What to know before you visit

Over the next five years, Parks Canada will invest $2.6 billion to rehabilitate infrastructure assets within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada.

This historic investment supports conservation while promoting visitor experience and making our infrastructure safer and more appealing to visitors.

When visiting Signal Hill National Historic Site, you may encounter one or more construction zones or reduced services while we complete this important work. Please plan ahead before you travel to avoid inconvenience. Consult the following list of current infrastructure projects at Signal Hill National Historic Site to see if any road or facility work might impact your trip.


Upcoming projects

Electrical Infrastructure Upgrades
Due to start November 1, 2019
This project is to upgrade electrical wiring to Cabot Tower as well as exterior lighting for the tower and the Visitor Centre. The project will also include electrical upgrades for the Quonset hut located along Burma Road near George’s Pond.


Completed projects

North Head Trail Rehabilitation
Minor visitor impact
Some redesign and repairs are required for this popular visitor attraction. Investments will result in improved visitor safety and enjoyment opportunities through the elimination of rock fall hazards and the construction of new, robust structures such as stairs and railings.

Upper Parking Lot Rehabilitation
Major visitor impact
The overall objective of this project is to recapitalize the parking lot and associated sidewalks and walkways at Signal Hill NHS in an effort to improve the overall visitor experience.  This project will result in a new asphalt surface for the parking area, improved drainage, and delineation of designated parking locations (i.e. painted lines), improved signage for traffic flow and a re-design of sidewalk areas for accessibility.  

Visitor Centre Annex Rehabilitation
Minor visitor impact
The overall objective of this project is to modify and expand upon the Signal Hill NHS Visitor Centre Annex which requires a number of investments to meet both current and anticipated user needs. The Annex Rehabilitation project will result in improved visitor access, expanded kitchen facilities, additional accessible washrooms and an outside open air meeting/gathering deck.  

Cabot Tower Electrical Rehabilitation
Major visitor impact
This project will remove and replace the existing underground electrical service to Cabot Tower. The new electrical line will meet current standards as well as anticipated future electrical service. 

Cabot Tower Roof Replacement
Major visitor impact
The purpose of this project is to carry out essential repairs to the roof structure on Cabot Tower at Signal Hill NHS.  This historic structure, constructed between 1898 and 1900, is an important cultural resource that has sustained water damage on the interior ceiling, walls and floors.  The repairs to the roof of the structure will result in a sealed environment, protecting interior installations and valuable cultural resources. 

Maintenance Building Rehabilitation
Minor visitor impact
The purpose of this project is to effect repairs to the existing maintenance building located at Signal Hill NHS.  This project will see a new roof surface and new siding installed on the structure, thus extending its useful life another 20 years or more.  

Replacement of Guiderail on Access Road to Cabot Tower
Major visitor impact
This project will result in the replacement of sections of the guide-rail on the access road to the top of Signal Hill.

Visitor Centre Ventilation System 
Minor visitor impact
The overall objective of this project is the design and installation of a new air conditioning ventilation system for the Signal Hill Visitor Centre and Annex will improve the visitor experience at this facility. 

Walkway Rehabilitation at Cabot Tower
Minor visitor impact
The overall objective of this project is to replace sections of the existing walkway to Cabot Tower and the adjacent Duke of York Battery to improve accessibility for all visitors.

Replacement of the Queen's Battery Barracks Roofing Material
Minor visitor impact
This project will result in the replacement of shingles on the Queen's Battery Barracks roof, ensuring continued protection of this valuable cultural asset. .

Water Distribution System Rehabilitation
Minor visitor impact
The overall objective of this project is the rehabilitation of the water distribution system. The project will see the removal and replacement of the existing holding tanks and the installation of new, higher capacity/efficiency pressure pumps at the nearby pump house.  


For real time updates, follow us on Twitter @ParksCanadaNL.

Ce qu'il faut savoir avant votre visite

Au cour des cinq prochaines années, Parcs Canada investira 2,6 milliards de dollars pour remettre en état les intrastructures des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux, et des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Cet investissement historique appuie la conservation tout en favorisant use expérience mémorable pour les visiteurs et en accroissant la sécurité et l'attrait de notre infrastructure.

Au cours de votre passage dans le lieu historique national de Signal Hill, vous pourriez devoir traverser un ou plusieurs chantiers de construction ou zones de services réduits pendant la réalisation de ces travaux importants. Veuillez planifier à l'avance pour éviter des désagréments. Consultez la liste suivante de projets d'infrastructure en cours dans le lieu historique national de Signal Hill pour vérifier si des travaux d'amélioration des routes ou des installations pourraient avoir une incidence sur votre voyage.


Projets à venir

Modernisation de l'Infrastructure Électrique
Devrait commencer le 1 novembre 2019.
Ce projet consiste à la modernisation du câblage électrique de la tour Cabot, de l’éclairage extérieur de la tour et du centre d’accueil. Les travaux comprendront aussi des mises à niveau électriques dans le bâtiment de type Quonset situé en bordure de la Burma Road près de l’étang George.


Projets terminés

Remise en état du sentier du Cap Nord
Impact mineur sur les visiteurs
Certains travaux de réaménagement et de réparation sont requis pour cette attraction populaire auprès des visiteurs. Les investissements réalisés permettront d’améliorer la sécurité des visiteurs et leurs possibilités d’agrément grâce à l’élimination des risques d’éboulis et à la construction de nouvelles structures robustes, notamment des escaliers et des garde-corps.

Réfection du stationnement supérieur
Impact majeur sur les visiteurs
L’objectif global de ce projet consiste à refaire le stationnement ainsi que les trottoirs et les allées piétonnières qui s’y rattachent au lieu historique national (LHN) de Signal Hill afin d’améliorer l’expérience du visiteur dans son ensemble. Au terme de ce projet, le stationnement aura une nouvelle couche d’asphalte, le drainage sera amélioré, les places de stationnement désignées seront délimitées (lignes peintes), la signalisation sera améliorée pour favoriser la circulation et les trottoirs destinés à favoriser l’accessibilité des handicapés seront redessinés.

Réhabilitation de l’annexe du centre d’accueil
Impact mineur sur les visiteurs
L’objectif global de ce projet est de modifier et d’agrandir l’annexe du centre d’accueil du LHN de Signal Hill, qui requiert d’importants investissements pour répondre aux besoins actuels et prévus des usagers. Le projet de réhabilitation de l’annexe aboutira à un accès amélioré des visiteurs, à des installations de cuisine agrandies, à l’ajout des toilettes accessibles aux handicapés et à l’aménagement d’une terrasse de rassemblement ouverte extérieure.

Remise en état de l’électricité de la tour Cabot
Impact majeur sur les visiteurs
Ce projet permettra d’enlever et de remplacer l’alimentation électrique souterraine vers la tour Cabot. Les nouvelles lignes électriques seront conformes aux normes actuelles et à la future alimentation électrique prévue.

Remplacement de la couverture de la tour Cabot
Impact majeur sur les visiteurs
Ce projet a pour but d’effectuer des réparations essentielles à la structure du toit sur la tour Cabot au LHN de Signal Hill. Cet ouvrage historique, construit entre 1898 et 1900, est une importante ressource culturelle qui a été endommagée par l’eau à l’intérieur du plafond, des murs et des planchers. Les réparations à la couverture de la structure auront pour résultat un environnement étanche, ce qui protégera les installations intérieures et les précieuses ressources culturelles que la tour renferme.

Réhabilitation du bâtiment d’entretien
Impact mineur sur les visiteurs
Ce projet a pour but d’effectuer des réparations au bâtiment d’entretien existant situé au LHN de Signal Hill. Il en résultera un nouveau revêtement sur la couverture et les murs de la structure, ce qui prolongera sa durée de vie utile d’au moins 20 ans.

Remplacement du garde corps sur le chemin d’accès à la tour Cabot
Impact majeur sur les visiteurs
Ce projet donnera lieu au remplacement de sections du garde corps le long du chemin d’accès au sommet de la colline Signal.

Système de ventilation du centre d’accueil
Impact mineur sur les visiteurs
L’objectif global de ce projet est la conception et l’installation d’un nouveau système de climatisation et de ventilation au centre d’accueil du LHN de Signal Hill et à l’annexe du bâtiment, afin d’améliorer l’expérience du visiteur à cette installation.

Remise en état de l’allée piétonnière menant à la tour Cabot
Impact mineur sur les visiteurs
L’objectif global de ce projet consiste à remplacer des sections de l’allée piétonnière existante menant à la tour Cabot et à la batterie du Duc d’York afin d’améliorer l’accessibilité pour tous les visiteurs.

Remplacement des matériaux de couverture des casernes de la batterie de la Reine
Impact mineur sur les visiteurs
Ce projet consistera à remplacer des bardeaux sur la couverture des casernes de la batterie de la Reine, afin d’assurer la protection continue de ce précieux bien culturel.

Remise en état du réseau de distribution d’eau
Impact mineur sur les visiteurs
L’objectif global de ce projet est la remise en état du réseau de distribution d’eau. Le projet consistera à enlever et à remplacer les bassins de rétention ainsi qu’à installer de nouvelles pompes à pression à grande capacité et à haut rendement à la station de pompage voisine.  


Pour obtenir des renseignements en temps réel, suivez-nous sur Twitter @ParcsCanadaTNL.