From the mid 1800s the lighthouse at Cape Spear has flashed its message from this point of land. This was only the second light to offer aid along any of Newfoundland's rocky coasts, even though the island had at the time been populated for two centuries. A light was placed at Fort Amherst, at the entrance to St. John's Harbour, in 1810. In 1832, the newly created legislative assembly authorized the construction of lighthouses for the safety of coastal navigation. Because of its proximity to St. John's harbour, Cape Spear was chosen as the site for the new lighthouse in Newfoundland.

black and white image of a man cleaning a light mechanism
Frank Cantwell was the Light Keeper at Cape Spear from 1944-1968. He was the 5th generation of Cantwells to do the job.

Nicholas Croke and William Parker, two St. John's builders, won the contract for the lighthouse and work began in 1834 or early in 1835. The original building was a square, two-storey structure, with the light tower itself in the middle of the building. The light was operational by September 1836, and in 1878 a fog horn was added to help guide mariners into St. John's harbour.

The light for the tower was not new. Shipped from Scotland, the light had been in use since 1815 at the east coast lighthouse of Inchkeith. Curved reflectors concentrated and intensified the light rays from seven Argand burners, named for their Swiss inventor. Lamps and reflectors were arranged on a metal frame, which rotated slowly to produce a 17-second flash of white light, followed by 43 seconds of darkness. The movement of the light was controlled by a clockwork mechanism.

As technology progressed, the light underwent many changes. The last of the lights that resided in the old Cape Spear lighthouse was a glass dioptric system, installed in 1912. First lit by oil, acetylene was adopted in 1916, and electricity in 1930. In 1955, the dioptric system was moved to a new light tower, not far from the original lighthouse.

black and white image of the historic lighthouse
The lighthouse as it looked in the 1970s.

Today the Cape Spear lighthouse has been restored to its original appearance and refurnished as a light keeper's residence to the period of 1839. Cape Spear lighthouse is the oldest surviving lighthouse in Newfoundland and Labrador.

Depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle, le phare du cap Spear projette son faisceau lumineux du haut de ce promontoire. Il ne s'agit que du deuxième phare construit pour guider les marins le long des côtes rocheuses de Terre-Neuve; pourtant, en 1836, il y avait déjà deux siècles que l'île était peuplée! En 1810, un premier phare avait été installé à Fort Amherst, à l'entrée du havre de St. John's. En 1832, l'Assemblée législative nouvellement constituée lançait un programme de construction de phares pour rendre la navigation plus sécuritaire le long des côtes : c'est au cap Spear qu'il fut décidé de placer le deuxième phare, à cause de sa proximité du port de St. John's.

black and white image of a man cleaning a light mechanism
Frank Cantwell a été le gardien de phare au cap Spear de 1944 à 1968. Il était de la 5e génération de Cantwells à occuper ce poste.

C'est à Nicholas Croke et à William Parker, deux entrepreneurs de St. John's, qu'on a confié le soin de bâtir cet ouvrage. Les travaux ont débuté en 1834 ou au début de 1835. Le bâtiment original était une structure carrée de deux étages, dominée en son centre par la tour du phare. Le phare est entré en service en septembre 1836. En 1878, une corne de brume y était ajoutée pour aider les navigateurs à repérer l'entrée du havre de St. John's.

Le mécanisme du phare n'était pas neuf. Il avait été expédié du phare d'Inchkeith, sur la côte est de l'Écosse, où il servait depuis 1815. Des réflecteurs courbés concentraient et intensifiaient les feux de sept brûleurs Argand (du nom de leur inventeur Suisse). Brûleurs et réflecteurs étaient disposés sur un cadre métallique dont la rotation lente, assurée par un mécanisme d'horlogerie, produisait un faisceau de lumière blanche de 17 secondes suivi de 43 secondes d'obscurité.

Au gré des progrès de la technologie, le phare a connu diverses améliorations. Le dernier mécanisme en usage au phare du cap Spear a été un feu dioptrique en verre installé en 1912. D'abord alimenté au mazout, il a fonctionné à l'acétylène à partir de 1916, puis à l'électricité après 1930. En 1955, le mécanisme dioptrique était installé dans une nouvelle tour, à proximité du phare original.

black and white image of the historic lighthouse
Le phare dans les années 1970.

De nos jours, le premier phare du cap Spear a été restauré à son apparence d'environ 1839 et meublé à la façon des résidences de gardiens de phare à cette époque. Il est aujourd'hui le plus ancien phare encore intact de Terre-Neuve et Labrador.