Dauphin Demi-Bastion (1)

When you leave the fishing property, stop for a moment to look at those walls ahead of you. There is no better place from which to sense the challenge Louisbourg poses to an attacker. From here to the walls you are under the muzzles of heavy artillery and in the sights of musketmen. See how the guns of the King’s Bastion on your right flank support the close range fire of the Dauphin demi-bastion ahead. There is no scrap of cover. Men have died on the ground you tread.

Approaching the walls, you pass through a narrow cut in the earthen glacis that forms the outer defences. Protection for the walls, these earthworks can also shelter advanced parties of soldiers.

Dauphin Gate

Dauphin Gate

There were only three land gates and a couple of wharves to give entry to Louisbourg. This one, the principal land entrance, was manned around the clock by an officer and thirty soldiers. Fishermen, wagoneers and children could pass in and out all day long, but each night the sentries ceremoniously locked the gate and raised the bridge. Do you begin to sense the authority of a fortress town? And, in the coat of arms and trophies around the gate, its majesty too?

The gate is carefully designed, from the sluice gate controlling water levels to the musket loopholes staring at you from the walls, to the graceful sentry box called a guerite observing you from high above the ditch. But brute force is a fortress’s stock-in-trade-most of these details were pounded to rubble in two sieges of Louisbourg. Archaeologists recovered fragments of the original sculptured trophies here, and their duplicates were cut in limestone from the same French quarry.

Through the massive doors the path is flanked by guardrooms, soldiers’ on your right, officers’ on your left. Beyond the soldiers’ guardroom is a sea-drained latrine, neatly built into the wall but silted in by the 1740s. On the left a six gun battery called the épéron juts into the harbour. The wooden structure at the end is another latrine.

Dauphin Demi-Bastion

Dauphin Demi-Bastion (2)

As you explore this compact fortification, try adopting the defender’s point of view in fortress warfare. The Dauphin was designed for two tough jobs. Climbing the ramp to the left as you enter, you can see how the demi-bastion itself anchors one end of Louisbourg’s landward defences. But the Dauphin has its feet in water. Louisbourg is also a coastal fortress, and the curving “semi-circular” battery shares the task of defending the port against naval attack.

The cannon here are reproductions of French 24 livres guns—they fired a round iron ball weighing 24 livres (almost 12 kilograms, 26 pounds). Each cannon and carriage weighs several tons, and each was served by a crew of hardworking artillerymen. See how the slope of the gun platform helps roll the guns into place after each recoil.

Powder Magazine

Nestled inside the bastion are soldiers’ barracks, not much used in the 1740s, and a powder magazine. The magazine, though carefully constructed to minimize the risk of explosion, eventually proved both too vulnerable and too small, yet it has survived well: almost up to the eaves are the original eighteenth century walls.

Each time besiegers came to Louisbourg, the Dauphin attracted their attention. Because it forms a corner in the town’s defences, it came under fire from two directions, and in each siege the damage and the casualties here were grave. Imagine the experience of the men who served the heavy roaring guns in this enclosed space, as enemy fire pounded their shelter down around them.

Postern Tunnel

Postern Tunnel

A secret passage? Not quite. The troops manning the outer defences—sometimes a third of the garrison—needed swift access to the town, and this winding passage, one of three in the fortress, was easy to use and to defend. Still, there are secrets to uncover inside a postern tunnel.

Here, deep inside the walls, the slow working of water can make a fortress seem a living thing. Every part of a fortress must respect the power of dripping water—if not drained away it will slowly tear a wall apart. To unlock one secret of fortress design, look for runnels and drains and downspouts throughout the fortifications, and examine water’s traces in the reconstructed roof above you.

The Dauphin demi-bastion is particularly vulnerable, for water surrounds it. Dampness and frost plagued the engineers’ attempts to make mortar set here. One corrective measure they tried was the planking that sheathes the Dauphin walls near the tunnel’s outer door.


The reconstructed site
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
Fortress of Louisbourg - Reconstructed buildings
On the map Building name
1 Desroches House (Wheelchair accessible)
- Dauphin Gate
- Dauphin Demi-Bastion
2 Powder Magazine
3 Barracks
4 Postern Tunnel
5 Embrasures at Lartigue
6 Lartigue House (Wheelchair accessible)
- Lime Kiln
7 Artillery Storehouse
8 Artillery Forge
9 King's Bakery Food service
- Woodlot
10 Duhaget House (Wheelchair accessible)
Garrison and Fortifications Exhibit
- Icehouse
11 De la Perelle House (Wheelchair accessible)
Congrégation de Notre-Dame Exhibit
12 De la Perelle Storehouse
13 Engineer's Residence
14 Laundry and Stables
15 Rodrigue House
16 Rodrigue Storehouse
17 De Gannes House (Wheelchair accessible)
18 Guardhouse
- King's Bastion
19 Military Chapel
20 Governor's Apartments
Fortress of Louisbourg - Reconstructed buildings
On the map Building name
21 King's Bastion Barracks
Reconstruction, Tools of War, and Archeological Typography Exhibits
- King's Garden
22 McLennan Centre (Wheelchair accessible) (Wifi available)
Virtual Reality Experience
23 De la Plagne (Wheelchair accessible) (Information)
24 De la Vallière House
Mi'kmaw Interpretive Centre
25 De la Vallière Storehouse
26 De la Vallière Storehouse II
- Fizel and Loppinot Properties
- Dugas House
27 Carrerot House
Building Techniques Exhibit
28 Benoist House (Wheelchair accessible) (Gift shop)
29 L'Épée Royale Café (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
30 King's Storehouse
31 Hôtel de la Marine (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
32 Grandchamp House (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Frédéric Gate
- Carcan
33 Grandchamp Inn (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Destouches House
34 Ordonnateur's Residence (Wheelchair accessible)
Recollecting Lives Exhibit & Harbour Gallery
35 Bigot Storehouse
36 Stables
- Louisbourg Cross
37 Marie Marguerite Rose plaque
- Eastward along the Quay
- Ruins Walk

Le demi-bastion Dauphin (I)

Après avoir visite à l’établissement de pêche, arrêtez-vous un instant pour examiner les murailles qui se dressent devant vous. Voyez comme il n’était pas facile de prendre cette ville. À l’endroit où vous vous trouvez, tout assaillant était pris sous le feu croisé de l’artillerie lourde et des fusils à pierre. Voyez comment le bastion du Roi, là-bas à droite, est en mesure d’appuyer le tir à bout portant de demi-bastion Dauphin, qui s’élève juste devant vous. Il n’y avait aucun moyen d’échapper à ces coups meurtriers. De nombreux soldats sont tombés sur le sol que vous foulez.

Pour atteindre les remparts, il faut passer par une ouverture étroite pratiquée dans le glacis de terre conçu pour protéger les murailles et favoriser les sorties des défenseurs.

La porte Dauphin

La porte Dauphin

Seules trois portes et quelques cales donnaient accès à Louisbourg. Cette porte ci, qui constituait l’entrée terrestre principale, était gardée en permanence par un officier à la tête de 30 soldats. Le jour, pêcheurs, charretiers et enfants la franchissaient librement mais, la nuit tombée, les sentinelles la verrouillaient cérémonieusement et levaient le pont. Commencez-vous à vous rendre compte de la valeur défensive de cette forteresse? Les armoiries et les trophées qui parent l’entrée principale vous donnent un avant-goût de sa majesté.

La conception de cette entrée repose sur des principes ingénieux : une vanne règle le niveau d’eau du fossé, les murs adjacents sont percés de meurtrières et, dominant les ouvrages, une guérite permet aux sentinelles de surveiller les mouvements à l’extérieur. Mais qui dit forteresse dit sièges sans merci : après la deuxième chute de Louisbourg, il ne restait plus grand-chose des ornements de la porte Dauphin. Les archéologues ont retrouvé quelques fragments des trophées. Ceux que l’on voit aujourd’hui ont été taillés d’après les modèles originaux dans du calcaire provenant de la même carrière française.

Les portes massives conduisent à un chemin encadré de corps de garde : à droite, celui des soldats, à gauche, celui des officiers. Au-delà du corps de garde des soldats, des latrines s’ouvrent dans les remparts. Ce sont les marées qui se chargeaient de les nettoyer; elles s’envasèrent toutefois dans les années 1740. À gauche, une batterie de six canons, l’éperon, s’avance vers le port. La construction de bois, tout au fond, renferme d’autres latrines.

Le demi-bastion Dauphin

Le demi-bastion Dauphin (II)

Pour profiter davantage de votre visite, imaginez-vous à la place des défenseurs. Le Dauphin a été pensé en fonction de deux tâches ardues : il affermit les défenses du côté de la terre et, de l’autre côté, sa batterie incurvée vers l’extérieur protège le port.

Les canons que vous voyez sont des répliques de canons français de 24 livres, ainsi nommés en raison du poids des boulets (presque 12 kg) qu’ils tiraient. L’ensemble, canon et affût, pèse plusieurs tonnes. Une équipe de canonniers s’affairait tout autour. Remarquez la légère inclinaison des plates-formes sur lesquelles ils reposent. Celle-ci permettait de mettre rapidement les canons en place après chaque recul.

Poudrière

Le demi-bastion abrite des casernes, peu utilisées dans les années 1740, ainsi qu’une poudrière. En dépit du soin apporté à la construction de cette dernière pour minimiser les risques d’explosion, elle se révélera trop vulnérable et de dimensions trop petites. Elle a pourtant relativement bien résisté aux rigueurs de la guerre et du temps : ses murs, jusqu’aux avant-toits, sont d’origine.

Le Dauphin constituait une cible de choix. Il fait saillie dans les fortifications et, d’un côté comme de l’autre, il attira le tir de l’ennemi. Les deux sièges l’ont endommagé considérablement. Imaginez les heures difficiles que vécurent les canonniers assourdis par le vacarme infernal de l’artillerie dans cet espace bombardé par l’ennemi.

Poterne

Poterne

Un passage secret? Pas tout à fait. Il était nécessaire de fournir aux troupes affectées à la défense des ouvrages avancés, c’est-à-dire jusqu’au tiers de la garnison, une forme d’accès rapide à la ville. Ce passage tortueux, l’un des trois de Louisbourg, était facile d’accès et se défendait facilement.

À l’intérieur des murailles, le mouvement lent et continu de l’eau crée une impression de vie. Dans chaque partie d’une forteresse, on se doit de respecter la force de l’eau qui suinte et qui s’égoutte. Voir à l’évacuation de l’eau est d’une importance capitale : toute accumulation minerait les remparts. Remarque les rigoles, les canalisations et les goulottes qui font partie intégrante des ouvrages et examinez les traces d’eau, au-dessus de vous.

Entouré d’eau, le demi-bastion Dauphin est particulièrement vulnérable. L’humidité et le gel empêchaient le mortier de durcir et empoisonnaient l’existence des ingénieurs. Ceux-ci recouvrirent les murailles de planches, près de la porte extérieure de la poterne, pour tenter de remédier à la situation.


La ville reconstruite
Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg
La forteresse de Louisbourg - La ville reconstruite
Sur la carte Nom du bâtiment
1 Maison Desroches (Wheelchair accessible)
- Porte Dauphin
- Demi-Bastion Dauphin
2 Poudrière
3 Casernes
4 Poterne
5 Embrasures à Lartigue
6 Maison Lartigue (Wheelchair accessible)
- Four à chaux
7 Hangar d'artillerie
8 Forge d'artillerie
9 Boulangerie du Roi Food service
- Cour à bois
10 Maison Duhaget (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition sur les fortifications et la garnison
- Glacière
11 Maison de la Perelle (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition sur la Congrégation de Notre-Dame
12 Magasin de la Perelle
13 Résidence de l'ingénieur
14 Buanderie et étable
15 Maison Rodrigue
16 Magasin Rodrigue
17 Maison de Gannes (Wheelchair accessible)
18 Corps de garde
- Bastion du Roi
19 Chapelle militaire
20 Résidence du gouverneur
La forteresse-de-Louisbourg - La ville recoinstruite
Sur la carte Nom du bâtiment
21 Caserne du bastion du Roi
Expositions sur la reconstruction, les instruments de guerre et la typographie archéologique
- Jardin du Roi
22 Centre McLennan (Wheelchair accessible) (Wifi available)
Expérience en réalité virtuelle
23 Maison de la Plagne (Wheelchair accessible) (Information)
24 Maison de la Vallière
Centre d'interprétation mi'kmaw
25 Magasin de la Vallière
26 Magasin de la Vallière II
- Propriétés Fizel et Loppinot
- Maison Dugas
27 Maison Carrerot
Exposition sur les techniques de construction
28 Maison Benoist (Wheelchair accessible) (Gift shop)
29 Café l'Épée Royale (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
30 Magasin du Roi
31 Hôtel de la Marine (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
32 Maison Grandchamp (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Porte Frédéric
- Carcan
33 Auberge Grandchamp (Wheelchair accessible) Food service
- Maison Destouches
34 Résidence du commissaire-ordonnateur (Wheelchair accessible)
Exposition « Souvenirs et vies d'antan » et galerie du port
35 Magasin Bigot
36 Écuries
- Croix de Louisbourg
37 Plaque commémorative en hommage à Marie Marguerite Rose
- Le long du quai, en direction est
- Le sentier des Ruines