Location: Blackhead Road, St. John's, NL  |  47 31 20.59 N    52 37 24.12 W

Newfoundland and Labrador is the easternmost province in Canada. Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site is located on the most eastern point of land on the island of Newfoundland. The island is accessible by scheduled airline services that connect with most major centres in North America and northern Europe. Ferry access is via the Marine Atlantic service from Nova Scotia.


By air

St. John’s International Airport (YYT) serves the east coast of Newfoundland. Air Canada, WestJet, Porter, Provincial Airlines, and Air Labrador are the major airlines offering a variety of flights to St. John’s.

By ferry

Marine Atlantic operates car/passenger ferries year-round between North Sydney, Nova Scotia, and Port aux Basques on Newfoundland’s southwest coast. Ferry service between North Sydney and Argentia, on Newfoundland’s east coast, is offered from mid-June to late September. The crossing time from North Sydney to Port aux Basques is approximately 6 hours, and 11 hours from North Sydney to Argentia.

For ferry reservations, which are strongly recommended, and the most up-to-date ferry schedules and fares, please visit the Marine Atlantic website.

By car

Once in St. John’s, travel west on Water Street to Leslie Street. Turn left at the lights and go over the bridge, to the stop sign. Go straight through the intersection and continue for 15 km—you are now on Route 11, also known as Cape Spear Drive. At the end of the road is Cape Spear National Historic Site.

Location: Chemin Blackhead, St. John's, T-N-L  |  47 31 20.59 N    52 37 24.12 W

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador est la province la plus à l’est du Canada. Le lieu historique national du Phare-du-Cap-Spear est situé sur la pointe la plus à l'est de l'île de Terre-Neuve. L’île est desservie par des vols réguliers en provenance de la plupart des grands centres d’Amérique du Nord et d’Europe du Nord, ainsi que par les traversiers de Marine Atlantique depuis la Nouvelle-Écosse.


Par avion

L’aéroport international de St. John’s (YYT) dessert la côte Est de Terre-Neuve. Air Canada, WestJet, Porter, Provincial Airlines et Air Labrador sont les principaux transporteurs à proposer des vols à destination de St. John’s et de la province en général.

Par traversier

Les traversiers de Marine Atlantique relient toute l’année North Sydney (Nouvelle-Écosse) à Port aux Basques, sur la côte Sud-Ouest de Terre-Neuve. Un autre traversier relie North Sydney à Argentia, sur la côte Est de Terre-Neuve, mais seulement de la mi-juin à la fin septembre. La traversée de North Sydney à Port aux Basques dure environ 6 heures et North Sydney-Argentia environ 11 heures.

Pour faire une réservation, ce qui est fortement recommandé, et connaître l’horaire et le tarif des traversées, consulter le site Web de Marine Atlantique.

En voiture

Une fois à St. John’s, suivre la rue Water vers l’ouest jusqu’à l’angle de la rue Leslie; tourner à gauche au feu, traverser le pont et, après l’arrêt, parcourir 15 kilomètres sur la route 11 (ou route de Cap-Spear). La route aboutit au stationnement du lieu historique national du Canada du Cap-Spear.