Completed Infrastructure Projects

Fort Anne, the country’s first operational national historic site, was at the heart of changing social, military, and political relations between the Mi’kmaq, Acadians, French, and British throughout the 17th and 18th centuries. Its current star-shaped, Vauban-style fortification dates to 1702, and has been preserved through the efforts of local residents and generations of Canadians who treasure their cultural landscapes.

In celebration of the 100th anniversary of Fort Anne as a national historic site and Canada 150, several infrastructure projects were completed in 2017.

Officers’ Quarters Museum interpretive rehabilitation

Built by the British military in 1797, this building served as barracks for officers and soldiers until the withdrawal of the garrison in 1854. In 1917, Fort Anne was established as Dominion Park and the building was subsequently used as a museum. It was completely restored in 1935 to create a “modern fireproof museum.” In 2017, a total redesign of the permanent exhibits in the Officers' Quarters was completed to create a more current and interactive experience for visitors, including telling Indigenous stories.

Garrison Graveyard

The Garrison Graveyard stabilisation project included conservation of high priority stones and the restoration of the early-19th century cast-iron fence. The cast iron fence dates from the mid-1870s and was produced by Munro and O’Neill of Lower Water Street in Halifax. It is a rare example of Nova Scotia cast-iron work from this time period.

Acadian residents of the Port-Royal area, members of the French garrison, officials of the French administration at the fort and their families were buried here. Following the British capture of the fort in 1710, it became an Anglican cemetery. The burial ground served the needs of the garrison at the fort as well as the needs of the civilian population of the town of Annapolis Royal. The last burial took place in 1940.

The Historical Association of Annapolis Royal conducts candlelight graveyard tours for visitors using the grave markers as the backdrop to share stories about the lives and customs of the people who shaped Fort Anne and the region.

Queen’s Wharf and walking path

The Queen’s Wharf ruins are the only visible remains of the 1740 structures that stood outside the ramparts on the waterfront area, reflecting technology from the mid-18th to the early-20th century.

The Queen's Wharf stabilisation project focused on protecting the ruins of the wharf from further erosion. This project also incorporated a new walking path to improve visitor access to the wharf area and to link Fort Anne to the waterfront amphitheatre and boardwalk.

Administration and maintenance buildings

Rehabilitation of Fort Anne’s administration building included the redesign of the office to improve operational and administrative efficiency and service to the public.

Buried under grass, the “maintenance bunker” needed masonry repointing as well as roof repair, which required the removal and replacement of the sod that covers the roof. The removal/rebuilding of the maintenance garage was completed to improve safe work practices and the efficiency of site asset management operations.

Travaux terminés

Le lieu historique national Fort-Anne, soit le premier lieu historique national en activité au pays, a été le carrefour de la transformation des relations sociales, politiques et militaires entre les Mi’kmaq, les Acadiens, les Français et les Britanniques aux 17e et 18e siècles. Ses fortifications actuelles de style Vauban en forme d’étoile datent de 1702. Elles ont été préservées grâce aux efforts déployés par les résidents locaux et par plusieurs générations de Canadiens qui chérissent les paysages culturels du pays.

À l’occasion du 100e anniversaire de Fort-Anne en tant que lieu historique national ainsi que du 150e anniversaire du Canada, plusieurs projets d'infrastructure ont été menés à bien en 2017.

Renouvellement de l’interprétation du musée du Quartier des officiers

Construit par les militaires britanniques en 1797, ce bâtiment a servi de casernes pour les officiers et les soldats jusqu’au retrait de la garnison en 1854. En 1917, Fort‑Anne a été reconnu comme parc du Dominion et le bâtiment a par la suite abrité un musée. Ce bâtiment a été complètement restauré en 1935 pour créer un « musée moderne à l’épreuve du feu ». En 2017, on a complètement renouvelé les expositions permanentes du musée du Quartier des officiers de manière à créer une expérience plus actuelle et interactive pour les visiteurs, y compris raconter des histoires des Autochtones.

Cimetière de la garnison

Le projet de stabilisation du cimetière de la garnison comprenait la conservation de pierres à priorité élevée et la restauration de la clôture de fer forgé du début du 19e siècle. Cette clôture de fer forgé date du milieu des années 1870 et a été réalisée par Munro et O’Neill de la rue Lower Water, à Halifax. C’est un rare exemple de travail de ferronnerie néo-écossaise pour cette époque.

Les résidents acadiens de la région de Port-Royal, les membres de la garnison française, les fonctionnaires français et leurs familles étaient enterrés dans ce cimetière. À la suite de la prise du fort par les Britanniques en 1710, ce lieu est devenu un cimetière anglican. Le cimetière a répondu aux besoins de la garnison du fort ainsi qu'aux besoins de la population civile de la municipalité d’Annapolis Royal. Le dernier enterrement a eu lieu en 1940.

L’Historical Association of Annapolis Royal offre des visites guidées du cimetière à la chandelle en se servant des pierres tombales comme toile de fond pour partager des histoires sur le mode de vie et les coutumes des personnes qui ont façonné l’histoire du fort Anne et de la région.

Le Quai de la Reine et le sentier pédestre

Les ruines du Quai de la Reine (Queen’s Wharf) sont les seuls vestiges visibles des structures de 1740 à l'extérieur des remparts du front de mer, qui reflètent la technologie du milieu du 18e siècle jusqu'au début du 20e siècle.

Le projet de stabilisation du Quai de la Reine était axé sur la protection des ruines du quai contre l’érosion additionnelle. Ce projet comprenait également un nouveau sentier pédestre pour améliorer l’accès des visiteurs à la section du quai et relier Fort-Anne à l’amphithéâtre du front de mer et au trottoir de bois.

Bâtiments administratifs et d’entretien

La réfection du bâtiment administratif de Fort-Anne comprenait le réaménagement du bureau afin d’améliorer l’efficacité opérationnelle et administrative et les services au public.

Enseveli sous l’herbe, le «bunker d'entretien » avait besoin d'un rejointoiement de la maçonnerie ainsi que de travaux de réparation au toit, lesquels nécessitaient d'enlever et de remplacer le gazon qui recouvrait le toit. On a retiré/reconstruit le garage d'entretien pour améliorer les pratiques de travail sécuritaires et l'efficacité des activités de gestion des biens du site.