The first house you approach on the quay was one of the most admired in the town. Its owner, a Gascon named Joseph Lartigue (c. 1683-1743) and his wife, Jeanne Dihars, a Basque woman, came to Louisbourg with the first settlers from Placentia, Newfoundland. He had been a fisherman and trader, but here he accepted public office, becoming a member of the Superior Council and serving as town magistrate. Business sense, family alliances and official favour raised him to prominence in the town. Lartigue had the original of this house built here in 1734.

The house, a timberframe structure with rubblestone fill, is soundly built and handsome, but would we share the envy of Lartigue’s peers? The house is not large and part of it was used as a courtroom, yet Joseph and Jeanne lived here with their twelve children, several servants and a slave named Pompée. Lartigue was prosperous when he built this house and thought himself well favoured by it. Acknowledging his satisfaction, we begin to see that ideals of space and privacy change, and that the Lartigues accepted different standards than we might.

Except for four years of exile in France, Mme. Lartigue lived here through the whole existence of French Louisbourg, one of a few colonists to see both its foundation and its fall. Exiled again, she died in 1763.

Lime Kiln

The Lime Kiln

If you inspected the Dauphin demi-bastion closely, you know the stones of Louisbourg are not squared to lie together like bricks. The walls are a mass of round rubblestones in a cake of mortar, and kilns like this one produced all the tons of mortar the fortress needed. Trained limeburners burned quarried limestone in a wood fire here, then slaked the resulting quicklime in adjacent pits and mixed it with sand to make mortar. It was a tricky chemical process — incompletely burned limestone or salt from the beach sand sometimes spoiled the product — and the acrid fumes marred some of Joseph Lartigue’s pleasure in his nearby house.

This may be a good place to consider the sheer labour of fortress building. This fortress rose in just over two decades, tons of stone and earth shaped to an intricate plan by arduous hand labour. Only one quarter is rebuilt today.


The reconstructed site
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
Fortress of Louisbourg - Reconstructed buildings
On the map Building name
1 Desroches House (Wheelchair accessible)
- Dauphin Gate
- Dauphin Demi-Bastion
2 Powder Magazine
3 Barracks
4 Postern Tunnel
5 Embrasures at Lartigue
6 Lartigue House (Wheelchair accessible)
- Lime Kiln
7 Artillery Storehouse
8 Artillery Forge
9 King's Bakery Food service
- Woodlot
10 Duhaget House (Wheelchair accessible)
Garrison and Fortifications Exhibit
- Icehouse
11 De la Perelle House (Wheelchair accessible)
Congrégation de Notre-Dame Exhibit
12 De la Perelle Storehouse
13 Engineer's Residence
14 Laundry and Stables
15 Rodrigue House
16 Rodrigue Storehouse
17 De Gannes House (Wheelchair accessible)
18 Guardhouse
- King's Bastion
19 Military Chapel
20 Governor's Apartments
Fortress of Louisbourg - Reconstructed buildings
On the map Building name
21 King's Bastion Barracks
Reconstruction, Tools of War, and Archeological Typography Exhibits
- King's Garden
22 McLennan Centre (Wheelchair accessible) (Wifi available)
Virtual Reality Experience
23 De la Plagne (Wheelchair accessible) (Information)
24 De la Vallière House
Mi'kmaw Interpretive Centre
25 De la Vallière Storehouse
26 De la Vallière Storehouse II
- Fizel and Loppinot Properties
- Dugas House
27 Carrerot House
Building Techniques Exhibit
28 Benoist House (Wheelchair accessible) (Gift shop)
29 L'Épée Royale Café (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
30 King's Storehouse
31 Hôtel de la Marine (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
32 Grandchamp House (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Frédéric Gate
- Carcan
33 Grandchamp Inn (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Destouches House
34 Ordonnateur's Residence (Wheelchair accessible)
Recollecting Lives Exhibit & Harbour Gallery
35 Bigot Storehouse
36 Stables
- Louisbourg Cross
37 Marie Marguerite Rose plaque
- Eastward along the Quay
- Ruins Walk

Fort admirée à l’époque, la première maison que vous verrez appartenait à un Gascon dénommé Joseph Lartigue (v. 1683-1743) et sa femme, Jeanne Dihars, un jeune Basque. Lartigue, qui fait partie des premiers colons à avoir quitté Plaisance (Terre-Neuve) pour s’établir à Louisbourg, est pêcheur et commerçant de métier. Installé à Louisbourg, il opte pour un poste de fonctionnaires, il siège au Conseil supérieur et devient bailli. Son sens des affaires, allié aux relations de sa famille et aux bonnes grâces important au sein de la communauté. Cette maison est une reconstruction de celle que Lartigue a fait construire en 1734.

Cette demeure à ossature comblée de moellons est solide et coquette. Mais auriez-vous vraiment voulu l’habiter? De dimensions plutôt modestes, elle comprenait une salle d’audience. Joseph et Jeanne vécurent ici avec leurs douze enfants, plusieurs domestiques et une esclave du nom de Pompée. Lartigue réussissait déjà bien dans la vie lorsqu’il la fit construire, et il s’enorgueillissait de posséder une telle demeure. Étonnant? Les exigences en matière d’espace et d’intimité ont beaucoup évolué depuis l’époque…

Exception faite de quatre ans d’exil vécus en France, madame Lartigue habita ici durant toute l’existence de la colonie française, se rangeant parmi les quelques colons qui assistèrent à la fondation et à la chute de la ville. Exilée de nouveau, elle mourut en 1763.

Four à chaux

Le four à chaux

En examinent le demi-bastion Dauphin, vous avez sans doute remarqué que les pierres utilisées à Louisbourg ne sont pas taillées comme des briques. Les façades se composent de moellons figés dans du mortier. Tout le mortier utilisé à la forteresse provenait de fours à chaux semblables à celui-ci. Des chaufourniers chauffaient la pierre extraite des carrières à chaux, puis délayaient la chaux dans des bassins adjacents et mélangeaient ce matériau à du sable pour en faire du mortier. Ce procédé chimique est délicat; une cuisson incomplète ou encore le sel contenu dans le sable provenant des plages pouvait gâter le mortier. La fumée âcre qui se dégageait du four devait souvent faire pester les habitants de la maison de Joseph Lartigue, qui se trouve tout à côté.

On ne saurait trouver moment plus opportun pour réfléchir aux problèmes que pose la construction d’une forteresse. Les travaux ont duré deux décennies. Pour réaliser le plan complexe de Louisbourg, il a fallu façonner à la main des tonnes de terre et de pierre. Ce que vous voyez aujourd’hui ne constitue que le quart des ouvrages et des bâtiments de l’époque.


La ville reconstruite
Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg
La forteresse de Louisbourg - La ville reconstruite
Sur la carte Nom du bâtiment
1 Maison Desroches (Wheelchair accessible)
- Porte Dauphin
- Demi-Bastion Dauphin
2 Poudrière
3 Casernes
4 Poterne
5 Embrasures à Lartigue
6 Maison Lartigue (Wheelchair accessible)
- Four à chaux
7 Hangar d'artillerie
8 Forge d'artillerie
9 Boulangerie du Roi Food service
- Cour à bois
10 Maison Duhaget (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition sur les fortifications et la garnison
- Glacière
11 Maison de la Perelle (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition sur la Congrégation de Notre-Dame
12 Magasin de la Perelle
13 Résidence de l'ingénieur
14 Buanderie et étable
15 Maison Rodrigue
16 Magasin Rodrigue
17 Maison de Gannes (Wheelchair accessible)
18 Corps de garde
- Bastion du Roi
19 Chapelle militaire
20 Résidence du gouverneur
La forteresse-de-Louisbourg - La ville recoinstruite
Sur la carte Nom du bâtiment
21 Caserne du bastion du Roi
Expositions sur la reconstruction, les instruments de guerre et la typographie archéologique
- Jardin du Roi
22 Centre McLennan (Wheelchair accessible) (Wifi available)
Expérience en réalité virtuelle
23 Maison de la Plagne (Wheelchair accessible) (Information)
24 Maison de la Vallière
Centre d'interprétation mi'kmaw
25 Magasin de la Vallière
26 Magasin de la Vallière II
- Propriétés Fizel et Loppinot
- Maison Dugas
27 Maison Carrerot
Exposition sur les techniques de construction
28 Maison Benoist (Wheelchair accessible) (Gift shop)
29 Café l'Épée Royale (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
30 Magasin du Roi
31 Hôtel de la Marine (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
32 Maison Grandchamp (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Porte Frédéric
- Carcan
33 Auberge Grandchamp (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Maison Destouches
34 Résidence du commissaire-ordonnateur (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition « Souvenirs et vies d'antan » et galerie du port
35 Magasin Bigot
36 Écuries
- Croix de Louisbourg
37 Plaque commémorative en hommage à Marie Marguerite Rose
- Le long du quai, en direction est
- Le sentier des Ruines