Rhenish stoneware found at the site of Charles Fort

Clay pipes found at the site of Charles Fort.
Parks Canada archaeologists have unearthed artifacts likely associated with the early Scottish settlement
© Parks Canada

Charles Fort was built nearly four centuries ago. But it’s only since 1989 that we’ve known – for sure – where it once stood. As you walk along the Annapolis River today and admire the plaque commemorating the fort, ponder the historical drama that brought it to light.

For centuries, researchers thought the long-lost fort stood on the other side of the river, a perception enforced by erroneous, 18th-century maps. However, a first-hand account published only in 1940 suggested that Charles Fort was actually buried beneath current-day Fort Anne.

Archaeologists tested the theory during a 1989-1992 excavation at Fort Anne. What they unearthed was astonishing – not only shards of Scottish stoneware but a royal seal from the early 1600s bearing the crown-and-thistle motif of King James I and Charles I, whom the fort had been named after.

After being lost for literally hundreds of years, Charles Fort is today found at last.

Des tessons de poterie rhénane trouvés à l'emplacement du fort Charles.

Des pipes en argiles trouvées à l'emplacement du fort Charles.
Des archéologues de Parcs Canada ont exhumé des artefacts vraisemblablement associés à la colonie écossaise
© Parcs Canada

Le fort Charles a été construit il y a près de quatre siècles. Mais c’est seulement en 1989 que l’on a pu déterminer son emplacement exact. Tandis que vous marchez le long de la rivière Annapolis et admirez la plaque qui commémore le fort, imaginez le drame historique qui s’est déroulé en ces lieux.

Pendant des siècles, les chercheurs ont cru que ce fort, oublié depuis bien longtemps, se trouvait de l’autre côté de la rivière. Une idée confortée par des cartes erronées datant du XVIIIe siècle. Pourtant, un témoignage personnel publié en 1940 seulement suggérait que le fort Charles se trouvait en réalité sous l’actuel fort Anne.

Les archéologues ont vérifié cette hypothèse en réalisant des excavations au fort Anne, de 1989 à 1992. Ce qu’ils ont mis au jour est étonnant. En plus des tessons de grès écossais, ils ont découvert un sceau royal datant des années 1600 qui portait l’insigne, constitué d’une couronne et d’un chardon, du roi Jacques Ier et Charles Ier, à qui le fort doit son nom.

Après avoir été oublié pendant plusieurs siècles, le fort Charles a enfin été retrouvé.