratégique des lieux historiques nationaux de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters portait sur les effets possibles sur les ressources naturelles et culturelles ainsi que sur l’expérience du visiteur. D’après l’évaluation environnementale stratégique, l’énoncé de gestion proposé pour les lieux historiques nationaux de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters aurait des effets positifs sur les ressources culturelles et l’expérience du visiteur. Des effets environnementaux possibles sur les espèces végétales, les espèces en péril, les oiseaux migrateurs et la qualité de l’eau ont été relevés, mais ces effets peuvent être atténués si nécessaire au moyen d’évaluations des répercussions à l’échelle du projet. Le plan va dans le sens de l’objectif Rapprocher les Canadiens de la nature de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. On ne prévoit pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants qui découleraient de la mise en œuvre de l’énoncé de gestion.


Contactez-nous

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes liées aux lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters :

Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters
C.P. 8
St. Peter’s (Nouvelle-Écosse) B0E 3B0
Canada

Courriel :  pc.information.pc@canada.ca

Téléphone : 902-295-2069

 St. Peters and St. Peters Canal National Historic Sites of Canada

télécopieur :  902-295-3496

Renseignements sur la publication

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le président et directeur général de Parcs Canada, 2021.

Source des images de la page couverture : Parcs Canada

This publication is also available in English.

  • Papier : R64-581/2021F
  • 978-0-660-31680-2
  • PDF : R64-581/2021F-PDF
  • 978-0-660-31678-9

Note aux lecteurs
La santé et la sécurité des visiteurs, des employés et de l’ensemble de la population canadienne sont de la plus haute importance. Parcs Canada continue de suivre les conseils des experts en santé publique pour limiter la propagation de la COVID-19, tout en permettant aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens de découvrir le patrimoine naturel et culturel de leur pays.
Parcs Canada reconnaît que la pandémie de la COVID-19 peut avoir des effets imprévisibles sur l’énoncé de gestion des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de St. Peters et du Canal-de-St. Peters.