Hockey and the Royal Newfoundland Regiment

Transcript

Parks Canada Logo

[Music plays and soliders prepare for the day by gun cleaning in the barracks.]

"

Narator: During the First World War, the young men of the Newfoundland Regiment, were " stationed in Pleasantville, only a short distance away from Signal Hill It was here that they slept, trained, and prepared to be sent to war and to fulfill their duty to King and Country,

"For these young men, many just teenagers, it was an incredible sacrifice. " "They spent their days in grueling training exercises and drills - a process of hardening " "that aimed to prepare the men for the combat and conflict that awaited them overseas. "

[Close up of young soldiers' faces and details of their uniform. The soldiers manuver to position for firing drills.]

[Music]

Lieutenant: Section! To your front! 100 yards! Fire!

[gunshots]

"

Narator: However, there was one exception in this difficult time while they prepared for war

" "

one time when the spirit of youth could return to these soldiers and they could be boys again " "The Newfoundland Regiment Hockey team was a source of joy, camaraderie, and pride. " "A source of light in those long, dark, days.. months... and years. " "In 1917, the Newfoundland Regiment Hockey team played exhibition games against their " "great rival, Canada, in Nova Scotia while awaiting convoy transport to England. " "here little common ground could be found between the two countries, the " "one thing that brought them together was their shared love of the game... " ...of hockey

"

Parks Canada is proud to share the story of the Newfoundland Regiment Hockey team " at Signal Hill National Historic Site. " For more information visit our website at pc.gc.ca/signalhill

"

Parks Canada logo.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by Parks Canada, 2016.

Canada wordmark.


During the First World War, the young men of the Newfoundland Regiment, while awaiting transport to England, were stationed in Pleasantville, only a short distance away from Signal Hill. It was here that they slept, trained, and prepared to be sent to war and fulfil their duty to King and Country. For those young men, many just teenagers, it was an incredible sacrifice. They spent their days in grueling training exercises and drills – a process of hardening that aimed to prepare the men for the combat and conflict that awaited them overseas. These men were forced to leave the carefree days of their youth behind.

However, there was one exception in these difficult days of preparation for war. The Newfoundland Regiment Hockey team was a source of joy, camaraderie, and pride. It was a time when the spirit of youth could return and these soldiers could be boys again.

Royal Newfoundland Regiment Hockey Team The Newfoundland Regiment Hockey Team
© The Rooms Provincial Archives, St. John's, NL

Great Rivals: Newfoundland and Canada

Canada and Newfoundland were both rivals both in the sphere of the North Atlantic fishery and their perceived position inside the British Empire. In the early 20th century, their shared and separate roads into the modern era were immeasurably shaped by their participation and sacrifice in the Great War and intertwined in their shared love of hockey. The intersection of Canada and Newfoundland's love of the game at this moment in history stands as a commonality and perhaps a small sign post on the road to Confederation.

During the Great War, both the Regiments comprising the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) and the Royal Newfoundland Regiment (RNR) fielded ice hockey teams. From historical record, there are a number of occasions where the teams from these two countries met on the ice in exhibition during the war. For example, in 1917, the Newfoundland Regiment Hockey team played against the CEF and Canadian amateur teams in Halifiax and Windsor, Nova Scotia, during a 10-week wait for convoy transport to England. These public matches served as a living poster of one of the positive aspects in the armed services to aid in recruitment. Where little common ground could be found between the two countries at the time, the one thing that brought them together was their shared love of the game -of hockey.

Parks Canada is proud to share the story of the Newfoundland Regiment Hockey team at Signal Hill National Historic Site.

L’hockey et le Royal Newfoundland Regiment

Transcription

Logo de Parcs Canada

[Nous entendons de la musique, et dans la caserne, des soldats se préparent pour la journée en nettoyant leurs armes.]

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les jeunes hommes du régiment connu alors sous le nom de Newfoundland Regiment ont été basés à Pleasantville, tout près de ce qui constitue aujourd’hui le lieu historique national de Signal Hill. C’est là qu’ils ont dormi, se sont entraînés et ont rempli leur devoir pour le roi et la patrie en attendant d’être envoyés au front.

Pour ces jeunes hommes, dont beaucoup n’étaient que des adolescents, ce fut un sacrifice énorme. Ils ont passé des jours à exécuter des manœuvres et à faire des exercices d’entraînement exténuants : on voulait ainsi les endurcir et les préparer au combat et au conflit qui les attendaient outre-mer.

[Nous voyons un gros plan de visages de jeunes soldats, puis des détails de leur uniforme. Les soldats se placent pour les exercices de tirs.]

[Nous entendons de la musique.]

Le lieutenant: À l'avant! 100 pieds! Tirez!

[Nous entendons des coups de feu.]

Toutefois, au fil des dures journées passées à se préparer pour la guerre, ils profitèrent parfois d’un moment de répit.

Dans un contexte particulier, ces hommes ont pu redevenir des adolescents et profiter de leur jeunesse. L’équipe de hockey du Newfoundland Regiment fut une source de joie, de camaraderie et de fierté… un rayon de soleil perçant des jours, des mois et des années longs et sombres. En 1917, alors que les soldats attendaient, en Nouvelle-Écosse, le convoi qui allait les mener en Angleterre, l’équipe de hockey du Newfoundland Regiment a joué des parties hors-concours contre son grand rival, l’équipe du Canada. Les deux administrations n’avaient pas grand-chose en commun, mais leur passion collective pour le hockey allait réussir à les rapprocher.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est fière de raconter l’histoire de l’équipe de hockey du Newfoundland Regiment au lieu historique national de Signal Hill. " Pour en savoir davantage, consultez notre site Web au pc.gc.ca/signalhill.

"

Logo de Parcs Canada.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par Parcs Canada, 2016.

Mot-symbole « Canada ».


Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les jeunes hommes du régiment connu alors sous le nom de Newfoundland Regiment, étaient basés à Pleasantville, tout près de Signal Hill. C’était là qu’ils dormaient, s’entraînaient et se préparaient avant d’être envoyés à la guerre pour remplir leur devoir à l’égard du roi et de la patrie. Pour ces jeunes hommes, dont nombre d’entre eux n’étaient que des adolescents, il s’agissait d’un sacrifice énorme. Ils passaient leur journée à exécuter des manœuvres et des exercices d’entraînement exténuants; ces méthodes visaient à les endurcir et à les préparer aux combats et aux conflits qui les attendaient à l’étranger. Pour ces hommes, les jours d’insouciance de leur jeunesse étaient désormais révolus.

Toutefois, les journées passées à se préparer pour la guerre n’étaient pas seulement remplies de moments difficiles. L’équipe de hockey du Newfoundland Regiment était une source de joie, de camaraderie et de fierté. Lorsqu’ils jouaient au hockey, ces soldats pouvaient se permettre de vivre leur jeunesse et de redevenir des enfants.

Royal Newfoundland Regiment Hockey Team L’équipe de hockey du Royal Newfoundland Regiment
© La Rooms Provincial Archives Division, St. John's, T. N.

La grande rivalité entre Terre Neuve et le Canada

Le Canada et Terre Neuve entretenaient une rivalité tant dans le domaine de la pêche dans le nord de l’Atlantique qu’au sujet de la place qu’ils croyaient occuper au sein de l’Empire britannique. Au début du XXe siècle, leurs routes communes et distinctes vers l’ère moderne ont été façonnées incommensurablement par leur participation à la Grande Guerre et par les sacrifices qu’ils y ont faits, et se sont entrecroisées en raison de leur passion commune pour le hockey. L’amour pour ce jeu, à un tel moment dans l’histoire, constitue un point commun entre le Canada et Terre Neuve, et peut être même un des éléments précurseurs de la Confédération.

Pendant la Grande Guerre, le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) et le Royal Newfoundland Regiment (RNR) ont tous deux formé des équipes de hockey sur glace. Selon des documents historiques, les équipes de ces deux pays se sont affrontées sur la glace à maintes reprises, durant la guerre, lors de matchs d’exhibition. Par exemple, pendant dix semaines, en 1917, l’équipe du Newfoundland Regiment Hockey a joué contre le CEC et des équipes canadiennes d’amateurs à Halifiax et à Windsor, en Nouvelle Écosse, en attendant d’être transportée en Angleterre. Ces matchs publics ont servi d’affiche vivante en faisant ressortir l’un des côtés positifs des forces armées et en favorisant le recrutement. À cette époque, lorsque les deux pays n’arrivaient pas à trouver un terrain d’entente, la seule chose qui pouvait les rapprocher était leur passion commune pour le hockey.

Parcs Canada est fier de partager l’histoire de l’équipe de hockey du Newfoundland Regiment au lieu historique national de Signal Hill.