Stewarded within the heart of Nova Scotia’s Annapolis Valley, Grand-Pré National Historic Site is a monument to Acadian culture of the 17th and 18th centuries and a commemoration of both the significant contributions by, and the Deportation of, the Acadian people.

Located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage Site, these picturesque grounds offer a meaningful memorial, interpretive centre and manicured greenspace—a place to celebrate regional heritage and to bring to life the triumphs and trials of the past.

History

Grand-Pré National Historic Site commemorates the Grand-Pré area as a centre of Acadian settlement from 1682 to 1755 and the Deportation of the Acadians, which began in 1755 and continued until 1762.

Cultural landscape

The Landscape of Grand Pré tells a remarkable story about human interaction with the environment and about how the connection between people and place can define a collective identity.

Conservation

An important part of Parks Canada's mandate involves protecting the health and wholeness, or commemorative integrity, of the national historic sites it operates. This means preserving the site's cultural resources, communicating its heritage values and national significance, and kindling the respect of people whose decisions and actions affect the site.

Conservation projects

Au cœur de la vallée de l’Annapolis en Nouvelle-Écosse, le lieu historique national de Grand-Pré est un monument dédié à la culture acadienne des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles et une commémoration de l’importante contribution du peuple acadien ainsi que de sa déportation.

Au cœur d’un site inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, ce pittoresque emplacement met en valeur un monument de première importance, un centre d’interprétation et des espaces verts méticuleusement entretenus. Voilà un endroit où célébrer le patrimoine régional et où redonner vie aux épreuves et aux triomphes d’autrefois.

Histoire

Le lieu historique national de Grand‑Pré commémore la région de Grand‑Pré en tant que centre d’établissement acadien de 1682 à 1755 et la Déportation des Acadiens, qui a commencé en 1755 et s’est poursuivie jusqu’en 1762.

Paysage culturel

Le paysage de Grand-Pré raconte l’histoire remarquable de l’interaction des humains avec leur environnement et donne une idée à quel point le lien entre un endroit et ses habitants peut définir l’identité collective.

Conservation

Un des principaux volets du mandat de Parcs Canada consiste à protéger la santé et l'intégralité, c'est-à-dire l'intégrité commémorative, des lieux historiques nationaux dont il a la charge. Parcs Canada doit donc préserver les ressources culturelles qui s'y trouvent, faire connaître leur valeur patrimoniale et leur importance nationale, et éveiller l'intérêt de ceux dont les décisions et les actions affectent ces lieux.

Projets de conservation projects