Openings and services differ across the country. Please check the Parks Canada national information portal dedicated to COVID-19 for regular updates.

Important information about your visit to Red Bay National Historic Site

The health and safety of visitors and employees is of utmost importance to the Government of Canada. Parks Canada is following the advice of public health experts and continues to make every effort to limit the spread of COVID-19. Visitors should follow the advice of public health experts, including necessary hygiene practices and physical distancing of two metres from others.

Visiting a national historic site will be different than in previous years. Some national historic sites may reduce the number of visitors allowed to enter at one time to ensure physical distancing and some areas, rooms or buildings may remain closed for health and safety reasons. Some national historic sites may remain closed.

Visitors are reminded that if they plan to travel outside of their home province to visit a Parks Canada place, they must follow the applicable provincial or territorial travel restrictions. Some provinces and territories allow only essential or limited inbound travel at this time while others require those entering to follow a period of self-isolation.

The Parks Canada website provides detailed information on what locations are open, what visitors can expect, how to prepare for a visit and what services may be available. Visitors should check pc.gc.ca before they travel.

What’s open (updated: July 13, 2020)
  • Visitor Interpretation Centre: visitors have access to exhibits and washroom facilities, interpreters are available inside to answer questions.
  • Scheduled access to view the Chalupa limited to 2-3 hours daily.
  • Access to Saddle Island will be available July 20, 2020. Interpreters will be stationed on Saddle Island starting July 20th.
  • Please plan ahead via email or phone, (709) 920-2142.
What’s closed (updated: July 13, 2020)
  • There are no guided tours.
Your safety when visiting
  • Keep a healthy space of 2 metres between you and others.
  • Be extra cautious when engaging in any activities to avoid injury and/or getting lost to help minimize the demands placed on emergency response, search and rescue teams, and on the health care system.
  • Leave no trace when you visit outdoor spaces. Please take all your garbage with you and help keep these places clean.
  • Abide by all travel advisories.

 

Stay Informed

Please visit pc.gc.ca and follow Parks Canada’s social media channels for information and updates on the status of all Parks Canada places

Les ouvertures et services varient selon les régions du pays. Veuillez consulter le portail national d'information de Parcs Canada dédié à COVID-19 pour des mises à jour régulières.

Informations importantes sur votre viste au Lieu historique national de Red Bay

La santé et la sécurité des visiteurs et des employés sont de la plus haute importance pour le gouvernement du Canada. Parcs Canada suit les conseils des spécialistes de la santé publique et continue à faire tout son possible pour limiter la propagation de la COVID-19. Les visiteurs devraient suivre les conseils des spécialistes de la santé publique, y compris en ce qui concerne les bonnes pratiques d’hygiène et la distanciation physique de deux mètres.

La visite d’un lieu historique national sera différente de ce qu’elle était par le passé. Certains lieux historiques nationaux pourraient réduire le nombre de visiteurs autorisés à entrer en même temps afin de respecter la distanciation physique et certains secteurs, salles ou bâtiments pourraient demeurer fermés pour des raisons de santé et de sécurité. Certains lieux historiques nationaux pourraient rester fermés.

On rappelle aux visiteurs que s’ils planifient voyager à l’extérieur de leur province d’origine pour visiter un site de Parcs Canada, ils doivent respecter les restrictions provinciales ou territoriales applicables en matière de voyage. Certaines provinces et certains territoires permettent actuellement seulement les déplacements essentiels ou des voyages entrants limités tandis que d’autres exigent que les gens qui entrent sur leur territoire observent une période d’isolement.

Le site Web de Parcs Canada fournit des renseignements détaillés sur quels endroits sont ouverts, ce à quoi les visiteurs peuvent s’attendre, comment se préparer pour une visite et quels services sont offerts. Les visiteurs devraient consulter le site pc.gc.ca avant leur départ.

Ce qui est ouvert (mise à jour : 13 juillet 2020)
  • Centre d’interprétation des visiteurs : les visiteurs ont accès aux expositions et aux toilettes, des interprètes sont disponibles à l’intérieur pour répondre aux questions.
  • Accès prévu pour voir le Chalupa limité à 2-3 heures par jour.
  • L’accès à l’Île Saddle sera disponible le 20 juillet 2020. Des interprètes seront postés sur l’Île Saddle à partir du 20 juillet.
  • Le nopmbre de visiteurs sera limité, appelez au (709)-920-2142 pour planifier votre visite ou envoyez-nous un courriel,
Ce qui est fermé (mise à jour : 13 juillet 2020)
  • Les visites guidées ne seront pas offertes pour le moment.    
Votre sécurité lors de votre visite
  • Gardez une distance de 2 mètres entre vous et les autres.
  • Faites preuve de prudence additionnelle lors de toutes activités afin d’éviter de vous blesser ou de vous perdre pour minimiser la pression sur les équipes de recherche et sauvetage et sur le réseau de la santé.
  • Ne laissez aucune trace quand vous visitez les espaces extérieurs. Veuillez rapporter vos déchets avec vous et nous aider à garder ces endroits propres.
  • Respectez tous les conseils aux voyageurs.

Restez informé :

Veuillez consulter le site pc.gc.ca et suivre les canaux des médias sociaux de Parcs Canada pour obtenir des renseignements et des mises à jour sur la situation de tous les sites de Parcs Canada.