As early as 1600, French fishermen came to Canso, which teemed with abundant stocks of codfish. They built wharves, fish flakes, and temporary shelters along the shores of the Canso Islands. 

In the 17th and 18th centuries, Britain and France struggled for control of North America. By 1720, the French fishery had largely been driven from Canso, and replaced by a bustling settlement of fishermen, merchants, shoreworkers, and soldiers from New England and the British Isles. Grassy Island was the hub of this new fishery, which flourished until it was attacked by the French in 1744.

Faintly visible terraces, cellar pits, and scattered rubble mounds are all that remain of the houses, storesheds, and workshops that were destroyed in the French attack.

Grassy Island - illustrated map

The Grassy Island settlement

  • 1: The Trevett property

    John Trevett was a fish merchant who shared a large house with his neighbour. A low, stony mound with two cellar pits marks the site of the house, while close to the trail is the property’s stone-lined well. At its bottom, archaeologists found a shiny brass button, perhaps lost by Trevett as he leaned over to retrieve the bucket.

  • 2: The How property

    Edward How was the most important merchant living on Grassy Island. His property contained a wood-frame house, several outbuildings and the island’s largest wharf.

    The remains of stone foundations, chimney bases, window-glass fragments, and other debris were found, confirming historical accounts of a large two-storey residence with surrounding storehouses, animal shelters and a garden. Archaeologists discovered that How had greatly exaggerated the size of the property’s main structure, in a claim for losses which he had filed with the British authorities after the French attack of 1744. This building had two adjoining wings. The deep cellar under the east wing has formed a sizable depression in the ground. Between the wings lay a sheltered courtyard paved with cobblestone.

    The excavation revealed many interesting details of life in the How household:

    • Fragments of fine ceramic and glass objects were dug up. These came from as far afield as China, Turkey and Europe, and reveal the extensive trade links developed by the island’s merchants.
    • A brick hearth was also discovered in the main building. This was used for brewing beer in a copper cauldron for household consumption.
    • The excavation of a trash pile behind the house yielded a number of interesting items, which included the remains of a dog, perhaps the family pet. Numerous food scraps were found, ranging from the bones of cattle, sheep, pigs and chickens, to seal bones and oyster shells.

    How also had three storehouses built between the house and the wharf, two of which were used to house military supplies.

  • 3: The Elliot property

    A small plot adjoining How’s property was owned by John Elliot, a fish merchant. He had been active in the Canso fishery since 1722.

    The property was used for processing cod. Split and salted fish were laid out to dry on crude wooden tables called “flakes”. They were built in rows separated by narrow paths worn down by the workers who dried the fish. Elliot’s flakes sloped down to the beach. Their remains are still visible, consisting of five long, parallel ridges. When archaeologists dug them up, they found fragments of bottles, jars and clay tobacco pipes used by shore workers for drinking and smoking on the job.

  • 4: The Cosby property

    This property was owned by Anne Cosby, widow of a former garrison commander on Grassy Island. Although the remains of a large house are still visible, archaeologists concentrated on two smaller structures closer to the shore:

    • Now no longer visible, traces of a crude wooden shack were unearthed, along with several bottle and jar fragments dating from the 17th century. The shack was probably a temporary summer shelter for French fishermen who would have used the gravel spit below for drying fish.
    • Down by the shore, a deep depression in the earth bank yielded the remains of a simple wooden shed with a stone-lined cellar. Artifacts found at the site consisted mainly of wineglass, mug and bottle fragments, broken clay tobacco pipes and a homemade gaming piece chiseled from porcelain. The shed may have been one of eleven taverns which served soldiers and shore workers on the island.

    On the gravel spit embracing the tidal pool below, a battery of guns was erected to cover the harbour entrance. Barracks were also built for the soldiers of the garrison, but were miserable, waterlogged accommodations.

  • 5: The Aldridge property

    Owned by Captain Christopher Aldridge, commander of the garrison in 1743, this property contains the remains of a large house, still visible near the trail. Sloping down to the shore are five parallel ridges resembling Elliot’s fish flakes. Aldridge would appear to have been involved in the commercial fishery, contrary to military regulations.

  • 6: The Heron and Jephson properties

    Two adjoining plots on the island’s south side were owned by Patrick Heron and John Jephson, both officers of the garrison. They lived in a large duplex near the fort. Captain Heron was acting commander of the garrison during the French raid of 1744. Originally built thirty metres from the eroding cliff, the foundation of Heron’s house is now perched on the edge. Archaeologists dug up a number of objects, including segments of a fine earthenware plate, and the remains of a musket. A large fragment from an exploded shell was also retrieved from Heron’s cellar, no doubt the result of the French naval bombardment of the island. To the east of the house, an open field now marks the site of a large vegetable garden.

  • 7: Fort William Augustus

    Built in 1724, the fort mounted several cannon along the south wall overlooking the harbour passage. A powder magazine and two barrack buildings stood within the fort’s walls. These were joined together by fences of sharpened wooden stakes, or pickets, and formed an inner line of defense. The fort’s original entrance is still visible in the northwest wall.

    According to garrison records, the fort soon fell into disrepair and was virtually abandoned by the time of the French attack.

  • 8: The garrison church

    Between the fort and the wharf lies the largest man-made terrace on the island. This was the site of a large building, possibly the garrison church which served both the military and civilian populations of Grassy Island.

The fall of Canso

Shortly after the declaration of war between England and France in early 1744, a flotilla departed from the French fortress of Louisbourg. Its mission was to attack the Grassy Island settlement and destroy the fishery at Canso. After a brief bombardment, Captain Heron surrendered the island. The French attackers then plundered the community and burned down all the buildings.

The remains of the settlement have survived practically undisturbed since that fateful day.

Dès les années 1600, des pêcheurs français furent attirés à Canso par les stocks abondants de morue. Ils construisent des quais, des vigneaux et des logements temporaires sur les rives des îles Canso.

Tout au long des 17e et 18e siècles, la France et l’Angleterre lutèrent pour la domination de l’Amérique du Nord. Dès 1720, la pêcherie française avait été en grand partie expulsée de Canso et remplacée par une colonie florissante de pêcheurs, de marchands, de travailleurs et de soldats de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et de la Grande-Bretagne. L’île Grassy devint le centre d’activités de cette nouvelle pêcherie qui prospéra jusqu’à l’assaut des troupes françaises en 1744.

Tout ce qui reste des maisons, des remises et des ateliers rasés par les Français ce sont des terrasses gazonnées, des dépressions dans le sol et des tas de décombres épars qui pourraient facilement passer inaperçus.

Île Grassy - carte illustré

La colonie de l'île Grassy

  • 1 : La propriété de John Trevett

    John Trevett était marchand de poisson. Il partageait une grande maison avec son voisin. Un monticule de pierres peu élevé marque l’emplacement du mur mitoyen et les dépressions de chaque côté les deux caves du bâtiment. Le puits aux parois en pierre se situe près du sentier. Les archéologues ont trouvé un bouton en laiton au fond du puits. Peut-être John Trevett le perdit-il en remontant un seau d’eau?

  • 2 : La propriété d'Edward How

    Edward How était le négociant le plus important de l’île Grassy. Il possédait une maison à charpente de bois avec des dépendances de même que le quai le plus long de l’île.

    Les ruines des fondations et des foyers de cheminée, les fragments de verre provenant de fenêtres de même que d’autres débris, confirment l’authenticité des compte rendu historiques faisant état d’une demeure imposante de deux étages entourée de remises, d’étables et d’un jardin. Les archéologues ont toutefois découvert que How avait fortement exagéré la taille du bâtiment principal dans la déclaration de sinistre soumise aux autorités britanniques à la suite de la mission destructrice de 1744. Il y avait deux ailes aux extrémités du bâtiment, l’aile est ayant une cave profonde comme en témoigne la dépression qui subsiste encore de nos jours. Protégée par les bâtiments, la cour centrale était pavée de galets.

    Les fouilles ont révélé maints détails intéressants sur la vie des How :

    • des fragments de faïence fine et d’objets en verre venant de pays fort éloignés tel que la Chine, la Turquie et l’Europe témoignent de l’étendue des liens commerciaux établis par les négociants de l’île.
    • dans le foyer de briques découvert dans le bâtiment principal on faisant chauffer une énorme marmite en cuivre servant à brasser de la bière pour la consommation domestique.
    • les fouilles effectuées dans le tas d’ordures à l’arrière de la maison ont mis au jour bon nombre d’objets intéressants, notamment le squelette d’un chien, peut-être bien celui de la famille, et aussi des restes de table allant des os de bovidés, de moutons, de porcs et de volaille à ceux de phoques ainsi que des coquilles d’huitre.

    How avait fait construire trois remises entre la maison et le quai dont deux servaient à entreposer du matériel militaire.

  • 3 : La propriété de John Elliot

    Le lopin de terre adjacent à la propriété de How appartenait à John Elliot, un marchand de poisson. Il jouait un rôle actif dans la pêcherie de Canso depuis 1722.

    La propriété était utilisée pour le séchage de la morue. Les poissons vidés et salés étaient étalées sur des tables de bois appelées vigneaux. Ces constructions grossières étaient disposées en rangées séparées par les passages étroits qu’empruntaient les travailleurs de l’équipe à terre. Les vigneaux d’Elliot étaient inclinées vers la plage.

    On distingue encore leurs vestiges sous forme de cinq longues crêtes parallèles. En effectuant des fouilles, les archéologues ont mis au jour des fragments de bouteilles, de pots et de pipes en terre, objets qu’utilisaient les hommes de l’équipe à terre pour boire et fumer du tabac pendant qu’ils travaillaient.

  • 4 : La propriété d'Anne Cosby

    Cette propriété appartenait à Anne Cosby, veuve d’un ancien commandant de la garnison de l’île Grassy. Bien que l’on distingue encore les vestiges d’une grande maison, les archéologues ont concentré leurs recherches sur deux structures moins importantes près de la rive :

    • quoique invisibles maintenant, les vestiges d’une cabane de bois ont été mis au jour de même que des fragments de bouteilles et de pots remontant au 17e siècle. La cabane servait probablement de logement d’été pour les pêcheurs français qui auraient vraisemblablement utilisé les plages de galets de la langue de terre pour faire sécher le poisson.
    • près de la rive, une dépression profonde recélait les ruines d’une construction en bois ayant une cave en pierres. Les archéologues y ont trouvé surtout des fragments de pipes en terre et une pièce de jeu taillée à partir d’un morceau de porcelaine. Toute porte à croire que le bâtiment était l’une des onze tavernes que fréquentaient les hommes de l’équipe à terre et les soldats de l’île.

    Sur la flèche littorale s’étendant à l’extrémité de l’île, une batterie de canons fut mise en place pour défendre l’entrée du port. On y érigea également des casernes pour loger les soldats en garnison, mais c’étaient des bâtiments miteux et humides.

  • 5 : La propriété de Christopher Aldridge

    La propriété du capitaine Christopher Aldridge, commandant de la garnison en 1743, renfermes les ruines d’une maison importante qu’on peut encore voir à partir du sentier. Sur la pente menant au rivage, on distingué aussi cinq crêtes parallèles semblables à celles formées par les vigneaux d’Elliot. Il semblerait qu’Aldridge prenait part à la pêcherie commerciale contrairement au règlement militaire.

  • 6 : Les propriétés de Heron et de Jephson

    Du côté sud de l’île, deux lots adjacents appartenaient respectivement à Patrick Heron et à John Jephson, deux officiers de la garnison. Ils habitaient dans une maison jumelée près du fort. Le capitaine Heron était commandant intérimaire de la garnison au moment du raid français de 1744.

    Bien que la maison de Heron ait été construite à 30 mètres de la falaise, cette dernière s’est érodée de sorte que les fondations se trouvent aujourd’hui au bord du vide. Parmi les objets issus des fouilles, citons des fragments d’une assiette en faïence fine et des pièces de mousquet. Dans la cave, les archéologues ont découvert un gros éclat d’obus sans soute tiré par les forces navales françaises. À l’est de la maison, un grand champ marque l’ancien emplacement d’un potager.

  • 7 : Fort William Augustus

    Construit en 1724, le fort était armé d’une batterie de canons le long du mur sud dominant l’entrée du port. Le fort renfermait en outre une poudrière et deux casernes qui étaient entourées par une palissade de piquets constituant une seconde ligne de défense. Dans le mur nord-ouest, on distingue encore les vestiges de l’entrée du fort. Selon les registres de la garnison, le fort se détériora rapidement; il était déjà plus ou moins abandonné à l’époque de l’invasion française.

  • 8 : L'église de la garnison

    Entre le fort et le quai se trouve la terrasse la plus grande de l’île. Il y a avait à cet endroit un bâtiment important. Peut-être était-ce l’église de la garnison desservant à la fois la population civile et les militaires de l’île Grassy.

La chute de Canso

Peu de temps après la déclaration de guerre entre l’Angleterre et la France au début de 1744, des navires de guerre français quittaient la forteresse de Louisbourg. La flottille avait pour mission d’attaquer la colonie de Canso et de détruire la pêcherie. Au terme d’un bref bombardement, le capitaine Heron capitula. Les assaillants français pillèrent la collectivité et incendièrent tous les bâtiments.

Les vestiges de la colonie sont restés virtuellement intacts depuis cette date fatidique.