Close scrutiny of this big building can reveal how an empire was run. To maintain royal sway over far-flung colonies, paperwork was as vital as fortresses and fleets. While the engineer built Louisbourg and the governor symbolized its authority, the man who lived here kept the colony running.

In the offices overlooking the quay, the administrator and his clerks filled up books of correspondence, maintained the colonial accounts, and compiled their statistical reports for the Ministry of Marine. They paid the colony’s bills from the well-guarded treasury here ⁠— see the barred windows ⁠— and filled the storerooms behind with their supplies. Everything from economic policy to civil justice was managed from here, and the power of the commissaires-ordonnateurs sometimes excited the governors’ jealousy. Built as a private residence, the house became royal property in 1733 and expanded with the power of its occupants.

The administrators were professional servants of the Crown who hoped to win promotion by proving themselves here. François Bigot established his reputation by able and devoted service as Île Royale’s commissaire-ordonnateur from 1739 to 1745, while his sharp investments simultaneously laid the foundation of his wealth. Duly promoted, he went on to both fortune and disgrace as the last Intendant of New France.

The top floor houses an exhibit, Vestiges of Louisbourg, which contains artifacts from 18th century Louisbourg, and a gallery with paintings and ship models recreating aspects of Louisbourg’s busy port.

The stables behind the residence, at the corner of Rue Royale, are another sign of authority. Boats were needed more than horses in this colony. Few homeowners built large stables like these and a horse and carriage proclaimed wealth and prestige.


Across Rue Saint-Louis from the commissaire-ordonnateur’s property, a space was reserved for the parish church of Notre-Dame des Anges. The church was never built, but Louisbourg’s Récollet missionaries had a little chapel in their residence at the back of the block.


The reconstructed site
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
Fortress of Louisbourg - Reconstructed buildings
On the map Building name
1 Desroches House (Wheelchair accessible)
- Dauphin Gate
- Dauphin Demi-Bastion
2 Powder Magazine
3 Barracks
4 Postern Tunnel
5 Embrasures at Lartigue
6 Lartigue House (Wheelchair accessible)
- Lime Kiln
7 Artillery Storehouse
8 Artillery Forge
9 King's Bakery Food service
- Woodlot
10 Duhaget House (Wheelchair accessible)
Garrison and Fortifications Exhibit
- Icehouse
11 De la Perelle House (Wheelchair accessible)
Congrégation de Notre-Dame Exhibit
12 De la Perelle Storehouse
13 Engineer's Residence
14 Laundry and Stables
15 Rodrigue House
16 Rodrigue Storehouse
17 De Gannes House (Wheelchair accessible)
18 Guardhouse
- King's Bastion
19 Military Chapel
20 Governor's Apartments
Fortress of Louisbourg - Reconstructed buildings
On the map Building name
21 King's Bastion Barracks
Reconstruction, Tools of War, and Archeological Typography Exhibits
- King's Garden
22 McLennan Centre (Wheelchair accessible) (Wifi available)
Virtual Reality Experience
23 De la Plagne (Wheelchair accessible) (Information)
24 De la Vallière House
Mi'kmaw Interpretive Centre
25 De la Vallière Storehouse
26 De la Vallière Storehouse II
- Fizel and Loppinot Properties
- Dugas House
27 Carrerot House
Building Techniques Exhibit
28 Benoist House (Wheelchair accessible) (Gift shop)
29 L'Épée Royale Café (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
30 King's Storehouse
31 Hôtel de la Marine (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
32 Grandchamp House (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Frédéric Gate
- Carcan
33 Grandchamp Inn (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Destouches House
34 Ordonnateur's Residence (Wheelchair accessible)
Recollecting Lives Exhibit & Harbour Gallery
35 Bigot Storehouse
36 Stables
- Louisbourg Cross
37 Marie Marguerite Rose plaque
- Eastward along the Quay
- Ruins Walk

Examinez attentivement ce bâtiment imposant; il en apprend beaucoup sur la façon dont on dirigeait un empire. Pour tenir bien en main ses colonies éloignées, le Roi comptait autant sur le travail de se administrateurs que sur ses places fortes et ses vaisseaux de guerre. Les ingénieurs avaient érigé Louisbourg, le gouvernement incarnait aux yeux de tous Sa Majesté, mais c’est l’homme qui habitait ici qui faisait fonctionner la colonie.

Dans le bureau qui donne sur le quai, le commissaire-ordonnateur et ses commis classaient la volumineuse correspondance administrative de Louisbourg, s’occupaient de la comptabilité et établissaient des rapports statistiques à l’intention du ministère de la Marine. C’est dans ce bâtiment qu’était gardé le trésor public (voyez les barreaux des fenêtres), dans lequel le commissaire-ordonnateur puisait pour acquitter les dettes de la colonie et ravitailler le magasin. Des questions de droit civil jusqu’aux politiques économiques, tout se décidait sous ce toit. Les nombreux pouvoirs conférés au commissaire-ordonnateur piquaient la jalousie des gouverneurs. Cette demeure particulière devint propriété du Roi en 1733; elle s’élargit par la suite, reflétant ainsi l’autorité de ses occupants.

Les commissaires-ordonnateurs voyaient dans leur poste l’occasion de démontrer l’envergure de leurs capacités de fonctionnaire et d’obtenir de l’avancement. C’est ici que François Bigot, commissaire-ordonnateur de l’île Royale de 1739 à 1745, se tailla une réputation enviable d’administrateur compétent et dévoué et assit les fondements de sa fortune. Il devint ensuite le dernier intendant de la Nouvelle-France, charge qui élargit sa fortune mais, hélas, lui fit connaître également la disgrâce.

L’étage supérieur renferme une exposition, Vestiges de Louisbourg, qui présente des artéfacts du 18e siècle à Louisbourg et une galerie de tableaux, ainsi que des modèles de navires rappelant le passé du port.

Derrière la résidence, à l’angle de la rue Royale, les écuries soulignent le prestige dont jouissaient les propriétaires. À la vérité, dans une colonie comme celle-ci, on avait bien davantage besoin de bateaux que de chevaux. Rares étaient les propriétaires qui pouvaient se permettre de telles écuries; posséder un cheval et une voiture équivalait à posséder fortune et influence.


De l’autre côté de la rue Saint-Louis, face à la résidence du commissaire-ordonnateur, on avait réservé un terrain pour y bâtir l’église paroissiale de Notre-Dame des Anges. L’église demeura à l’état de projet, mais les missionnaires Récollets aménagèrent une petite chapelle dans leurs locaux, derrière le pâté de maisons.


La ville reconstruite
Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg
La forteresse de Louisbourg - La ville reconstruite
Sur la carte Nom du bâtiment
1 Maison Desroches (Wheelchair accessible)
- Porte Dauphin
- Demi-Bastion Dauphin
2 Poudrière
3 Casernes
4 Poterne
5 Embrasures à Lartigue
6 Maison Lartigue (Wheelchair accessible)
- Four à chaux
7 Hangar d'artillerie
8 Forge d'artillerie
9 Boulangerie du Roi Food service
- Cour à bois
10 Maison Duhaget (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition sur les fortifications et la garnison
- Glacière
11 Maison de la Perelle (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition sur la Congrégation de Notre-Dame
12 Magasin de la Perelle
13 Résidence de l'ingénieur
14 Buanderie et étable
15 Maison Rodrigue
16 Magasin Rodrigue
17 Maison de Gannes (Wheelchair accessible)
18 Corps de garde
- Bastion du Roi
19 Chapelle militaire
20 Résidence du gouverneur
La forteresse-de-Louisbourg - La ville recoinstruite
Sur la carte Nom du bâtiment
21 Caserne du bastion du Roi
Expositions sur la reconstruction, les instruments de guerre et la typographie archéologique
- Jardin du Roi
22 Centre McLennan (Wheelchair accessible) (Wifi available)
Expérience en réalité virtuelle
23 Maison de la Plagne (Wheelchair accessible) (Information)
24 Maison de la Vallière
Centre d'interprétation mi'kmaw
25 Magasin de la Vallière
26 Magasin de la Vallière II
- Propriétés Fizel et Loppinot
- Maison Dugas
27 Maison Carrerot
Exposition sur les techniques de construction
28 Maison Benoist (Wheelchair accessible) (Gift shop)
29 Café l'Épée Royale (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
30 Magasin du Roi
31 Hôtel de la Marine (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
32 Maison Grandchamp (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Porte Frédéric
- Carcan
33 Auberge Grandchamp (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Maison Destouches
34 Résidence du commissaire-ordonnateur (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition « Souvenirs et vies d'antan » et galerie du port
35 Magasin Bigot
36 Écuries
- Croix de Louisbourg
37 Plaque commémorative en hommage à Marie Marguerite Rose
- Le long du quai, en direction est
- Le sentier des Ruines