Visitors take a selfie as they enjoy a sunset view of the town of Canso from Grassy Island.

Table of contents


Title: Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort National Historic Sites of Canada Management Statement, 2021

Organization: Parks Canada Agency


Foreword

 Jonathan Wilkinson

The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Parks Canada administers one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world

These national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas are a source of shared pride for all Canadians.

The Government of Canada is committed to preserving natural and cultural heritage, expanding the system of protected places and contributing to the recovery of species-at-risk. At the same time, we must continue to offer new and innovative visitor and outreach programs and activities so that more Canadians can experience these iconic destinations and learn about our environment, history and culture.

In addition, Parks Canada is committed to a system of national heritage places that recognizes and honours the historic and contemporary contributions of Indigenous peoples, their histories and cultures, as well as the special relationships Indigenous peoples have with ancestral lands and waters.

This new management statement for Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites of Canada supports this vision.

Management statements are developed through extensive consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local and regional residents, visitors and the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

National parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas are a priority for the Government of Canada. I would like to thank everyone who contributed to this statement for their commitment and spirit of co-operation.

As the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I applaud this collaborative effort and I am pleased to approve the Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort National Historic Sites of Canada Management Statement.

The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by:

Ron Hallman
President & Chief Executive Officer
Parks Canada

Andrew Campbell
Senior Vice-President
Operations Directorate

Blair Pardy
Field Unit Superintendent
Cape Breton Field Unit


Introduction

Parks Canada manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites of Canada.

Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites are commemorated because Canso Islands constituted an important fishing base for the French in the 16th and 17th centuries and for the British in the first half of the 18th century. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recommended Canso as a site of national historic significance in 1925. In 1962, the Board recommended recognition of the prominent archaeological site in the Canso area, the fort at Grassy Island, as being of national historic significance. In 2001, the Board recommended that the site be known as Canso Islands National Historic Site and include the islands that constituted Canso in its historic sense, and that Grassy Island National Historic Site be renamed Grassy Island Fort National Historic Site.

The Mi’kmaq people had a historical presence on these islands for fishing and transportation. Nine pre-contact Indigenous artifacts are part of the archaeological collection for the site. The Mi’kmaq also played an important role, along with the French, in overtaking the fortifications during King George’s War in 1744. Although Parks Canada has compiled some information related to the importance of the sites to the Mi’kmaq, current understanding is limited. Gaining further understanding of the significance of these sites to the Mi’kmaq needs to be explored.

Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites are located adjacent to the community of Canso, within Guysborough County. Tourism is an important emerging sector regionally, and the site plays an important role in the tourism offer for Canso.

Management approach

Parks Canada will continue to manage Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites to grow relationships and pursue partnerships that offer opportunities for discovery of the sites and building an appreciation and understanding for their stories.

Parks Canada will also ensure the commemorative integrity of these sites, working with the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia to review and update the commemorative integrity statements, which document the sites’ national historic significance.

Management objectives

Building relationships with the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia

Parks Canada respects Aboriginal rights, including those identified within peace and friendship treaties, when building mutually beneficial relationships with Aboriginal communities, which is a priority for Parks Canada. In managing Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites, Parks Canada works with Mi’kmaq communities directly and through the Parks Canada-Unama’ki Advisory Committee to ensure management decisions are informed by both western and Mi’kmaw knowledge, as well as reflect the values and cultural heritage of the Mi’kmaq people. Areas of interest moving forward include: reviewing and updating the commemorative integrity statements to reflect Mi’kmaq history and connections to the site; inclusive cultural resource management, including greater understanding of the history of the sites through collaborations in archaeology; cross-promotional visitor experience activities and potential employment or contracting opportunities.

Building relationships with local/regional partners

By working together with key stakeholders, including the Canso Historical Society, Canso Area Development Association and the Municipality of the District of Guysborough, Parks Canada maximizes opportunities to present the stories of the sites and provide enhanced services.

Resource conservation

Parks Canada protects cultural resources at heritage places administered by the Agency in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada.

The statement of commemorative integrity and reasons for designation of Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort National Historic Site will be reviewed and updated collaboratively with the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia.

As well, recognizing that the sites have significance for the Mi’kmaq, Parks Canada commits to collaboratively working with the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia to better understand and protect the values and cultural resources of Mi’kmaw significance at these sites, including from climate change impacts such as coastal erosion and sea-level rise.

Conservation includes basic monitoring of the state of cultural resources, and documentation of interventions at the site. At Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites, the focus is on ensuring that the known cultural resources are not impaired or threatened, that investments are made where they are most impactful for the benefit of Canadians, and that messages about the historic significance of Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites are conveyed.

Public understanding and appreciation

Parks Canada provides information about the significance of Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites on its website, through social media and on the Canadian Register of Historic Places. Parks Canada also delivers related outreach activities and has promotional information available at regional visitor information centres.

Site maintenance

Parks Canada maintains the property it administers so as to respect the site’s heritage values, present a positive image to the public, and reflect the Parks Canada brand.

Summary of strategic environmental assessment

In accordance with The Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment is conducted on all management statements tabled in Parliament. The strategic environmental assessment for Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites assessed the potential effects on natural and cultural resources and visitor experience. The strategic environmental assessment concluded that the proposed management statement for Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort national historic sites would have positive effects on cultural resources and visitor experience. Potential environmental effects on vegetation, species at risk, migratory birds and water quality were identified, but the effects can be mitigated through project-level impact assessments when necessary. The statement supports the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy goal of Connecting Canadians with Nature. There are no important negative environmental effects anticipated from management statement implementation.


Contact us

For more information about the management statement or about Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort National Historic Sites of Canada, please contact:

Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort National Historic Sites of Canada
P.O. Box 159
Baddeck, Nova Scotia, B0E 1B0
Canada

Email:  pc.information.pc@canada.ca

Phone: 902-295-2069

 Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort National Historic Sites of Canada

Fax number:  902-295-3496

Publication information

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the President & Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2021.

Front cover image credit: Parks Canada

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

  • Paper: R64-582/2021E
  • 978-0-660-39297-4
  • PDF: R64-582/2021E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-39296-7

Note to readers
The health and safety of visitors, employees and all Canadians are of the utmost importance. Parks Canada is following the advice and guidance of public health experts to limit the spread of COVID-19 while allowing Canadians to experience Canada’s natural and cultural heritage.
Parks Canada acknowledges that the COVID-19 pandemic may have unforeseeable impacts on the Canso Islands and Grassy Island Fort National Historic Sites of Canada Management Statement.

Des visiteurs prennent un égoportrait tandis qu'ils admirent le coucher de soleil sur la ville de Canso depuis l'île Grassy.

Table des matières


Titre : Énoncé de gestion des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy, 2021

Organisme : Agence Parcs Canada


Avant-propos

Jonathan Wilkinson

L’honorable Jonathan Wilkinson, C.P., député
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada administre l’un des plus grands et des plus beaux réseaux d’aires patrimoniales culturelles et naturelles protégées au monde.

Ces lieux historiques nationaux, parcs nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation sont une source de fierté pour toute la population canadienne.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à protéger le patrimoine naturel et culturel, à élargir le réseau d’aires protégées et à contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril. Nous devons en même temps continuer d’offrir des activités et des programmes innovateurs sur place et à distance pour permettre à un nombre accru de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de faire l’expérience de ces destinations emblématiques et de découvrir notre histoire, notre environnement et notre culture.

En outre, l’Agence Parcs Canada est déterminée à ce que son réseau de lieux patrimoniaux nationaux reconnaisse et honore les contributions historiques et contemporaines des peuples autochtones, leurs histoires et leurs cultures, ainsi que les liens particuliers qui les unissent à leurs terres et eaux ancestrales.

Ce nouvel énoncé de gestion des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy vient appuyer cette vision.

Les énoncés de gestion sont élaborés à l’issue de vastes consultations et avec l’apport de personnes et d’organismes divers, dont des peuples autochtones, des résidents de la région, des visiteurs et l’équipe dévouée de Parcs Canada.

Les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation sont une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. J’aimerais remercier de leur dévouement et de leur esprit de collaboration tous ceux et celles qui ont contribué à cet énoncé.

À titre de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, j’applaudis à cet effort concerté, et j’ai l’honneur d’approuver l’énoncé de gestion des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy.

L’honorable Jonathan Wilkinson, C.P., député
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Recommandations

Recommandé par :

Ron Hallman
Président et directeur général
Parcs Canada

Andrew Campbell
Vice-président principal
Direction générale des opérations

Blair Pardy
Directeur d’unité de gestion
Unité de gestion du Cap-Breton


Introduction

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes au monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy.

Les lieux historiques nationaux des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy font l’objet d’une commémoration en raison du rôle important qu’ont joué les îles Canso comme lieu de pêche pour les Français aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles, et pour les Britanniques dans la première moitié du XVIIIe siècle. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a recommandé que Canso soit désigné lieu historique nationale en 1925. En 1962, la Commission a recommandé que l’on reconnaisse l’importance historique nationale du fort de l’île Grassy, un site archéologique bien en vue de la région de Canso. En 2001, la Commission a recommandé que l’endroit soit nommé lieu historique national des Îles-Canso et qu’il comprenne les îles constituant Canso dans son sens historique. Elle a aussi recommandé que le lieu historique national de l’Île-Grassy soit renommé lieu historique national du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy.

Les Mi’kmaq ont fréquenté ces îles par le passé pour la pêche et lors de leurs déplacements. Neuf artefacts autochtones préeuropéens font partie de la collection archéologique du site. Les Mi’kmaq ont également joué un rôle important, avec les Français, dans la prise d’assaut des fortifications pendant la guerre du roi George, en 1744. Bien que Parcs Canada ait compilé des renseignements sur l’importance de l’endroit pour les Mi’kmaq, la compréhension actuelle est limitée et il faudra explorer davantage l’importance de cette région pour ces derniers.

Les lieux historiques nationaux des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy sont situés à proximité de la collectivité de Canso, dans le comté de Guysborough. Le tourisme est un important secteur émergent à l’échelle régionale, et le site joue un rôle important dans l’offre touristique de Canso.

Approche de gestion

Parcs Canada continuera de gérer les lieux historiques nationaux des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy de manière à établir des relations et des partenariats permettant d’offrir au public l’occasion de découvrir l’endroit et de mieux apprécier et comprendre son histoire.

Parcs Canada veillera également à l’intégrité commémorative de ces lieux historiques en collaborant avec les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour examiner et mettre à jour les énoncés d’intégrité commémorative qui documentent l’importance historique nationale des lieux.

Objectifs de gestion

Établissement de relations avec les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Parcs Canada respecte les droits des Autochtones, y compris ceux qui sont énoncés dans les traités de paix et d’amitié, au moment d’établir des relations mutuellement avantageuses avec les collectivités autochtones, car il s’agit d’une priorité de l’Agence. Dans le cadre de la gestion des lieux historiques nationaux des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy, Parcs Canada travaille directement avec les collectivités mi’kmaq et par l’entremise du Comité consultatif Unama’ki-Parcs Canada pour s’assurer que les décisions de gestion sont basées sur le savoir occidental et Mi’kmaw, et reflètent les valeurs et le patrimoine culturel du peuple mi’kmaq. Pour l’avenir, les domaines d’intérêt comprennent l’examen et la mise à jour des énoncés d’intégrité commémorative pour qu’ils tiennent compte de l’histoire des Mi’kmaq et de leurs liens avec les lieux historiques; la gestion inclusive des ressources culturelles, y compris l’amélioration de notre compréhension de l’histoire des lieux historiques grâce à une collaboration en archéologie; des activités de promotion croisée de l’expérience du visiteur, ainsi que des possibilités d’emploi ou de contrats.

Établissement de relations avec des partenaires locaux et régionaux

En collaborant avec des intervenants clés, dont la Canso Historical Society, la Canso Area Development Association et la Municipalité du district de Guysborough, Parcs Canada maximise les occasions de mettre en valeur les récits liés à ces lieux historiques et d’y offrir des services améliorés.

Conservation des ressources

Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles dans les lieux patrimoniaux administrés par l’Agence conformément à sa Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada.

L’énoncé d’intégrité commémorative et les motifs de la désignation des lieux historiques nationaux des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy seront examinés et mis à jour en collaboration avec les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

De plus, étant donné l’importance de ces lieux historiques pour les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Parcs Canada s’engage à collaborer avec ces derniers pour mieux comprendre et protéger les valeurs et les ressources culturelles qui y revêtent une importance pour eux, y compris en ce qui concerne les effets des changements climatiques comme l’érosion côtière et l’élévation du niveau de la mer.

La conservation comprend la surveillance de base de l’état des ressources culturelles et la documentation des interventions menées sur place. Dans les lieux historiques nationaux des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy, l’accent est mis sur la protection des ressources culturelles connues contre toute altération ou menace, sur les investissements pouvant avoir le plus d’impact pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens, et sur la transmission des messages sur l’importance historique des lieux historiques nationaux des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy.

Compréhension et appréciation du public

Parcs Canada fournit des renseignements au sujet de l’importance des lieux historiques nationaux des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy sur son site Web, dans les médias sociaux et dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux. Parcs Canada offre également des activités de diffusion externe ainsi que de l’information promotionnelle dans ses centres d’accueil régionaux.

Entretien du site historique

Parks Canada maintains the property it administers so as to respect the site’s heritage values, present a positive image to the public, and reflect the Parks Canada brand.

Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique est menée pour tous les énoncés de gestion déposés au Parlement. L’évaluation environnementale stratégique pour les lieux historiques nationaux des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy portait sur les effets possibles sur les ressources naturelles et culturelles ainsi que sur l’expérience du visiteur. D’après l’évaluation environnementale stratégique, l’énoncé de gestion proposé pour les lieux historiques nationaux des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy aurait des effets positifs sur les ressources culturelles et l’expérience du visiteur. Des effets environnementaux possibles sur les espèces végétales, les espèces en péril, les oiseaux migrateurs et la qualité de l’eau ont été relevés, mais ces effets peuvent être atténués si nécessaire au moyen d’évaluations des répercussions à l’échelle du projet. L’énoncé va dans le sens de l’objectif Rapprocher les Canadiens de la nature de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. On ne prévoit pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants qui découleraient de la mise en œuvre de l’énoncé de gestion.


Contactez-nous

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes liées aux lieux historiques nationaux du Canada des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy

Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy
C.P. 159
Baddeck (Nouvelle-Écosse)
B0E 1B0
Canada

Courriel :  pc.information.pc@canada.ca

Téléphone : 902-295-2069

 Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy

Télécopieur :  902-295-3496

Renseignements sur la publication

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le président et directeur général de Parcs Canada, 2021.

Source des images de la page couverture : Parcs Canada

This publication is also available in English.

  • Papier : R64-582/2021F
  • 978-0-660-39299-8
  • PDF : R64-582/2021F-PDF
  • 978-0-660-39298-1

Note aux lecteurs
La santé et la sécurité des visiteurs, des employés et de l’ensemble de la population canadienne sont de la plus haute importance. Parcs Canada continue de suivre les conseils des experts en santé publique pour limiter la propagation de la COVID-19, tout en permettant aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens de découvrir le patrimoine naturel et culturel de leur pays.
Parcs Canada reconnaît que la pandémie de la COVID-19 peut avoir des effets imprévisibles sur l’énoncé de gestion des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada des Îles-Canso et du Fort-de-l’île-Grassy.