Port au Choix National Historic Site Port au Choix National Historic Site

Hiking in Port au Choix

On the windswept Northern Peninsula of Newfoundland, walk in the footsteps of the ancient Aboriginal cultures, hunters and gatherers who thrived on the sea’s bounty and inhabited this unique limestone geology. Three diverse hiking trails are available at Port au Choix: Follow the Dorset trail to experience the rugged geology and rare botany of the limestone barrens and with arctic plant species found nowhere else in Canada. On the Philip’s Garden Trail, explore the ancient remains of one of the largest Dorset Paleoeskimo settlements in the Eastern Canadian Arctic. The excavated site contains at least 50 house depressions and has yielded thousands of artifacts. Scour the rocks for fossils, and search for caribou, seals, seabirds, and whales along the Point Riche trail, leading to an octagonal lighthouse built in 1892. Search for the series of sculptures that celebrate the Aboriginal heritage of this remarkable place.

Experience Dates: Year-round.

Parks Canada Xplorers at Port au Choix

Curious explorers and passionate adventurers from ages six to 11 can take part in the free Xplorers program at Port au Choix. It’s a whole family adventure as children receive an Xplorers booklet filled with fun activities, learning about the four ancient cultures that once lived off the sea’s bounty. Go on a fossil hunt across the unusual limestone barrens. Learn the Snowy Owl hop, enjoy a game of I Spy and discover rare and fascinating natural wonders. After completing the experiences, children will receive an Xplorers certificate and souvenir. The Parks Canada Xplorers program is also available in Newfoundland at Gros Morne National Park, L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site and Red Bay National Historic Site. Visit them all! Each site brings new challenges and the Xplorers souvenirs are unique with each stop.

Experience Dates: Operating season (June to mid-September)

Explora Port au Choix App

Discover ancient Aboriginal settlements and the unique limestone barrens of Port au Choix, with an interpreter in your pocket! This GPS-triggered guided tour app is like having your own local expert lead you through the historic site’s archaeological riches, pointing out ancient burial grounds and exploring prehistoric tools and rare arctic plants. You’ll find photos of original artifacts from the four ancient Aboriginal cultures who once inhabited the coast, as well as images of rare arctic plants, some found nowhere else in Canada. Keep a look out for the threatened Fernald's braya plant, but please take nothing but pictures. Engage with the site’s people, places and regional wildlife through fun quizzes, and take the time to uncover site’s many mysteries at your own pace. Explora Port au Choix is Parks Canada’s official guided tour app for Port au Choix National Historic Site.

Experience Dates: Operating season (June to mid-September)

Special Commercial Group Tour Requests

Searching for new destinations and experiences? Let us guide you in discovering what Parks Canada in Western Newfoundland and Labrador has to offer. Explore Gros Morne National Park UNESCO World Heritage Site, Port au Choix National Historic Site, L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site UNESCO World Heritage Site, Red Bay National Historic Site UNESCO World Heritage Site and Torngat Mountains National Park as we assist you in creating memorable outings for your clients.

Click here for our full list of commercial group tour experiences including information on the NEW Parks Canada Western Newfoundland and Labrador Commercial Entry Pass.

 

Events

National Aboriginal Day

June 21, 2016

Canada Day

July 1, 2016
Join Parks Canada staff, visitors, and local residents for Aboriginal games and Canada Day cake at Port au Choix National Historic Site. Your park pass is free on July 1!
Community events will also be taking place at the Maritime Archaic Indian Burial Ground, the French Rooms Cultural Centre, and throughout the town of Port au Choix.

Parks Day

July 16, 2016
1:00 – 3:00 p.m. Activities will include:
Campfire and Games at Dorset Doorway at Point Riche
Limestone Barrens Plant Activity & Exhibit Visitor Centre
Parks Day Cake and Refreshments

Partez en randonnée à Port au Choix

Sur la côte balayée par les vents de la péninsule Great Northern de Terre-Neuve, suivez les traces des anciennes cultures autochtones, des chasseurs-cueilleurs qui ont profité de la générosité de l’océan pour s’établir dans cet environnement unique marqué par une géologie calcaire. Trois sentiers de randonnée s’offrent à vous à Port au Choix. Sur le parcours accidenté du sentier Dorset, vous croiserez la flore éparse des landes calcaires ainsi que certaines plantes arctiques qu’on ne retrouve nulle part ailleurs au Canada Le sentier Philip’s Garden vous permettra d’explorer les plus importants vestiges d’habitations paléoesquimaudes Dorset dans la partie est de l’Arctique canadien. Le site, qui a été l’objet de fouilles, contient au moins 50 dépressions associées à des habitations et des milliers d’artéfacts. Parcourez les surfaces rocheuses du sentier Point Riche à la recherche de fossiles, de caribous, de phoques, d’oiseaux marins et de baleines. Ce sentier vous mènera à un phare octogonal construit en 1892. Recherchez la collection de sculptures qui célèbrent l’héritage autochtone de cet endroit remarquable.

À l’année.

Faites partie des Xplorateurs de Parcs Canada à Port au Choix

Les explorateurs curieux et les aventuriers passionnés, âgés de 6 à 11 ans peuvent participer gratuitement au programme Xplorateurs de Port au Choix. Il s’agit d’une aventure pour toute la famille. Vos enfants recevront un livret Xplorateurs rempli d’activités amusantes qui vous guideront dans votre découverte des quatre anciennes cultures qui ont jadis vécu des richesses de l’océan. Partez à la chasse aux fossiles sur les landes calcaires si inusitées. Apprenez comment le harfang des neiges prend son envol ou jouez à l’espion pour découvrir des merveilles naturelles aussi rares que fascinantes. Lorsque vos enfants auront terminé leurs activités, ils recevront un certificat officiel des Xplorateurs de Parcs Canada et un souvenir. Le programme Xplorateurs de Parcs Canada est aussi offert ailleurs à Terre-Neuve, au parc national du Gros-Morne ainsi qu’aux lieux historiques nationaux de L’Anse aux Meadows et de Red Bay. Prenez le temps de tout visiter. Chaque lieu propose de nouveaux défis. De plus, les souvenirs du programme Xplorateurs diffèrent d’un endroit à l’autre.

Saison d’ouverture (de juin jusqu’à la mi-septembre).

Découvrez Port au Choix avec Explora

Découvrez les peuplements autochtones et les landes calcaires uniques de Port au Choix, votre propre guide-interprète dans votre poche. Effectuer une visite guidée activée par GPS équivaut à faire appel à un expert local. L’application Explora vous fera découvrir les richesses archéologiques du lieu historique, vous indiquera où se trouvent les anciens lieux de sépulture et vous aidera à repérer les outils préhistoriques et les plantes arctiques rares. Vous remarquerez des photos d’artéfacts originaux de quatre cultures anciennes autochtones qui ont jadis habité la côte, de même que des images de plantes arctiques rares qu’on ne trouve nulle part ailleurs au Canada. Ouvrez l’œil. Vous pourriez apercevoir la braya de Fernald, une espèce menacée. Vous ne devez surtout pas la cueillir, mais vous pouvez bien sûr la photographier. Tissez des liens avec les habitants du lieu. Découvrez les divers endroits et la faune sauvage régionale, en répondant à des questionnaires amusants. Prenez le temps de percer les nombreux mystères du site à votre propre rythme. Explora est l’application officielle de Parcs Canada pour la visite guidée du lieu historique national Port au Choix

Demandes de visites de groupes commerciaux spéciaux

Vous cherchez de nouvelles destinations et expériences? Laissez-nous vous guider dans la découverte de ce que Parcs Canada dans l'ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a à offrir. Découvrez le parc national du Gros-Morne classé au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, le lieu historique national de Port au Choix, le site historique national de L'Anse-aux-Meadows et le parc national des Monts-Torngat. des sorties mémorables pour vos clients.

Cliquez ici pour consulter notre liste complète d'expériences de visites guidées de groupes commerciaux, y compris de l'information sur la NOUVELLE carte d'entrée commerciale de Parcs Canada dans l'ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.