An invitation to take part

Parks Canada is reviewing its management objectives and strategies for Canso Islands National Historic Site and we want to hear from you. We will be holding public consultations until August 30, 2019. We encourage you to take part in this process by sharing your ideas and thoughts.

The purpose of these consultations is to give the public, Indigenous communities, municipality, partners, and community stakeholders an opportunity to get involved in the decision-making process of managing a national historic site.

The management statement will guide the governance of this historic site over the next 10 years. It will provide direction for the protection of cultural and natural resources as well as for visitor experience, outreach, and education.

Parks Canada’s Mandate

On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation, and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

Context

Canso Islands National Historic Site is commemorated because Canso Islands constituted an important fishing base for the French in the 16th and 17th centuries and for the British in the first half of the 18th century. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recommended Canso as a site of national historic significance in 1925. In 1962, the Board recommended recognition of the prominent archaeological site in the Canso area, the fort at Grassy Island, as being of national historic significance. In 2001, the Board recommended that the site be known as Canso Islands National Historic Site and include the islands that constituted Canso in its historic sense, and that Grassy Island National Historic Site be renamed Grassy Island Fort National Historic Site.

The Mi’kmaq people had a historical presence on these islands for fishing and transportation. Nine pre-contact Indigenous artifacts are part of the archaeological collection for the site. The Mi’kmaq also played an important role, along with the French, in overtaking the fortifications during King George’s War in 1744. Although Parks Canada has compiled some information related to the importance of the sites to the Mi’kmaq, our current understanding is limited and further understanding of the significance of these sites needs to be explored as part of relationship building moving forward.

Canso Islands National Historic Sites are located adjacent to the community of Canso, within the Municipality of the County of Guysborough. Tourism is an important emerging sector regionally and the site plays an important role in the tourism offer for Canso.

Past Management Strategies

In the past, extensive management plans were required for all national historic sites. Four years ago, Parks Canada changed the planning process to allow for more flexibility for sites with less complex management requirements. Plans for sites such as Canso Islands National Historic Site are now directed through management statements. 

Management statements are strategic, shorter in length, and results-oriented. They include key strategies and goals, outlining a basic level of management that is not anticipated to change. They do not require a vision or strategic direction.

They guide management decisions and actions at heritage places, and serve as key accountability documents to Indigenous peoples and Canadians. These statements are one-page documents that often require ministerial approval and tabling in Parliament, as is the case with the Canso Islands National Historic management statement.

Management goals are developed through consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local residents, visitors, stakeholders and partners as well as the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

Proposed Management Approach

Parks Canada’s aim is to continue to grow relationships and pursue partnerships that offer opportunities for discovery of the sites and build an appreciation and understanding for their story.  

Parks Canada is committed to the commemorative integrity of Canso Islands National Historic Site through respect and protection for the designated place, the in situ cultural resources, historic objects and the landscapes.  

Proposed Management Goals

Building Relationships with Indigenous Peoples: Parks Canada respects Indigenous rights, including those identified within peace and friendship treaties, when building mutually beneficial relationships with Indigenous communities, a priority for the Parks Canada Agency. In managing Canso Islands National Historic Site, Parks Canada currently engages the Parks Canada Unama’ki Mi’kmaq Advisory Committee to incorporate traditional knowledge, values and the cultural heritage of Indigenous peoples. Areas of interest moving forward include cross-promotional visitor experience activities, involvement in cultural resource management activities, and potential employment or contracting opportunities.

Building Relationships with Local/Regional Partners: By working together with key stakeholders, including the Canso Historical Society, Canso Area Development Association and the Municipality of the County of Guysborough, Parks Canada maximizes opportunities to reveal the story of the sites and provides enhanced services.

Resource Conservation: Parks Canada protects cultural resources at its heritage places in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. This includes basic monitoring of the state of cultural resources, and documentation of interventions at the site. At Canso Islands National Historic Site, the focus is on ensuring that the cultural resources are not impaired or threatened, that investments are made where they are most impactful for the benefit of Canadians, and that messages about Canso Islands National Historic Sites historical significance are conveyed.

Public Understanding and Appreciation: Parks Canada provides information about the significance of Canso Islands National Historic Site on its website, through social media and on the Canadian Register of Historic Places. Parks Canada also delivers related outreach activities, as well as promotional information available at regional visitor information centres. 

Site Maintenance: Parks Canada maintains the property it administers so as to respect the site’s heritage values, present a positive image to the public, and reflect the Parks Canada brand.
Strategic environmental assessment

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment is conducted on all management statements tabled in Parliament. The strategic environmental assessment for Canso Islands National Historic Site assessed the potential effects on natural and cultural resources and visitor experience. The strategic environmental assessment concluded that the proposed management statement for Canso Islands National Historic Site would have positive effects on cultural resources and visitor experience. Potential environmental effects on vegetation species at risk, migratory birds and water quality were identified but the effects can be mitigated through project-level impact assessments when necessary. The statement supports the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy goal of Connecting Canadians with Nature. There are no important negative environmental effects anticipated from management statement implementation. 

What do you think?

The present document summarizes and presents the site, its managerial goals and strategies. Now it’s your turn to take part in the discussion! Here is your chance to add to the conversation and help us develop Canso Islands National Historic Site’s management statement. Your knowledge of the area, your experience with the site, and the future you envision for it are important to us.

How to take part

We would like to hear your views, opinions and suggestions on the future of this treasured place. Please send your comments to us at pc.infocb.pc@canada.ca by August 30, 2019 or by mail to: 

Public Consultations – Canso Islands National Historic Site
Parks Canada Agency
259 Park Service Road
Louisbourg, NS B1C 2L2
Please do not hesitate to contact us at 902-295-2069 if you have any questions or would like further information on the public consultation.

Thank you for your cooperation!

Invitation à participer

Parcs Canada est en train de revisiter ses objectifs et stratégies de gestion pour le lieu historique national des Îles-Canso et nous aimerions avoir votre opinion à ce sujet. Nous tiendrons des consultations publiques jusqu’au 30 août 2019. Nous vous encourageons à participer à ce processus en nous faisant part de vos idées et réflexions. 

Ces consultations ont pour objet de donner au public, aux collectivités autochtones, à la municipalité, aux partenaires et aux intervenants communautaires une occasion d’être impliqués dans le processus de prise de décision en ce qui concerne la gestion d’un lieu historique national. 

L’énoncé de gestion guidera la gouvernance de ce site historique pour les dix prochaines années. Il fournira de l’orientation pour la protection des ressources culturelles et naturelles ainsi que pour l’expérience des visiteurs, la sensibilisation et l’éducation. 

Mandat de Parcs Canada

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Contexte

Le lieu historique national des Îles-Canso est commémoré parce que les îles Canso ont constitué une importante base de pêche pour les Français aux 16e et 17e siècles, et pour les Britanniques dans la première moitié du 18e siècle. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a recommandé Canso comme lieu d’importance historique nationale en 1925. En 1962, la Commission a recommandé la reconnaissance de l’importance historique nationale du site archéologique bien en vue de la région de Canso : le fort de l’île Grassy. En 2001, la Commission a recommandé que le lieu soit connu sous le nom de lieu historique national des Îles-Canso, et qu’il comprenne les îles constituant Canso dans le sens historique, et que le lieu historique national de l’Île-Grassy soit renommé lieu historique national du Fort-de-l’Île-Grassy.

Le peuple Mi’kmaq avait une présence historique sur ces îles pour la pêche et le transport. Neuf artefacts autochtones préeuropéens font partie de la collection archéologique du lieu. Les Mi’kmaq ont également joué un rôle important, avec les Français dans la prise d’assaut des fortifications pendant la guerre du roi George, en 1744. Bien que Parcs Canada ait compilé de l’information sur l’importance des lieux pour les Mi’kmaq, notre compréhension actuelle est limitée et il faut explorer davantage l’importance de ces lieux dans le cadre de l’établissement de relations futures.

Le lieu historique national des Îles-Canso est adjacent à la collectivité de Canso dans la municipalité du comté de Guysborough. Le tourisme est un important secteur émergent à l’échelle régionale et le lieu historique national joue un rôle important dans l’offre touristique de Canso.

Past Management Strategies

Dans le passé, des plans de gestion détaillés étaient requis pour tous les lieux historiques nationaux. Toutefois, il y a quatre ans, Parcs Canada a changé le processus de planification afin d’introduire davantage de souplesse pour les sites n’ayant pas d’exigences de gestion complexes. Les plans préparés pour les sites tels que le lieu historique national des Îles-Canso sont donc désormais orientés par des énoncés de gestion.

Les énoncés de gestion sont stratégiques, plutôt brefs, et axés sur les résultats. Ils comprennent les stratégies et buts essentiels, propres à un niveau de gestion de base qui devrait en principe rester inchangé. Ils n’exigent ni vision, ni orientation stratégique. 

Ils guident les décisions et les mesures de gestion aux emplacements patrimoniaux et servent de documents de reddition de compte aux peuples autochtones et aux Canadiens. Il s’agit de documents d’une page qui nécessitent souvent d’être approuvés par le ministre et déposés au Parlement, comme c’est le cas pour l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national des Îles-Canso.

Les buts de gestion sont établis au moyen de consultations et de la prise en compte des commentaires de diverses personnes et organisations, y compris des peuples autochtones, des résidents locaux, des visiteurs, des intervenants et des partenaires, ainsi que de l’équipe dédiée de Parcs Canada. 

Approche de gestion proposée 

L’objectif de Parcs Canada est de continuer d’entretenir des relations et d’établir des partenariats qui offrent des occasions de découvrir les lieux et de faire apprécier et comprendre leur histoire.  

Parcs Canada s’est engagé à assurer l’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national des Îles-Canso en respectant et en protégeant le lieu désigné, les ressources culturelles in situ, les objets historiques et les paysages.  

Buts de gestion proposés

Établissement de relations avec les peuples autochtones : Parcs Canada respecte les droits des Autochtones, y compris ceux qui sont énoncés dans les traités de paix et d’amitié, dans l’établissement de relations mutuellement avantageuses avec les communautés autochtones, car il s’agit d’une priorité de l’Agence Parcs Canada. Dans la gestion du lieu historique national des Îles-Canso, Parcs Canada fait actuellement appel au comité consultatif Unama’ki Mi’kmaq de Parcs Canada pour intégrer le savoir traditionnel, les valeurs et le patrimoine culturel des peuples autochtones. Les domaines d’intérêt pour l’avenir comprennent les activités de promotion croisée liées à l’expérience du visiteur, la participation aux activités de gestion des ressources culturelles et les possibilités d’emploi ou de contrats.

Établissement de relations avec les partenaires locaux et régionaux : En collaborant avec des intervenants clés, dont la Canso Historical Society, la Canso Area Development Association et la municipalité du comté de Guysborough, Parcs Canada maximise les occasions de révéler l’histoire des lieux et offre des services améliorés.

Conservation des ressources : Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans ses lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Les mesures prises à cet égard comportent notamment la surveillance de base des ressources culturelles et la documentation des interventions menées dans le lieu. Au lieu historique national des Îles-Canso, l’accent est mis sur la nécessité de veiller à ce que les ressources culturelles ne soient pas endommagées ou menacées, à ce que les investissements soient faits là où ils ont le plus d’impact au profit des Canadiens et à ce que les messages sur l’importance historique du lieu historique national des Îles-Canso soient transmis.

Compréhension et appréciation du public : Parcs Canada fournit de l’information au sujet de l’importance du lieu historique national des Îles-Canso sur son site Web, dans les médias sociaux et dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux. Parcs Canada offre également des activités de sensibilisation connexes, ainsi que de l’information promotionnelle dans ses centres d’accueil régionaux.

Entretien du lieu : Parcs Canada entretient le bien qu’il administre de manière à respecter les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu, à présenter au public une image positive et à témoigner de la marque de Parcs Canada.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique est réalisée pour tous les énoncés de gestion déposés au Parlement. L’évaluation environnementale stratégique du lieu historique national des Îles-Canso portait sur les effets potentiels sur les ressources naturelles et culturelles ainsi que sur l’expérience du visiteur. D’après l’évaluation environnementale stratégique, l’énoncé de gestion proposé pour le lieu historique national des Îles-Canso aurait des effets positifs sur les ressources culturelles et l’expérience du visiteur. Les effets environnementaux possibles sur les espèces végétales en péril, les oiseaux migrateurs et la qualité de l’eau ont été déterminés, mais ces effets peuvent être atténués si nécessaire au moyen d’évaluations des répercussions à l’échelle du projet. L’énoncé va dans le sens de l’objectif de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable qui consiste à rapprocher les Canadiens de la nature. On ne prévoit pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants qui découleraient de la mise en œuvre de l’énoncé de gestion. 

Qu’en pensez-vous?

Le présent document offre un aperçu du site et de ses buts et stratégies de gestion. C’est à votre tour de prendre part à la discussion! Ne manquez pas cette occasion d’enrichir la conversation et de nous aider à rédiger l’énoncé de gestion du Lieu historique national des Îles-Canso. Votre connaissance de la région, votre expérience du site et votre vision pour son avenir sont d’une grande importance pour nous. 

Comment participer?

Nous aimerions connaître votre point de vue, votre opinion et vos suggestions sur l’avenir de cet endroit précieux. Faites-nous parvenir vos commentaires d’ici le 21 juin 2019, par courriel à pc.infocb.pc@canada.ca au plus tard le 30 août 2019, ou par courrier à : 

Consultations publiques – Lieu historique national des Îles-Canso 
Agence Parcs Canada 
259 Park Service Road
Louisbourg (N.-É.)  B1C 2L2

N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous au 902-295-2069 si vous avez des questions ou souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet des consultations publiques. 

Nous vous remercions de votre coopération!