The solid permanence of this house and its two stone storehouses suggests the colonial commitment of many of Louisbourg’s people.

The owner of this property, Louis Le Neuf de la Vallière (1708-1787), was the grandson of a Canadian soldier who had become governor of Acadia. De la Valliêre, who was born in French Newfoundland and lived in Louisbourg throughout its existence, was a lieutenant in the garrison at Louisbourg in 1744. Over several generations in the colonies, his family had severed most of its ties to France. Exiled there after the final conquest of Louisbourg, with Acadia, Newfoundland, Île Royale and Canada all lost, de la Vallière still hoped to return here. Eventually he went out to French Guiana instead, while his brother made a new start on Saint-Pierre and Miquelon. In the course of the eighteenth century wars some local families returned to this region from four or five successive exiles.

Explore the range of goods contained in the attached warehouse, reflecting this military family’s extensive involvement in maritime trade. For another sign of permanence, inspect the elaborate pavé floor of the detached de la Valliêre storehouse around the corner from Rue Toulouse, on Rue Royale, all original work from the eighteenth century building.

Loppinot and Fizel properties (ruins)

The Loppinot and Fizel Properties (ruins)

Are the streets muddy today? In a wet climate, on rocky ground, every householder used the technology of the time to keep his home dry. The archeologists who investigated these foundations found a carefully constructed stone-lined drain still carrying water out under the door and beneath the street.

Grandly named, Jean-Chrysostome Loppinot was another colonial officer without the French estates that usually supported an aristocratic standard of living. Loppinot lived more simply and gambled that trade and fishing investments would sustain his household of thirteen. In the summer of 1744, when war made commerce hazardous, Loppinot put a little money into a pair of local privateers. The Loppinots also had military commitments. Jean-Chrysostome served in both sieges and his younger brother was killed in action during the first one.

Beyond the Loppinot ruins, the remains of Julien Fizel’s inn mark the corner of Rue Royale and Rue Saint-Louis. An immigrant from Normandy, Fizel made this house the centre of a diversified trade. He ran a retail shop nearby~ raised live¬stock, and owned coastal boats and a fishing property. Fizel married twice, and when he was accidentally shot dead in 1757, he left a large estate to support his pregnant wife and ten children.

Attacked by a fire in 1762, the Fizel house was pulled down to stop the blaze from spreading. Archeologists found remains of walls and chimneys lying in the ruins when they excavated here.

Turning back toward Rue Toulouse, pass the windowless stables on the right to reach the Dugas property.

Dugas House

The Dugas Property

An exchange of property and services built a twin-chimneyed duplex here in 1722.

Dominique Detcheverry, the Basque blacksmith who owned the land, hired an Acadian carpenter named Joseph Dugas to build the house, and as payment he gave the Dugas family the western half of the building. Later Dugas acquired the whole house. An outbreak of smallpox in 1733 claimed the lives of Dugas, three of his daughters, and their slave. His widow married a captain of the compagnies franches de la Marine, Charles Saint-Etienne de la Tour. Dugas’ youngest daughter, Jeanne, remained in North America after the fall of New France and was among the founders of Chéticamp in the 1780s. She is recognized as a person of national historic significance.

The families of artisans like Dugas and Detcheverry were the working class heart of Louisbourg, less prominent than the military and commercial elite but more rooted in the town than transient sailors and barracked troops. They combined their skills with imported tools and materials to contribute something to every house in Louisbourg. The streetscapes of the town are the product of their art, and an exhibition in the Carrerot house presents their skills and techniques. The foundations between this house and the Carrerot property seem to have been laid in 1745 for another building project, one that was interrupted by the siege.

At the Carrerot property, turn right to visit the row of homes lining the slope of Rue Toulouse.


The reconstructed site
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
Fortress of Louisbourg - Reconstructed buildings
On the map Building name
1 Desroches House (Wheelchair accessible)
- Dauphin Gate
- Dauphin Demi-Bastion
2 Powder Magazine
3 Barracks
4 Postern Tunnel
5 Embrasures at Lartigue
6 Lartigue House (Wheelchair accessible)
- Lime Kiln
7 Artillery Storehouse
8 Artillery Forge
9 King's Bakery Food service
- Woodlot
10 Duhaget House (Wheelchair accessible)
Garrison and Fortifications Exhibit
- Icehouse
11 De la Perelle House (Wheelchair accessible)
Congrégation de Notre-Dame Exhibit
12 De la Perelle Storehouse
13 Engineer's Residence
14 Laundry and Stables
15 Rodrigue House
16 Rodrigue Storehouse
17 De Gannes House (Wheelchair accessible)
18 Guardhouse
- King's Bastion
19 Military Chapel
20 Governor's Apartments
Fortress of Louisbourg - Reconstructed buildings
On the map Building name
21 King's Bastion Barracks
Reconstruction, Tools of War, and Archeological Typography Exhibits
- King's Garden
22 McLennan Centre (Wheelchair accessible) (Wifi available)
Virtual Reality Experience
23 De la Plagne (Wheelchair accessible) (Information)
24 De la Vallière House
Mi'kmaw Interpretive Centre
25 De la Vallière Storehouse
26 De la Vallière Storehouse II
- Fizel and Loppinot Properties
- Dugas House
27 Carrerot House
Building Techniques Exhibit
28 Benoist House (Wheelchair accessible) (Gift shop)
29 L'Épée Royale Café (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
30 King's Storehouse
31 Hôtel de la Marine (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
32 Grandchamp House (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Frédéric Gate
- Carcan
33 Grandchamp Inn (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Destouches House
34 Ordonnateur's Residence (Wheelchair accessible)
Recollecting Lives Exhibit & Harbour Gallery
35 Bigot Storehouse
36 Stables
- Louisbourg Cross
37 Marie Marguerite Rose plaque
- Eastward along the Quay
- Ruins Walk

Cette maison solide et durable ainsi que les deux entrepôts de pierre adjacents témoignent des racines profondes qui liaient bon nombre des habitants à leur colonie.

Michel Le Neuf de la Vallière, capitaine et « major de place », a acheté cette maison en 1736. Il est le quatrième fils d’un soldat canadien devenu gouverneur d’Acadie. Après sa mort, sa veuve, Renée Bertrand, continue d’habiter ici. Leur fils aîné, Louis Le Neuf de la Vallière (1708-1787), est lieutenant de garnison à Louisbourg en 1744. Son second fils, Philippe le Neuf de Beaubassin, s’illustre comme corsaire; une de ses filles épousa un riche marchand; ses deux autres fils, jeunes officiers dans l’armée, passèrent un hiver avec les Mi’kmaq à Malagawatch (à l’ouest du Cap-Breton) pour apprendre leur langue.

De vieille souche coloniale, sa famille a rompu la majeure partie de ses liens avec la France. Exilé en France après la chute de l’île Royale, de l’Acadie, de Terre-Neuve et du Canada, la famille De la Vallière espère quand même rentrer au pays. Louis et l’un de ses frères s’établissent finalement en Guyane établissent finalement en Guyane française. Philippe, lui, s’installe aux îles Saint-Pierre et Miquelon. Au cours des guerres du 18e siècle, quelques familles, exilées â quatre ou cinq reprises, reviendront chaque fois s’établir dans cette région.

Remarquez la variété des marchandises contenues dans l’entrepôt relié à la maison, reflet de l’intense participation de cette famille militaire dans le commerce maritime. Voyez ensuite l’autre magasin, détaché celui-là, au coin des rues Toulouse et Royale : le pavé élaboré est d’origine.

Les maisons Loppinot et Fizel (ruines)

Les maisons Loppinot et Fizel

Les rues sont-elles détrempées aujourd’hui? Le climat humide de Louisbourg et ses terrains rocheux posent aux propriétaires des problèmes particuliers, et ceux-ci s’en remettent aux techniques de l’époque pour conserver leur demeure au sec. Des recherches archéologiques effectuées dans ces fondations ont révélé la présence de rigoles d’écoulement. Ces rigoles de cailloux soigneusement reconstruites fonctionnement toujours : l’eau s’écoule sous la porte et la chaussée.

L’officier Jean-Chrysostome Loppinot ne possède pas en France de propriétés lui permettant une existence d’aristocrate. Il vit simplement, comptant sur le commerce et sur ses placements dans les pêcheries pour subvenir aux besoins de ses treize personnes à charge. Au cours de l’été 1744, la guerre rend le commence hasardeux. Loppinot investit dans une nouvelle aventure. Il s’allie quelques corsaires de la région pour attaquer des navires anglais et en rapporter du butin. Les Loppinot sont avant tout des militaires; Jean-Chrysostome participe à la défense de la ville lors des deux sièges, et son frère plus jeune est tué au combat lors du premier.

Passé les ruines de la propriété Loppinot, à l’angle des rues Royale et Saint-Louis on remarque celles de l’auberge de Julien Fizel. Fizel est originaire de Normandie; son auberge constitue le foyer d’un commerce diversifié. Il exploite une boutique située non loin d’ici, il élève du bétail et il possède des navires ainsi qu’un établissement de pêche. Fizel fait deux mariages. Tué accidentellement par balle en 1757, il lègue de vastes propriétés dont les revenus suffiront aux besoins de sa femme, alors enceinte, et de ses dix enfants.

En 1762, un incendie se déclara dans la maison Fizel. Pour empêcher les flammes de ravager les bâtiments voisins, on résolut de la démolir. Depuis, les archéologues ont découvert des vestiges des cheminées et des murs.

Maison Dugas

La maison Dugas

Cette maison pour deux familles est le fruit d’un échange de propriété et de services en 1722.

Le propriétaire, un forgeron basque nommé Dominique Detcheverry, engagea Joseph Dugas, charpentier acadien, pour y construire une maison. En guise de paiement, il céda la moitié ouest du bâtiment à la famille Dugas. Quelques années plus tard, Dugas se rendit propriétaire de toute la maison. Une épidémie de variole en 1733 emporta Dugas, trois de ses filles et leur esclave. Après la mort de son mari, la veuve Dugas épousa Charles Saint-Étienne de la Tour, un capitaine des Compagnies franches de la Marine. La fille cadette de Dugas, Jeanne, resta en Amérique après la chute de la Nouvelle-France et elle compta parmi les fondateurs de Chéticamp, dans les années 1780. Elle est aujourd’hui reconnue comme personne d’importance historique nationale.

Les familles d’artisan, telles les Dugas et les Detcheverry, constituent l’essence de la société de Louisbourg. Certes moins remarqués que les militaires ou les commerçants prospères, les artisans étaient toutefois beaucoup plus profondément attachés à leur ville que les matelots de passage ou les troupes de casernes. Chaque maison de Louisbourg témoigne de leur labeur. L’esthétique des rues de la ville est due à leur art. Dans la maison Carrerot, une exposition met en valeur leurs techniques et leur habilité. Les fondations situées entre la maison Dugas-de la Tour et la maison Carrerot datent probablement de 1745; le siège sera venu interrompre pour toujours les travaux de construction.


La ville reconstruite
Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg
La forteresse de Louisbourg - La ville reconstruite
Sur la carte Nom du bâtiment
1 Maison Desroches (Wheelchair accessible)
- Porte Dauphin
- Demi-Bastion Dauphin
2 Poudrière
3 Casernes
4 Poterne
5 Embrasures à Lartigue
6 Maison Lartigue (Wheelchair accessible)
- Four à chaux
7 Hangar d'artillerie
8 Forge d'artillerie
9 Boulangerie du Roi Food service
- Cour à bois
10 Maison Duhaget (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition sur les fortifications et la garnison
- Glacière
11 Maison de la Perelle (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition sur la Congrégation de Notre-Dame
12 Magasin de la Perelle
13 Résidence de l'ingénieur
14 Buanderie et étable
15 Maison Rodrigue
16 Magasin Rodrigue
17 Maison de Gannes (Wheelchair accessible)
18 Corps de garde
- Bastion du Roi
19 Chapelle militaire
20 Résidence du gouverneur
La forteresse-de-Louisbourg - La ville recoinstruite
Sur la carte Nom du bâtiment
21 Caserne du bastion du Roi
Expositions sur la reconstruction, les instruments de guerre et la typographie archéologique
- Jardin du Roi
22 Centre McLennan (Wheelchair accessible) (Wifi available)
Expérience en réalité virtuelle
23 Maison de la Plagne (Wheelchair accessible) (Information)
24 Maison de la Vallière
Centre d'interprétation mi'kmaw
25 Magasin de la Vallière
26 Magasin de la Vallière II
- Propriétés Fizel et Loppinot
- Maison Dugas
27 Maison Carrerot
Exposition sur les techniques de construction
28 Maison Benoist (Wheelchair accessible) (Gift shop)
29 Café l'Épée Royale (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
30 Magasin du Roi
31 Hôtel de la Marine (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
32 Maison Grandchamp (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Porte Frédéric
- Carcan
33 Auberge Grandchamp (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Maison Destouches
34 Résidence du commissaire-ordonnateur (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition « Souvenirs et vies d'antan » et galerie du port
35 Magasin Bigot
36 Écuries
- Croix de Louisbourg
37 Plaque commémorative en hommage à Marie Marguerite Rose
- Le long du quai, en direction est
- Le sentier des Ruines