Safety is everyone's responsibility. At Parks Canada, we do our part to make sure you can have a safe visit by assessing the risks, managing hazards, and making sure that safety information is freely available to everyone. You can do your part by seeking out the information you need to stay safe and make well informed decisions while enjoying Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site. Make sure you are fully prepared for whatever activities you choose to participate in so you can have a safe, enjoyable and memorable visit.

Explore Cape Spear, Safely!

The terrain and coastline at Cape Spear are treacherous. High winds, irregular tides and dynamic ocean actions make for a dangerous combination when visitors stray from the designated hiking trails. Though Park Staff are on site, visitors must also exercise caution and responsibility for their own safety.

DO NOT venture too close to the edge of cliffs or the hazardous rocky coastline. Visitors must stay on the designated hiking trails and keep off the rocks near the waters edge. Parks Canada Staff and the site signs indicate zones in which visitors can safely enjoy the scenic ocean landscape.


Emergency Contacts:

    Dial 9-1-1

    Parks Canada has 24/7 Emergency Dispatch Centres that receive reports and assist in the management of safety, wildlife, law enforcement or wildfire incidents.

    • 1-877-852-3100
    • 1-709-533-6090

    Other emergency contacts:

    • Police Department: 1-709-729-8000
    • Fire Department: 1-709-722-1234

    Note that cell coverage may be limited in some areas of the site.

La sécurité est l’affaire de tous. À Parcs Canada, nous fournissons notre part d’efforts pour veiller à ce que votre visite soit sécuritaire en évaluant les risques, en gérant les dangers et en offrant une information librement accessible à tous. En tant que visiteurs, vous pouvez également contribuer à cette démarche en vous assurant d’obtenir l’information dont vous avez besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des décisions éclairées, tout en appréciant le Lieu historique national du Phare-de-Cap-Spear. Pour vous assurer d’une visite sécuritaire et mémorable, vous devez être bien préparé avant d’entreprendre toute activité à laquelle vous souhaitez participer.

Explorez Cap-Spear, sans risque!

Le terrain et le littoral du lieu historique national du Canada du Cap-Spear sont traîtres. Les vents forts, les marées irrégulières et la puissance de l'océan s'associent pour poser de graves dangers aux visiteurs qui s'écartent des sentiers désignés. Même si les employés de Parcs Canada sont sur place pour surveiller les allées et venues des visiteurs, ceux-ci sont invités à agir avec prudence et à assumer la responsabilité de leur propre sécurité.

Éviter de trop s'approcher du bord des falaises ou des rochers périlleux de la côte. RESTER EN TOUT TEMPS sur les sentiers désignés et éviter de s'aventurer sur les rochers près du bord de l'eau. Des employés de Parcs Canada et des affiches indiquent aux visiteurs les zones où ils peuvent jouir en sécurité de pittoresques panoramas sur l'océan.


Coordonnées pour les informations d’urgence:

    Composez le 9-1-1

    Parcs Canada dispose des centres de répartition des demandes d'urgence 24/7 prêts à recevoir des rapports et à aider à la gestion d'incidents reliés à l'arrière-pays, la faune ou les feux de forêts à travers le réseau de parcs.

    • 1-877-852-3100
    • 1-709-533-6090

    Autres contacts d'urgence:

    • GRC: 1-709-729-8000
    • Services des incendies: 1-709-722-1234

    Notez que la couverture cellulaire est peut-être limitée dans certains endroits du parc.