Grand-Pré National Historic Site of Canada commemorates Grand-Pré area as a centre of Acadian settlement from 1682 to 1755 and the Deportation of the Acadians, which began in 1755 and continued until 1762.

In designating Grand-Pré as a national historic site in 1982, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada also recognized the strong attachment that remains to this day among Acadians throughout the world to this area, the heart of their ancestral homeland. Grand-Pré is a symbol of the ties that unite them.

The area around the Minas Basin was a centre of Acadian settlement from about 1682 until 1755. In all, some 2,200 Acadian men, women and children were deported from Les Mines, almost a third of the nearly 6,000 Acadians deported from Acadie in 1755.

UNESCO World Heritage Site

UNESCO determined that the Landscape of Grand Pré encompasses cultural characteristics that are so exceptional they are of importance to present and future generations of all humanity. Grand-Pré National Historic Site is at the heart of the Grand Pré Landscape being recognized for its outstanding universal value.

Le lieu historique national de Grand-Pré commémore la région de Grand-Pré en tant que lieu et établissement des Acadiens de 1682 à 1755 et la Déportation des Acadiens qui a débuté en 1755 et continua jusqu'en 1762.

En classant Grand-Pré lieu historique national en 1982, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a également reconnu l'attachement indéfectible des Acadiens et Acadiennes à Grand-Pré, que bon nombre considèrent comme le cœur de leur patrie ancestrale. Grand-Pré est le symbole des liens qui les unissent.

De 1682 environ jusqu'en 1755, la région des Mines, située autour du bassin du même nom, est un centre de peuplement des Acadiens. En tout, quelque 2 200 hommes, femmes et enfants des Mines sont déportés, soit près d'un tiers des 6 000 Acadiens qui ont été arrachés à leur foyer en Acadie en 1755.

Site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO

L’Unesco a déterminé que le Paysage de Grand-Pré englobe les caractéristiques culturelles qui sont si exceptionnels, qu’ils sont d’une grande importance pour les générations présentes et futures de l’humanité tout entière. Le lieu historique national de Grand-Pré est au cœur du Paysage de Grand-Pré qui est reconnu pour sa valeur universelle exceptionnelle.