During the Second World War, a very different kind of danger focused activities at Cape Spear. On a direct convoy route from Europe to the North American continent, Cape Spear took on a whole new significance. German submarines and raiders off the coast of the Island posed a considerable threat.

black and white image of a large cannon
One of the two 10" guns in firing position.

A coastal defence battery, equipped with two 10" guns was constructed here to protect the entrance to St. John's Harbour. The gun emplacements were built at the tip of the Cape and connected by underground passages to magazine and equipment rooms.

From 1941 to 1945, troops were stationed here, and barracks, mess halls and canteens were built. With the end of hostilities in 1945, most of the fortifications were demolished but the gun emplacements stand as a sombre reminder of that important period in our military history.

Members of the 103rd Coastal Artillery of the Royal Canadian Artillery were based at Cape Spear to maintain the 10" guns.

Today, the bunkers and gun barrels provide a sheltered view of the ocean. No longer watching for the enemy, visitors survey the horizon for whales, icebergs, seabirds and ships headed in and out of St. John's harbour.

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l'activité au cap Spear s'est portée sur un péril bien différent de celui posé par les récifs. Situé directement sur l'itinéraire des convois reliant l'Europe à l'Amérique du Nord, le cap a pris soudain une importance stratégique. Sous-marins et ravageurs allemands hantaient les eaux au large de l'île et s'en prenaient aux convois.

black and white image of a large cannon
L’un des deux canons de 10 pouces en position de tir.

Une batterie de défense côtière équipée de deux canons de 25 cm a donc été aménagée sur la pointe du cap pour protéger l'accès au port de St. John's. Ses emplacements de canons étaient reliés par des passages souterrains à une poudrière et à des salles d'équipement.

De 1941 à 1945, on y a stationné des troupes, pour lesquelles des casernes, des salles à manger et des cantines ont été construites. À la fin des hostilités en 1945, la plupart des fortifications ont été démolies, mais les emplacements des canons demeurent, sombres témoins de cette période critique de l'histoire militaire canadienne.

""
Des membres de la 103e Artillerie côtière de l’Artillerie royale canadienne étaient cantonnés au cap-Spear pour entretenir les canons de 10 pouces.

De nos jours, les bunkers et les fûts des canons abritent les visiteurs venus observer l'océan. Et quand ils scrutent l'horizon, ce n'est pas l'ennemi qu'ils observent& mais les baleines, les icebergs, les oiseaux de mer et le va-et-vient des navires de passage au port de St. John's.