An invitation to take part

Parks Canada is reviewing its management objectives and strategies for St. Peters Canal National Historic Site and we want to hear from you. We will be holding public consultations until August 30, 2019. We encourage you to take part in this process by sharing your ideas and thoughts.

The purpose of these consultations is to give the public, Indigenous communities, municipality, partners, and community stakeholders an opportunity to get involved in the decision-making process of managing a national historic site.

The management statement will guide the governance of this historic site over the next 10 years. It will provide direction for the protection of cultural and natural resources as well as for visitor experience, outreach, and education.

Parks Canada’s Mandate

On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation, and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

Context

St. Peters Canal National Historic Site is commemorated for its role as the site of Fort Saint-Pierre, a 17th century fortified trading post acquired by Nicholas Denys to trade with the Mi’kmaq. In addition, they are commemorated as the site of Port Toulouse, a French community with a military presence that was witness to Anglo-French rivalry during the period 1713 – 1758. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recommended St. Peters National Historic Site for commemoration in 1929. 

The area is significant to the Mi’kmaq people as it is the site of a former Mi’kmaq settlement, and has been an important portage route for many generations prior to canal development. Several Mi’kmaq people were involved in building the canal. Although Parks Canada has compiled some information related to the importance of the sites to the Mi’kmaq, our current understanding is limited and further understanding of the significance of these sites needs to be explored as part of relationship building moving forward.

St. Peters Canal National Historic Site is located in the Municipality of the County of Richmond, on the southeastern shore of Cape Breton Island and are part of the Cape Breton Field Unit of Parks Canada. The Canal serves both pleasure craft and commercial vessels travelling to and from the Bras d’Or Lake with approximately 1,000 lockage services per year.

Past Management Strategies

In the past, extensive management plans were required for all national historic sites. Four years ago, Parks Canada changed the planning process to allow for more flexibility for sites with less complex management requirements. Plans for sites such as St. Peters Canal National Historic Site are now directed through management statements. 

Management statements are strategic, shorter in length, and results-oriented. They include key strategies and goals, outlining a basic level of management that is not anticipated to change. They do not require a vision or strategic direction.

They guide management decisions and actions at heritage places, and serve as key accountability documents to Indigenous peoples and Canadians. These statements are one-page documents that often require ministerial approval and tabling in Parliament, as is the case with the St. Peters Canal National Historic management statement.

Management goals are developed through consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local residents, visitors, stakeholders and partners as well as the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

Proposed Management Approach

Parks Canada’s aim is to continue to manage St. Peters Canal National Historic Site to ensure the commemorative integrity and the canal’s use as an important navigational route for Cape Breton Island. 

Parks Canada will continue to strengthen relations with the Village of St. Peter’s, Potlotek First Nation, community organizations, industry and the municipality to identify and collaborate on shared opportunities. 

Proposed Management Goals

Building Relationships with Indigenous Peoples: Parks Canada respects Indigenous rights, including those identified within peace and friendship treaties, when building mutually beneficial relationships with Indigenous communities, a priority for the Parks Canada Agency. In managing St. Peters Canal National Historic Site, Parks Canada works with the Indigenous Community of Potlotek and through the Unama’ki Mi’kmaq Advisory Committee to incorporate traditional knowledge, values and the cultural heritage of Indigenous peoples. Areas of interest moving forward include cross-promotional visitor experience activities, involvement in cultural resource management activities, and potential employment or contracting opportunities.

Building Relationships with Local/Regional Partners: Parks Canada works cooperatively with St. Peter’s Economic Development Organization, Village on the Canal Association, Municipality of the County of Richmond and others to promote and deliver visitor opportunities at the sites, such as Lobsterfest, Swim the Canal and Pirate Days events. 

Resource Conservation: Parks Canada protects the cultural resources at its heritage places sites in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. To maintain the site’s integrity, the focus of St. Peters Canal National Historic Site is to preserve cultural resources for current and future generations, which includes ensuring that investments are made when they are most impactful for the benefit of Canadians.

Public Understanding and Appreciation: Parks Canada provides information about the significance of the sites on its website, through social media and on the Canadian Register of Historic Places. Parks Canada also delivers related outreach activities throughout Cape Breton, as well as promotional information available at regional visitor information centres. 

Canal Services: Parks Canada continues to provide lockage services seasonally for vessels coming to and from the Bras d’Or Lake. 

Site Maintenance: Parks Canada maintains the property it administers so as to respect the site’s heritage values, present a positive image to the public, and reflect the Parks Canada brand.

Strategic environmental assessment

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment is conducted on all management statements tabled in Parliament. The strategic environmental assessment for St. Peters Canal National Historic Site assessed the potential effects on natural and cultural resources and visitor experience. The strategic environmental assessment concluded that the proposed management statement for St. Peters Canal National Historic Site would have positive effects on cultural resources and visitor experience. Potential environmental effects on vegetation species at risk, migratory birds and water quality were identified but the effects can be mitigated through project-level impact assessments when necessary. The statement supports the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy goal of Connecting Canadians with Nature. There are no important negative environmental effects anticipated from management statement implementation. 

What do you think?

The present document summarizes and presents the site, its managerial goals and strategies. Now it’s your turn to take part in the discussion! Here is your chance to add to the conversation and help us develop St. Peters Canal National Historic Site’s management statement. Your knowledge of the area, your experience with the site, and the future you envision for it are important to us.

How to take part

We would like to hear your views, opinions and suggestions on the future of this treasured place. Please send your comments to us at pc.infocb.pc@canada.ca by August 30, 2019 or by mail to: 

Public Consultations – St. Peters Canal National Historic Site
Parks Canada Agency
259 Park Service Road
Louisbourg, NS B1C 2L2

Please do not hesitate to contact us at 902-295-2069 if you have any questions or would like further information on the public consultation.

Thank you for your cooperation!

Invitation à participer

Parcs Canada est en train de revisiter ses objectifs et ses stratégies de gestion pour le lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters et nous aimerions avoir votre opinion à ce sujet. Nous tiendrons des consultations publiques jusqu’au 30 août 2019. Nous vous encourageons à participer à ce processus en nous faisant part de vos idées et réflexions. 

Ces consultations ont pour objet de donner au public, aux collectivités autochtones, à la municipalité, aux partenaires et aux intervenants communautaires une occasion d’être impliqués dans le processus de prise de décision en ce qui concerne la gestion d’un lieu historique national. 

L’énoncé de gestion guidera la gouvernance de ce site historique pour les dix prochaines années. Il fournira de l’orientation pour la protection des ressources culturelles et naturelles ainsi que pour l’expérience des visiteurs, la sensibilisation et l’éducation. 

Mandat de Parcs Canada

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Contexte

Le lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters est commémoré pour son rôle en tant que site du fort Saint-Pierre, un poste de traite fortifié du 17e siècle acquis par Nicholas Denys pour traiter avec les Mi’kmaq. Il est également commémoré comme site de Port-Toulouse, une communauté française à caractère militaire qui a été témoin de la rivalité entre les Anglais et les Français de 1713 à 1758. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a recommandé le lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters pour commémoration en 1929.

La région est importante pour les Mi’kmaq en tant qu’ancien établissement Mi’kmaq, et elle a été une importante route de portage pendant de nombreuses générations avant l’aménagement du canal. Plusieurs Mi’kmaq ont participé à la construction du canal. Bien que Parcs Canada ait compilé de l’information sur l’importance des lieux pour les Mi’kmaq, notre compréhension actuelle est limitée et il faut explorer davantage l’importance de ces lieux dans le cadre de l’établissement de relations futures.

Le lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters est situé dans la municipalité du comté de Richmond, sur la côté sud-est de l’île du Cap-Breton, et fait partie de l’Unité de gestion du Cap-Breton de Parcs Canada. Le canal sert les embarcations de plaisance et les navires commerciaux à destination et en provenance du lac Bras d’Or en assurant environ 1 000 services d’éclusage par année.

Stratégies de gestion passées

Dans le passé, des plans de gestion détaillés étaient requis pour tous les lieux historiques nationaux. Toutefois, il y a quatre ans, Parcs Canada a changé le processus de planification afin d’introduire davantage de souplesse pour les sites n’ayant pas d’exigences de gestion complexes. Les plans préparés pour les sites tels que le Lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters sont donc désormais orientés par des énoncés de gestion. 

Les énoncés de gestion sont stratégiques, plutôt brefs, et axés sur les résultats. Ils comprennent les stratégies et buts essentiels, propres à un niveau de gestion de base qui devrait en principe rester inchangé. Ils n’exigent ni vision, ni orientation stratégique. 

Ils guident les décisions et les mesures de gestion aux emplacements patrimoniaux et servent de documents de reddition de compte aux peuples autochtones et aux Canadiens. Il s’agit de documents d’une page qui nécessitent souvent d’être approuvés par le ministre et déposés au Parlement, comme c’est le cas pour l’énoncé de gestion du Canal-de-St. Peters.

Les buts de gestion sont établis au moyen de consultations et de la prise en compte des commentaires de diverses personnes et organisations, y compris des peuples autochtones, des résidents locaux, des visiteurs, des intervenants et des partenaires, ainsi que de l’équipe dédiée de Parcs Canada. 

Approche de gestion proposée 

L’objectif de Parcs Canada est de continuer à gérer le lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters de manière à assurer l’intégrité commémorative du canal et son utilisation comme voie de navigation importante pour l’île du Cap-Breton.

Parcs Canada continuera de renforcer ses relations avec le village de St. Peter’s, la Première Nation de Potlotek, les organismes communautaires, l’industrie et la municipalité afin de cerner les possibilités communes et d’y collaborer. 

Buts de gestion proposés

Établissement de relations avec les peuples autochtones : Parcs Canada respecte les droits des Autochtones, y compris ceux qui sont énoncés dans les traités de paix et d’amitié, dans l’établissement de relations mutuellement avantageuses avec les communautés autochtones, car il s’agit d’une priorité de l’Agence Parcs Canada. Dans la gestion du lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters, Parcs Canada collabore avec la communauté autochtone de Potlotek et le comité consultatif Unama’ki Mi’kmaq de Parcs Canada afin d’intégrer le savoir traditionnel, les valeurs et le patrimoine culturel des peuples autochtones. Les domaines d’intérêt pour l’avenir comprennent les activités de promotion croisée liée à l’expérience du visiteur, la participation aux activités de gestion des ressources culturelles et les possibilités d’emploi ou de contrats.

Établissement de relations avec les partenaires locaux et régionaux : Parc Canada collabore avec la St. Peter’s Economic Development Organization, la Village on the Canal Association, la municipalité du comté de Richmond et d’autres organismes afin de promouvoir et d’offrir des possibilités aux visiteurs du lieu, notamment les événements Lobsterfest, Swim the Canal et Pirate Days. 

Conservation des ressources : Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans ses lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. En vue de maintenir l’intégrité du lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters, l’accent est mis sur la préservation des ressources culturelles pour les générations actuelles et futures, notamment en veillant à ce que les investissements soient faits là où ils ont le plus d’impact au profit des Canadiens.

Compréhension et appréciation du public : Parcs Canada fournit de l’information au sujet de l’importance du lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters sur son site Web, dans les médias sociaux et dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux. Parcs Canada offre également des activités de sensibilisation connexes à l’échelle du Cap-Breton, ainsi que de l’information promotionnelle dans ses centres d’accueil régionaux.

Services du canal : Parcs Canada continue d’offrir des services d’éclusage saisonniers aux navires en provenance et à destination du lac Bras d’Or.

Entretien du lieu : Parcs Canada entretient le bien qu’il administre de manière à respecter les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu, à présenter une image positive au public et à témoigner de la marque de Parcs Canada.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique 

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique est réalisée pour tous les énoncés de gestion déposés au Parlement. L’évaluation environnementale stratégique du lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters portait sur les effets possibles sur les ressources naturelles et culturelles ainsi que sur l’expérience du visiteur. D’après l’évaluation environnementale stratégique, l’énoncé de gestion proposé pour le lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters aurait des effets positifs sur les ressources culturelles et l’expérience du visiteur. Les effets environnementaux possibles sur les espèces végétales en péril, les oiseaux migrateurs et la qualité de l’eau ont été déterminés, mais ces effets peuvent être atténués si nécessaire au moyen d’évaluations des répercussions à l’échelle du projet. L’énoncé va dans le sens de l’objectif de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable qui consiste à rapprocher les Canadiens de la nature. On ne prévoit pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants qui découleraient de la mise en œuvre de l’énoncé de gestion. 

Qu’en pensez-vous?

Le présent document offre un aperçu du site et de ses buts et stratégies de gestion. C’est à votre tour de prendre part à la discussion! Ne manquez pas cette occasion d’enrichir la conversation et de nous aider à rédiger l’énoncé de gestion du Lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters. Votre connaissance de la région, votre expérience du site et votre vision pour son avenir sont d’une grande importance pour nous. 

Comment participer?

Nous aimerions connaître votre point de vue, votre opinion et vos suggestions sur l’avenir de cet endroit précieux. Faites-nous parvenir vos commentaires d’ici le 21 juin 2019, par courriel à pc.infocb.pc@canada.ca au plus tard le 30 août 2019, ou par courrier à : 

Consultations publiques – Lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters 
Agence Parcs Canada
259 Park Service Road
Louisbourg (N.-É.)  B1C 2L2

N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous au 902-295-2069 si vous avez des questions ou souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet des consultations publiques. 

Nous vous remercions de votre coopération!