Marconi National Historic Site - Management Statement - August 2017 (PDF - 1.5 MB)


Management Statement

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Marconi National Historic Site.

Marconi National Historic Site of Canada (NHSC) was established on the location of Marconi’s first permanent wireless station in Canada, constructed in 1902. The first exchange of radio messages across the Atlantic took place at this station and it was recommended for commemoration as an event of national importance by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada in 1938.

Marconi NHSC was established as a result of an agreement, signed in 1985, between the Minister of the Environment and the Marconi Celebration Trust. The Trust raised money for construction of a visitor centre to commemorate the efforts and accomplishments of Guglielmo Marconi in the field of wireless communications. The centre became part of Marconi NHSC site which is owned and administered by Parks Canada.

Marconi NHSC is located at Table Head, part of the former town of Glace Bay, which is one of the communities making up the Cape Breton Regional Municipality.

Management Approach

The Cape Breton Field Unit is responsible for the management of Marconi National Historic Site. Since taking over the site, the focus has been on partnerships with local and regional organizations to tell the story of Marconi in Glace Bay, and this management statement continues that focus on local and regional partnerships.

The cultural resources directly related to the reasons for the site’s designation consist of the designated place and the concrete foundations of two of the towers that supported the antenna and of the two buildings (receiving room and powerhouse) that were situated at the centre of the square formed by the towers. These resources are valued because they represent the physical remains of the structures that formed part of Marconi’s wireless station from which the first exchange of radio messages across the Atlantic took place.

Management Objectives

Building Relationships with Local/Regional Partners: Parks Canada works cooperatively with others to enhance operations and awareness of the site with partners like the Cape Breton Regional Municipality, the Sydney and Area Radio Club and other organizations interested in local history.

Resource Conservation: Parks Canada protects cultural resources at its heritage places in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. This includes basic monitoring of the state of cultural resources, and documentation of interventions at the site. At Marconi NHSC, the focus is on the archaeological remains of the tower structures located on Parks Canada administered lands.

Site Maintenance: Parks Canada maintains the property it administers so as to respect the site’s heritage values, present a positive image to the public, and reflect the Parks Canada brand.

Public Understanding and Appreciation: Parks Canada provides information about the significance of Marconi NHSC on its website, on the Canadian Register of Historic Places and participating in the community through events such as Table Head Days.

For more information, please contact:
Superintendent, Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site, Baddeck NS, (902) 295-2069

Lieu historique national Marconi - Énoncé de gestion - août 2017 (PDF - 1,5 Mo)


Énoncé de gestion

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes du monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national Marconi.

Le lieu historique national (LHN) du Canada Marconi a été créé à l’emplacement du premier poste de télégraphie sans fil permanent Marconi au Canada, construit en 1902. C’est à cet endroit qu’a eu lieu la première communication par messages radio de part et d’autre de l’Atlantique. La désignation du poste comme événement d’importance historique nationale a été proposée par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada en 1938.

Le LHN du Canada Marconi a été créé au terme d’une entente signée en 1985, entre le ministre de l’Environnement et le Fonds de fiducie pour célébration Marconi. Le Fonds a amassé de l’agent pour la construction d’un centre d’accueil visant à commémorer les travaux et les réalisations de Guglielmo Marconi dans le domaine des communications sans fil. Le centre fait désormais partie du LHN Marconi, qui est détenu et administré par Parcs Canada.

Le LHN Marconi est situé à Table Head, dans l’ancienne ville de Glace Bay, l’une des collectivités qui forment la municipalité régionale du Cap Breton.

Approche de gestion

L’Unité de gestion du Cap Breton est responsable de la gestion du lieu historique national Marconi. Depuis qu’elle assure la gestion de ce lieu, l’Unité de gestion a concentré ses efforts sur l’établissement de partenariats avec des organismes locaux et régionaux afin de raconter l’histoire de Marconi à Glace Bay, et le présent énoncé de gestion permet de poursuivre ces efforts auprès des partenaires locaux et régionaux.

Les ressources culturelles directement liées aux motifs qui justifient la désignation du lieu comprennent le lieu désigné et les fondations en béton de deux des tours qui supportaient l’antenne et les deux bâtiments (local de réception et centrale électrique) situés au centre du carré formé par les tours. Ces ressources ont une grande valeur parce qu’elles représentent les vestiges des structures qui formaient le poste de télégraphie sans fil de Marconi à partir duquel les premières communications par messages radio ont eu lieu de part et d’autre de l’Atlantique.

Objectifs de gestion

Établissement de relations avec les partenaires locaux et régionaux : Parcs Canada travaille en collaboration avec d’autres partenaires pour améliorer les activités et faire connaître le lieu auprès des partenaires comme la municipalité régionale du Cap Breton, le club de radio de Sydney et des environs et d’autres organismes qui s’intéressent à l’histoire locale.

Conservation des ressources : Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans les lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Les mesures prises à cet égard comprennent notamment la surveillance de l’état des ressources culturelles et la documentation des interventions menées dans le lieu. Au LHN Marconi, l’accent est mis sur les vestiges archéologiques des structures des tours situées sur les terres administrées par Parcs Canada.

Entretien du lieu : Parcs Canada entretient le bien qu’il administre de manière à respecter les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu, à présenter une image positive au public et à témoigner de la marque de Parcs Canada.

Compréhension et appréciation du public : Parcs Canada fournit de l’information au sujet de l’importance du LHN Marconi sur son site Web, dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux et participe également à la vie communautaire lors d’événements comme les journées de Table Head.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :
Direction, lieu historique national Alexander Graham Bell, Baddeck (N-É), 902-295-2069.