Activity booklet
Activity booklet

Looking for even more activities?

Download our new activity booklet, featuring activities from all over Cape Breton Island and Canso!

Activity booklet [PDF - 6.1 MB]

Are you looking for some fun activities you can try at home while you learn about Marconi National Historic Site? Try some of these!


Communicate using Morse code

Early wireless messages were sent using Morse code. Why do you think messages were sent this way? For this activity pretend you are a spy and write a note using Morse code that you will give to Marconi to transmit!

Morse code
Morse code
Letter Morse code
A ·−
B −···
C −·−·
D −··
E ·
F ··−·
G −−·
H ····
I ··
J ·−−−
K −·−
L ·−··
M −−
Morse code
Letter Morse code
N −·
O −−−
P ·−−·
Q −−·−
R ·−·
S ···
T
U ··−
V ···−
W ·−−
X −··−
Y −·−−
Z −−··

If you want, you can also use a pencil to try sending a Morse code message to a friend! Dashes are one long beat, while dots are quick. One dash should be as long as three dots. If you are being sent a message, write down the letters as you get them so you can read the message!

Note: Morse code is an international language, so it corresponds to any language which uses the A-Z alphabet!


Write a letter

Before Marconi helped to invent wireless communication, it was a lot harder to communicate quickly. Many people would write letters to family, which could take weeks, or months, to arrive at its destination! For this activity, pretend you live in the 1800s and write a letter to Marconi telling him how wireless communication would make your life easier!

Livret d'activités
Livret d'activités

Vous cherchez encore plus d’activités?

Cliquez ici pour télécharger notre nouveau livret d’activités, dans lequel vous trouverez les activités qui se déroulent aux quatre coins de l’île du Cap-Breton et à Canso!

Livret d'activités [PDF - 6,1 Mo]

Cherchez-vous des activités amusantes à essayer à la maison tout en apprenant sur le lieu historique national Marconi? Essayez celles-ci!


Communiquez à l’aide du code morse

Les premiers messages sans fil étaient envoyés en utilisant le code morse. Selon vous, pourquoi les messages étaient-ils envoyés de cette façon? Pour cette activité, faites comme si vous étiez un espion et écrivez une note à l’aide du code morse que vous remettrez à Guglielmo Marconi pour qu’il la transmette.

Code morse
Code morse
Lettre Code morse
A ·−
B −···
C −·−·
D −··
E ·
F ··−·
G −−·
H ····
I ··
J ·−−−
K −·−
L ·−··
M −−
Code morse
Lettre Code morse
N −·
O −−−
P ·−−·
Q −−·−
R ·−·
S ···
T
U ··−
V ···−
W ·−−
X −··−
Y −·−−
Z −−··

Si vous le voulez, vous pouvez également utiliser un crayon pour essayer d’envoyer un message en code morse à un ami. Les traits représentent un long battement et les points un court battement. Un trait doit durer aussi longtemps que trois points. Si on vous envoie un message, écrivez les lettres à mesure que vous les recevez afin de pouvoir lire le message.

Remarque : Le code morse est une langue internationale, il correspond donc à n’importe quelle langue qui utilise l’alphabet A à Z.


Écrivez une lettre

Avant que Guglielmo Marconi invente les communications sans fil, les communications étaient beaucoup plus lentes. Bien des gens écrivaient des lettres à leur famille qui pouvaient prendre des semaines, voire des mois, à arriver à destination. Pour cette activité, imaginez que vous vivez dans les années 1800 et écrivez une lettre à Guglielmo Marconi pour lui dire à quel point la communication sans fil vous faciliterait la vie.