As St. John’s most popular landmark, Signal Hill recalls the town’s historic past and communications triumph, as well as offering coastal hikes and colourful performances against sweeping views overlooking the Atlantic. Signal Hill was the site of St. John’s harbour defences from the 17th century to the Second World War and where Guglielmo Marconi received the world’s first transatlantic wireless signal in 1901.

Featured things to do

Fire the Noon Day Gun

Come fire the Noon Day gun this summer! Book this special program and be part of the privileged few who can claim to have fired a cannon on Signal Hill.

Signal Hill Tattoo

Experience the pride and solemn power of Newfoundland military past through its history of music, maneuvers and pageantry.

Take a Hike

There are several hiking trails at Signal Hill National Historic Site, all of which boast panoramic views and captivating scenery.

Parks Canada's sites nearby

  • Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site
    Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site

    Atop a headland at North America’s easternmost point, Cape Spear Lighthouse overlooks a parade of drifting icebergs and waters teeming with whales and porpoises. Its restored interior offers a glimpse into 19th century lightkeeping along Newfoundland’s unforgiving coast.

  • Castle Hill National Historic Site

    An impressive fort stands sentinel above a seaside town. Stone walls and cast iron cannons are testaments to a turbulent past. This is Castle Hill National Historic site—bastion to the struggle for a continent.

  • Hawthorne Cottage National Historic Site

    Hawthorne Cottage was the Newfoundland home of legendary Arctic explorer Captain Bob Bartlett. See exhibits and artefacts from his voyages while admiring the nearly 200-year-old cottage, a fine example of the picturesque architectural style in Newfoundland.

  • Ryan Premises National Historic Site
    Ryan Premises National Historic Site

    On Bonavista’s scenic harbour, knowledgeable interpreters, diverse exhibits and displays within the Ryan Premises’ restored buildings bring to life a 19th century Newfoundland fishing enterprise and tell the tale of Canada’s East Coast fisheries dating back 500 years.

  • Terra Nova National Park

    A dramatic Atlantic shoreline, fringed in long headlands and fjords with views of whales and icebergs, gives way to marshland, tranquil ponds and wildlife-filled boreal forest – Terra Nova is accessible, wild Newfoundland for outdoor enthusiasts and nature-lovers of every age.

Hours of operation

May 20th to October 10th, 2017
Opening times vary.

Complete schedule
.

Fees

Free admission in 2017. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list

Contact us

Telephone: 709-772-5367
Email: signal.hill@pc.gc.ca

Attrait le plus populaire de St. John’s, Signal Hill rappelle le passé historique de la ville, et le rôle marquant qu’elle a joué dans l’histoire des communications. Elle offre également des sentiers de randonnée côtiers, des paysages hauts en couleur ainsi qu’une vue panoramique sur l’Atlantique. Signal Hill a été au cœur de la défense du port de St. John’s du XVIIe siècle jusqu’à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, et c’est là que Guglielmo Marconi a reçu le tout premier signal transatlantique sans fil, en 1901.

En vedette

Heures d’ouverture

Fermé pour la saison.

Horaire complet

 

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite pour les jeunes de 17 ans et moins. 

Les autres frais s’appliquent
Tarification complète

 

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 709-772-5367
Courriel : signal.hill@pc.gc.ca

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national du Phare-de-Cap-Spear
    Lieu historique national du Phare-de-Cap-Spear

    Au sommet d’un cap, au point situé le plus à l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, le phare du cap Spear surplombe un défilé d’icebergs à la dérive et des eaux peuplées de baleines et de marsouins. Son intérieur restauré vous offre un aperçu du quotidien d’un gardien de phare au XIXe siècle, sur la côte impitoyable de Terre-Neuve.

  • Lieu historique national de Castle Hill

    Un fort spectaculaire se dressant en sentinelle devant une ville côtière pittoresque. Des murs en pierre et des canons en fer qui font foi d’un passé turbulent. Découvrez le lieu historique national de Castle Hill, un bastion rappelant la lutte pour obtenir le contrôle du continent.

  • Lieu historique national du Cottage-Hawthorne

    Le cottage Hawthorne était la demeure terre-neuvienne du capitaine Bob Bartlett. Visitez des expositions et examinez des artéfacts des voyages de cet explorateur légendaire de l’Arctique. Admirez ce cottage de près de 200 ans, qui se révèle un excellent exemple de l’architecture pittoresque de Terre-Neuve.

  • Lieu historique national de l'Établissement-Ryan
    Lieu historique national de l'Établissement-Ryan

    Le port de Bonavista est un endroit panoramique où une entreprise de pêche terre-neuvienne du XIXe siècle reprend vie. Dans les édifices restaurés de l’établissement Ryan, des animateurs-guides qualifiés vous attendent. Parcourez une variété d’expositions et de présentoirs. Venez découvrir les 500 ans d’histoire de la pêche sur la côte est du Canada!

  • Parc national Terra-Nova

    Le littoral atlantique se révèle spectaculaire, bordé de longs promontoires et de fjords offrant des vues imprenables sur les baleines et les glaciers. Marais, étangs aux eaux calmes et forêt boréale à la faune variée prennent ensuite le relais. Le parc rend la beauté sauvage de Terre-Neuve accessible aux passionnés de plein air et aux amoureux de la nature de tous âges.