With breathtaking views, migrating wildlife, and fascinating history, there is so much to discover on your own at Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site. Wander the site at your own pace with these self-guided activities.


Visit the Most Easterly Point in Canada

an aerial view of the most easterly point from the water

Cape Spear is famously located at the most extreme eastern corner of Canada. Follow the path from the Information Kiosk to an ocean lookout that provides the most unbelievable views of the Atlantic Ocean.

For early birds, this is a great place to watch the sunrise!






Explore Fort Cape Spear

A large coastal cannon

Walk through the underground remains of a Second World War coastal defense battery. Explore the exhibits to learn about the life of a gunner at Cape Spear and check out the two ten inch cannons that were once used to protect the entrance to St. John's Harbour.

Available 10:30 am to 5:30 pm during the operating season.





Nature Watching

a whale tail poking out of the water

The waters off the coast of Cape Spear create a special environment for some interesting natural wonders!

Bring your binoculars and keep your eyes on the sea for the chance to spot some amazing Atlantic animals such as humpback whales, minke whales, northern gannets, and puffins. Throughout June to August, you may even get the chance to see an iceberg!





Xplorers Program

Hey Kids! Do you like exploring, having adventures and lots of fun? If so, you can be a Parks Canada Xplorer! Pick up your Cape Spear Lighthouse Xplorers booklet at the Information Kiosk and get started on your first challenge. Complete the required number of tasks to receive a collectable souvenir.

The Parks Canada Xplorers Program is currently offered in more than 70 national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas across the country.

Xplorers program logo

Club Parka

Visiting with Young Children? Explore with Club Parka!

With the Club Parka booklet kids can explore, learn and have fun! The booklets are available on site. With the Photo Missions App, kids are invited to help Parka and Chirp find and photograph specific items found at our place! Download the app for free before visiting. Once one or both activities are completed, they will receive a reward!

Learn more about Parka and download other activities!

Share your adventures with us on social media!
Take a photo and share it with #CapeSpearNHS

Avec ses paysages à couper le souffle, ses animaux sauvages en migration et son histoire fascinante, le lieu historique national du Phare-de-Cap-Spear a tant de choses à vous faire découvrir. Parcourez le lieu à votre propre rythme grâce aux activités autoguidées suivantes.


Visitez l’endroit le plus à l’est du Canada

une vue aérienne du point le plus à l'est depuis l'eau

Le cap Spear est célèbre pour son emplacement à l’extrême est du Canada. Depuis le kiosque d’information, suivez le sentier qui mène à un belvédère offrant une vue imprenable sur l’océan Atlantique.

Pour les lève-tôt, c’est un endroit idéal pour admirer le lever du soleil!






Explorez le fort du cap Spear

Un grand canon côtier

Promenez-vous dans les vestiges souterrains d’une batterie de défense côtière de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Visitez les expositions pour en savoir plus sur la vie d’un artilleur au cap Spear et allez voir les deux canons de dix pouces qui servaient autrefois à protéger l’entrée du port de St. John’s.

Offert de 10 h 30 à 17 h 30 pendant la saison d’activité.





Observation de la nature

une queue de baleine sortant de l'eau

Les eaux au large de la côte du cap Spear créent un environnement spécial pour certaines merveilles de la nature!

Apportez vos jumelles et gardez les yeux sur la mer pour avoir la chance d’apercevoir certains animaux étonnants de l’Atlantique, comme des baleines à bosse, des petits rorquals, des fous de Bassan et des macareux. De juin à août, vous aurez peut-être même la chance de voir un iceberg!





Programme des Xplorateurs

Eh les enfants! Vous aimez explorer, vivre des aventures et avoir beaucoup de plaisir? Si c’est le cas, vous pouvez devenir des Xplorateurs de Parcs Canada! Passez chercher le cahier d’activités des Xplorateurs du cap Spear au kiosque d’information et lancez-vous dans votre premier défi. Si vous accomplissez le nombre requis de tâches, vous recevrez un souvenir à collectionner.

Le programme des Xplorateurs de Parcs Canada est actuellement offert dans plus de 70 parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation au pays.

Xplorers program logo

Club Parka

Vous venez visiter avec de jeunes enfants? Explorez avec le Club Parka!

Grâce au cahier d’activités du Club Parka, les enfants peuvent explorer, apprendre et s’amuser! Les cahiers sont distribués sur place. L’application Missions photos invite les enfants à aider Parka et Chirp à trouver et photographier certains éléments précis sur place! Téléchargez l’application gratuitement avant de commencer votre visite. Si les enfants réussissent l’une des activités ou les deux, ils reçoivent une récompense!

Apprenez-en plus sur Parka et téléchargez d’autres activités!

Faites-nous part de vos aventures sur les médias sociaux!
Prenez une photo et publiez-la avec le mot-clic #LHNCapSpear.