Evangeline: A Tale of Acadie

“Evangeline: A Tale of Acadie,” first published in 1847, was a poem written by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Almost immediately after its release, the poem obtained worldwide popularity. Millions of people were drawn to the story of a young Acadian couple from the village of Grand-Pré, Evangeline Bellefontaine and Gabriel Lajeunesse, who were separated by the events of the Deportation.

The statue representing Evangeline
CEAAC Collection - Université de Moncton

Evangeline, being a faithful, pious woman, vowed to find her true love Gabriel, yet she always seemed to be two steps behind. More than a fictitious character, Evangeline became a symbol of the Deportation and the perseverance of the Acadian people.

Evangeline in America

The poem became a part of the school curriculum for generations of Americans. They fell in love with the young and beautiful sympathetic Evangeline. They were drawn to Evangeline’s pure, uncontrived, innocent beauty, and to the images of natural, green, simple Acadie that Longfellow created. This “earthly paradise” (referring to the name “Acadia” and its connection to the Greek legend of “Arcadia”) attracted tourists to the famous “Land of Evangeline.”

Evangeline and tourism in Nova Scotia

The combination of an alluring romantic tale of love and loss and a heavenly landscape inspired a new class of “tourists” to travel to Nova Scotia. In 1871, steam ship and rail service from New England to Nova Scotia had begun to bring tourists to the “Land of Evangeline.” The new rail service from Halifax to Annapolis Royal, completed in 1869, (amalgamated under Dominion Atlantic Railway in 1895) opened with six locomotive engines: two of which were called Evangeline and Gabriel.

The statue representing Evangeline
CEAAC Collection - Université de Moncton

The Dominion Atlantic Railway (DAR) used the association of Grand-Pré with Longfellow’s Evangeline to promote railway travel. Visitors travelling on the Evangeline locomotive would stop at the Grand-Pré station just a few metres away from the entrance to the Park. The highlight of the visit was being greeted by the statue of Evangeline in the 14 acres of carefully manicured Victorian gardens that were created to represent Evangeline’s village of Grand-Pré.

Many businesses also appropriated the image of Evangeline to sell products such as soda, chocolates, campgrounds, funeral homes, car dealerships, etc. One of the many Acadian newspapers of the time, founded in Digby in 1887 was named “L’Évangéline.” It was later moved to Moncton and continued publication until 1982.

Evangeline: The statue

On July 29, 1920, the Dominion Atlantic Railway (DAR) added to the evolving cultural landscape of the newly formed Grand-Pré Park when it unveiled a bronze sculpture of Evangeline. The work was produced by a Québécois sculptor named Henri Hébert, who created a variation on an earlier design of his father, sculptor Louis-Philippe Hébert. The sculpture of Evangeline seems to perpetually grieve for her lost homeland of Acadie.

For the past century, Evangeline has been striking a pose.

Evangeline and the Acadian Renaissance

In the late 19th century, the poem and its popularity changed completely how the Acadian story was understood by many across North America, and gave Acadians new pride in their history. It greatly increased the awareness of the Deportation and caused many to question the versions of the story they had been told.

A flag made of three sections: blue, white and red. With a yellow five point star in the top region of the blue section.
The Acadian flag

These sentiments brought more support to the Acadian “Renaissance” in politics and culture. In 1881, the first National Acadian Convention was held in Memramcook, New Brunswick. During the convention Acadians chose “Notre Dame de L’Assomption” as their patron saint, as well as August 15th as the Acadian National holiday. Three years later, at the second National Acadian Convention held at Miscouche, Prince Edward Island, “Ave Maris Stella” was chosen as the national Acadian anthem. Also at the Miscouche Convention, the Acadian National flag was adopted.

Through all the changes, the character of Evangeline remains an emotionally powerful icon of the Deportation, symbolically connecting Longfellow’s legacy to the Acadian people and Grand-Pré National Historic Site of Canada.

Évangéline : Un conte d’Acadie

Le poème d’Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, "Évangéline : Un conte d’Acadie" fut publié pour la première fois en 1847. Presque immédiatement après sa publication, le poème obtient une popularité mondiale. Des millions de personnes ont été attirées par l'histoire d'un jeune couple acadien, Évangéline Bellefontaine et Gabriel Lajeunesse, qui furent séparés par les événements de la Déportation.

La statue représentant Évangéline
Collection CEAAC - Université de Moncton

Évangéline, une femme fidèle et pieuse, a juré de trouver son grand amour, Gabriel, mais elle était toujours à deux pas derrière lui. Plus qu'un personnage fictif, Évangéline est devenue un symbole de la Déportation et de la persévérance du peuple acadien.

Évangéline en Amérique

Le poème est devenu une partie intégrante du programme scolaire de plusieurs générations d'Américains. Ils sont tombés sous le charme de la belle, jeune et sympathique Évangéline. Ils ont été attirés par la beauté pure, sans artifice et innocente d'Évangéline, et par les images de l'Acadie naturelle, verte et simple que Longfellow a créées. Ce «paradis terrestre» (faisant référence au nom «Acadie» et à son lien avec la légende grecque «Arcadie») a attiré des touristes dans le célèbre « pays d'Évangéline ».

Évangéline et le tourisme en Nouvelle-Écosse

La combinaison du conte romantique, de l’amour perdu, jumeler à la description d’un paysage paradisiaque a inspiré une nouvelle classe de «touristes» à voyager en Nouvelle-Écosse. En 1871, des bateaux à vapeur et un service ferroviaire de la Nouvelle-Angleterre vers la Nouvelle-Écosse ont commencé à amener des touristes au pays d'Évangéline. Le nouveau service ferroviaire de Halifax à Annapolis Royal, achevé en 1869, (fusionné sous le Dominion Atlantic Railway en 1895) offre un service avec six locomotives : deux d'entre elles nommées Evangeline et Gabriel.

La statue représentant Évangéline
Collection CEAAC - Université de Moncton

Le Dominion Atlantic Railway (DAR) a utilisé Grand-Pré et Évangéline pour promouvoir les voyages en train. Les visiteurs voyageant sur la locomotive Evangeline s'arrêtaient à la gare de Grand-Pré à quelques mètres de l'entrée du parc. Le point culminant de la visite était d'être accueilli par la statue d'Évangéline dans les 14 acres de jardins victoriens soigneusement entretenus et qui ont été créés pour représenter le village d'Évangéline, Grand-Pré.

De nombreuses entreprises se sont également approprié l'image d'Évangéline pour vendre des produits tels que des boissons gazeuses, des chocolats, des terrains de camping, des salons funéraires, des concessionnaires automobiles, etc. Un des nombreux journaux acadiens de l'époque, fondé à Digby en 1887, s'appelait L'Évangéline. Il a ensuite déménagé à Moncton et fut publié jusqu'en 1982.

Évangéline : La statue

Le 29 juillet 1920, le Dominion Atlantic Railway (DAR) enrichit le paysage culturel en évolution du Parc de Grand-Pré en dévoilant une sculpture de bronze représentant Évangéline. L'œuvre a été réalisée par le sculpteur québécois Henri Hébert, qui fut inspiré par une oeuvre antérieure de son père, le sculpteur Louis-Philippe Hébert. La sculpture d'Évangéline semble perpétuellement pleurer pour sa patrie perdue, l'Acadie.

Depuis un siècle, Évangéline est figée dans le temps.

Évangéline et la renaissance de la culture acadienne

À la fin du 19e siècle, le poème de Longfellow et sa popularité ont complètement changé la façon dont l'histoire acadienne était comprise à travers l'Amérique du Nord. Le succès du poème donne aux Acadiens une nouvelle perspective de leur histoire. Il a grandement contribué à faire connaître les événements de la Déportation et a amené de nombreuses personnes à remettre en question les versions de l'histoire qui leur avaient été racontées.

Un drapeau formé de trois sections : bleu, blanc et rouge. En plus d'une étoile à cinq pointes dans le haut de la section bleu.
Le drapeau de l'Acadie

Ces sentiments ont apporté un plus grand soutien à la renaissance de la culture acadienne. En 1881, la première Convention nationale acadienne s'est tenue à Memramcook, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Lors de cette convention, les Acadiens ont choisi Notre Dame de l'Assomption comme patronne, ainsi que le 15 août comme fête nationale acadienne. Trois ans plus tard, lors de la deuxième Convention nationale acadienne tenue à Miscouche, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, l'Ave Maris Stella a été choisi comme hymne national acadien et ils ont également adopté un drapeau national acadien.

Malgré l’évolution du peuple acadien, le personnage d’Évangéline demeure une puissante icône de la Déportation, reliant symboliquement l'héritage du poème de Longfellow au lieu historique national du Canada de Grand-Pré.