Introduction

This report presents an account of the public consultation period that informed the development of the L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site (NHS) management plan. Two meetings were held: A stakeholders’ meeting on June 22, 2016Footnote 1 and an open house for the general public at the site Visitor Centre on June 5, 2017. Information on the management plan was also available online, with an invitation for interested parties to comment on the draft document and its key strategies until August 2017. All comments and suggestions received during the consultation process will receive special consideration while the management plan is being finalized.

The in-person meetings provided community engagement opportunities between Parks Canada managers and staff, area residents, and stakeholders. The face-to-face meetings allowed parties in attendance to update each other on matters of interest to L’Anse aux Meadows NHS. Formally, we received no comments or suggestions in writing.

Parks Canada’s Western Newfoundland and Labrador Field Unit extends our sincere thanks to those who came out to meet us in person to share their memories, ideas, comments, and concerns with the planning team.

Purpose and Objectives 

The purpose of the public consultation process is to:

  • Inform target groups and the general public about the management plan review.
  • Gather their views on the issues and challenges, seek comments on the draft vision, key strategies, objectives and targets planned for achieving the expected outcomes in the coming years.
  • Provide a mechanism for participants to communicate any concerns, knowledge, ideas or suggestions that might influence the content of the 2018-2028 management plan for L’Anse aux Meadows NHS.

Specifically, the consultations were intended to meet the following objectives:

  • Provide an opportunity, particularly for regional stakeholders and other target groups in particular, to participate actively in national historic site management decisions based on the directions set out in the draft management plan.
  • Create an atmosphere of mutual trust and exchange by favouring a process that values different points of view and open discussion.
  • Continue to foster productive and enduring relationships between Parks Canada and site stakeholders through a consultation process that recalls the mission of L’Anse aux Meadows NHS with respect to outreach, education, visitor experience and protection of the site. 
  • Foster harmonious integration of the national historic site into its surroundings and the recognition of its importance for all Canadians.

Public Consultation Process

The Western Newfoundland and Labrador Field Unit management team are working collaboratively to complete the management plan for L’Anse aux Meadows NHS. The results of the planning committee’s reflections were published in a document entitled Draft Management Plan for L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site (January 2017). This document is available in both of Canada’s official languages.

The draft management plan covers the following points:

  • The significance of L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site and UNESCO World Heritage Site
  • Planning context
  • Planning priorities
  • A new vision
  • Strategic directions for the future of L’Anse aux Meadows

Four key strategies are:

  • Increasing visitation and exposure through strategic marketing, engagement and outreach
  • Engaging visitors through investments in, and enhancements of, the site’s Viking Encampment living history program
  • Preserving the unique landscapes, habitats, viewing points, cultural resources, and outstanding universal value of the site
  • Maintaining strong relationships with stakeholders, including Indigenous groups and local communities

Interested parties or groups were also able to request a copy of the draft management plan by telephone (709-458-2417) or by email: pc.planlam.pc@pc.gc.ca. Information was also available online

Parks Canada presented these key strategies at two consultation sessions: a stakeholders’ meeting (by invitation) on June 22, 2016, and an open house for the general public on June 5, 2017.

Information sessions with targeted groups and the public

These meetings provided participants with:

  • An introduction to the draft management plan
  • A venue in which to verbally express their questions, concerns, comments and first impressions about the proposals.
  • Instructions on the proper procedure for formulating additional oral or written comments
  • An occasion to inform target groups and the public on National Historic Site management
  • An account of meetings with the target groups and the public
  • An opportunity for interested public and stakeholders from the region to come together and discuss the site, ask questions of staff, and make connections together
  • An opportunity to discuss maps and potential land use measures with Parks Canada staff
  • An opportunity to discuss concerns and issues related to national historic site regulations and operations

Twenty-three key stakeholders in the fields of business, culture, tourism, and community development, area town councils, and members of the 2003 management planning team were invited to the June 2016 stakeholders’ meeting to discuss the draft management direction and vision elements.

Letters of invitation to the stakeholders’ meeting were also sent to area Indigenous governments and organisations, including the Qalipu First Nation, Miawpukek First Nation, Innu Nation, Nunatsiavut Government, and NunatuKavut, with an offer to meet separately if desired.

All households in the communities of L'Anse aux Meadows, Hay Cove, Straitsview, Noddy Bay, Gunners Cove, St. Lunaire-Griquet, Raleigh, Ship Cove, and St Anthony received an invitation by mail to the open house on June 2017. Stakeholders were also contacted by mail, email, and/or phone. Information on the open house was available on the site website, and posted at the Visitor Centre, available to interested on-site visitors several days before the event. Approximately 85 people attended the open house.

Target groups and individuals participated largely by asking questions and discussing their particular concerns and interests with Parks Canada staff and other community members and organisations in attendance. No written comments, recommendations or suggestions were submitted (a comment box was available). The open house in particular was as much a social gathering as a meeting – local community members were pleased to come out to reminisce and share their experiences of L’Anse aux Meadows. No direct concerns were brought to the Parks Canada staff in attendance at the open house.

These consultations provided opportunities to review and discuss the draft management plan, including its key strategies and vision elements. General support and positive feedback was received from partners, stakeholders and the general public. As such, the key strategies, objectives and targets detailed in the L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site Management Plan reflect what was heard during the consultation period.

Parks Canada staff in attendance at the consultations included the Field Unit Superintendent, WNLFU Partnering and Engagement Officers (2), L’Anse aux Meadows NHS Site Supervisor, NHS Product Development Officer (based in L’Anse aux Meadows), a Planner from National Office, and the Manager for Management Policy and Operations. Site staff were also in attendance at the open house.

Summary of the Main Points Expressed during the Public Consultation Process

The following is a summary of the key elements expressed orally by participants in the public consultation process. Comments are organised below as they pertain to each of the management plan’s key strategies.

Key Strategy 1: Increasing Visitation and Exposure through Strategic Marketing, Engagement, and Outreach

Destination development
  • Consultation participants acknowledged that L’Anse aux Meadows NHS and UNESCO World Heritage Site is the destination attraction in the area for most visitors. There is also a diverse range of visitor experience offers and attractions throughout the region, and a need for further destination development and marketing to a wider variety of audiences.
  • Participants identified a need to link the three nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites together (Gros Morne National Park and Red Bay National Historic Site are well within driving distance) as a way to encourage tourism north of Gros Morne National Park.
  • Participants identified the need for better cellular and internet coverage throughout the region in order to support tourism marketing tools and visitor-based promotion via social media.
  • Participants noted that hiking is one of the top 20 activities drawing visitors to Newfoundland. A range of stakeholders are developing the Iceberg Trail, connecting an extensive network of existing community hiking trails. Participants noted that there are world-class hiking and walking opportunities in the area, with amazing ‘signature’ vistas. There are also options to connect Parks Canada trails at L’Anse aux Meadows with the Iceberg Trail hiking network (the terminus of the Appalachian Trail’s Newfoundland section is in close proximity to the site).
Site Season and Service Offer
  • Participants suggested the further incorporation of cultural components and oral histories to the interpretation available at L’Anse aux Meadows NHS, to deliver a full visitor experience.
  • Participants recommended that Parks Canada extend the operating season and schedule for the site, even with a smaller complement of staff. A self-guided experience could be available to the archaeological site. Visitors come to visit L’Anse aux Meadows from around the world, including during the shoulder seasons.
Pre-trip planning
  • Participants encouraged Parks Canada to further develop trip-planning content for the L’Anse aux Meadows NHS website, and to encourage site staff to highlight the variety of tourism offers in the region when engaging with visitors.
Partnering
  • Stakeholders and businesses in tourism were very interested in partnering with Parks Canada to further mutual tourism objectives, strengthening the regional tourism offer.
  • The Historic Sites Association noted their interest in promoting L’Anse aux Meadows beyond the site itself, for example during outreach events or travelling exhibits in the off-season. They also expressed interest providing further support to site activities that showcase local artisans and crafters.
  • Participants suggested partnering with Norstead to interpret broader stories from the Viking age and to foster joint site promotion to visitors and commercial groups.

Key Strategy 2: Engaging Visitors through an Enhanced Viking Experience

Skills Development and Succession Planning
  • Further staff training is required to develop and maintain the quality of visitor experience at site.
  • Parks Canada could support local tourism and strengthen relationships by offering joint training to providers where possible, e.g. QVE training, interpretation training, visits with archaeologists, etc.
  • It was suggested that Parks Canada partner with the College of the North Atlantic in St. Anthony to offer a course on Norse interpretation.
  • Further options for local residents to apply and qualify for employment at the site was suggested.
  • Participants also mentioned that further engagement with the regional schools could benefit both succession planning and foster long-term interest in the site. 

Key Strategy 3: Preserving the Unique Landscapes, Habitats, Viewscapes, and Cultural Resources

  • Stakeholder participants supported the proposed “Cultural Landscape and Land-use Guidance Document,” noting that this tool is relevant to many tourism operators in the area, and would be very beneficial in guiding any future tourism proposals in the region.

Key Strategy 4: Maintaining a Strong Relationship with Local Communities

  • Many families in the area have long histories tied to this landscape. People told us about their experiences with traditional activities. Many residents had worked for Parks Canada at L’Anse aux Meadows NHS over the years, and/or worked with the archaeology team and the Ingstads. Many individuals and organisations have close ties with Parks Canada, both as an organisation and individually among staff.
  • Traditional activities and land use is important to local residents. Rules and regulations governing the management of national historic sites were discussed, including permitted activities within the site boundary. Participants recommended Parks Canada improve communications to the public with regards to permits and allowances for traditional activities, such as duck hunting.
  • Participants suggested hosting more local artists involved in regional and Norse-related craft through the heritage shop and in on-site demonstrations or activities.

The report of the stakeholder meeting noted on page 1 (What We Heard (June 2016) provides a comprehensive list of main points of interest to partners, stakeholders, and the general public.

Conclusion

The Western Newfoundland and Labrador Field Unit has worked over many years to engage communities interested and invested in the significance of L’Anse aux Meadows NHS and UNESCO World Heritage Site. This field unit has long placed a high priority on community engagement, cultivating positive working relationships with many of the nearby communities and stakeholders on the Great Northern Peninsula. The long history of these relationships has created strong ties and connections with both individuals and organisations. For many of our Parks Canada staff, the amazing story of human exploration and settlement at L’Anse aux Meadows NHS – as well as the years of work at the archaeological site with the Ingstads – is more than just a fantastic tale: it is intertwined with their family history and background. As such, the ideas and opinions of our partners, stakeholders, and the general public provides us with extremely valuable feedback to create a long-term vision for the site that fosters mutual interest and cooperation. Parks Canada is committed to giving due consideration to the concerns and recommendations expressed during the public consultation process.

The vast majority of comments received from the target groups and the general public were very positive, particularly concerning the vision and key strategies of the draft management plan. These comments reassure Parks Canada that its strategies are well-chosen.

As feasible, changes made to the draft management plan will respond to the expectations expressed during all the face-to-face meetings.

The management plan for L’Anse Aux Meadows NHS is scheduled to be completed by spring 2018. Once finalised, the Superintendent of Western Newfoundland and Labrador Field Unit and the CEO of Parks Canada will submit the management plan to the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Canada for approval, and once approved it will be tabled in Parliament.

We conclude by thanking all those who participated in the public consultations and on whom we rely for support during the production of the 2018-2028 Management Plan.

Geoffrey Hancock
Field Unit Superintendent
Western Newfoundland and Labrador Field Unit
Parks Canada

Introduction

Le présent rapport rend compte de la période de consultation publique qui a éclairé l’élaboration du plan directeur du lieu historique national du Canada (LHN) de L’Anse aux Meadows. Deux réunions ont eu lieu : une réunion des intervenants le 22 juin 2016Note de pied de page 1 et une journée portes-ouvertes pour le grand public au centre d’accueil du site le 5 juin 2017. L’information sur le plan directeur était aussi disponible en ligne, et les parties intéressées étaient invitées à commenter l’ébauche du document et ses principales stratégies jusqu’en août 2017. Les commentaires et suggestions reçus lors du processus de consultation feront l’objet d’une attention particulière alors qu’on met la dernière main au plan directeur.

Les réunions en personne ont permis aux gestionnaires et au personnel de Parcs Canada, aux résidents de la région et aux intervenants de se mobiliser dans la collectivité. Les réunions en personne ont permis aux parties présentes de se mettre au fait des questions d’intérêt pour le LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows. Nous n’avons officiellement reçu aucun commentaire ou suggestion par écrit.

Les employés de l’Unité de gestion de l’Ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador de Parcs Canada remercient sincèrement tous ceux et celles qui sont venus les rencontrer en personne pour raconter leurs souvenirs et faire part de leurs idées, commentaires et préoccupations à l’équipe de planification.

But et objectifs 

Le but du processus de consultation publique était :

  • d’informer les groupes visés et le public de l’examen du plan directeur;
  • d’obtenir l’opinion des participants sur les enjeux et les difficultés, de réunir des commentaires sur la version provisoire de la vision, ainsi que sur les stratégies, objectifs et cibles clés prévus pour parvenir aux résultats escomptés pendant les prochaines années;
  • permettre aux participants de communiquer des préoccupations, des connaissances, des idées ou suggestions qui pourraient influer sur le contenu du plan directeur 2018-2028 pour le LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows.

De façon plus précise, la consultation vise les objectifs suivants :

  • Permettre notamment aux intervenants régionaux et à d’autres groupes cibles de participer activement aux décisions de gestion relatives aux lieux historiques nationaux selon les orientations définies dans l’ébauche de plan directeur;
  • Créer un climat de confiance mutuelle et d’échange en favorisant un processus qui valorise les différences de points de vue et la discussion ouverte;
  • Continuer de favoriser des relations productives et durables entre Parcs Canada et les intervenants du lieu grâce à un processus de consultation qui rappelle la mission du LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows en matière de sensibilisation, d’éducation, d’expérience du visiteur et de protection du lieu; 
  • Favoriser l’intégration harmonieuse du lieu historique national dans son environnement et la reconnaissance de son importance pour tous les Canadiens.

Processus de consultation publique

Le personnel de l’équipe de direction de l’Unité de gestion de l’Ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador travaille en collaboration pour terminer le plan directeur du LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows. Les résultats des réflexions du comité de planification ont été publiés dans un document intitulé Draft Management Plan for L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site (janvier 2017). Ce document est disponible dans les deux langues officielles du Canada.

L’ébauche de plan directeur traite des points suivants :

  • l’importance du site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et du lieu historique national de L’Anse aux Meadows;
  • le contexte de planification;
  • les priorités à l’égard de la planification;
  • une nouvelle vision;
  • les orientations stratégiques pour l’avenir de L’Anse aux Meadows.

Les quatre stratégies clés sont les suivantes :

  • Accroître l’affluence et la visibilité par l’entremise d’activités stratégiques de marketing, de mobilisation et de sensibilisation;
  • Mobiliser les visiteurs en investissant dans le programme de reconstitution historique de campement viking du lieu historique national du Canada Viking et en y apportant des améliorations;
  • Préserver les paysages, l’habitat, les panoramas, les ressources culturelles et la valeur universelle exceptionnelle uniques du lieu;
  • Entretenir de solides relations avec les intervenants, y compris les groupes autochtones et les collectivités locales.

Les parties ou groupes intéressés ont aussi pu demander une copie de l’ébauche du plan directeur par téléphone (709-458-2417) ou par courriel (pc.planlam.pc@pc.gc.ca). L’information était également affichée en ligne.

Parcs Canada a présenté ces stratégies clés lors de deux séances de consultation : une réunion des intervenants (sur invitation) le 22 juin 2016 et une journée portes ouvertes pour le grand public le 5 juin 2017.

Séances d’information avec les groupes cibles et le public

Ces réunions ont fourni aux participants :

  • une présentation de l’ébauche du plan directeur;
  • un endroit où ils peuvent exprimer verbalement leurs questions, leurs préoccupations, leurs commentaires et leurs premières impressions sur les propositions;
  • des instructions sur la procédure à suivre pour formuler des observations orales ou écrites supplémentaires;
  • une occasion d’informer les groupes cibles et le public sur la gestion des lieux historiques nationaux;
  • un compte-rendu des réunions avec les groupes cibles et le public;
  • une occasion pour le public intéressé et les intervenants de la région de se réunir et de discuter du lieu, de poser des questions au personnel et de créer des liens ensemble;
  • une occasion de discuter de cartes et de possibles mesures d’utilisation des terres avec le personnel de Parcs Canada;
  • une occasion de discuter des préoccupations et des enjeux liés aux règlements et aux activités du lieu historique national.

Vingt-trois intervenants clés dans les domaines des affaires, de la culture, du tourisme et du développement communautaire, des membres des conseils municipaux de la région et de l’équipe du plan directeur de 2003 ont été invités à la réunion des intervenants de juin 2016 en vue de discuter de l’ébauche de plan directeur et des éléments de vision.

Des lettres d’invitation à la réunion des intervenants ont aussi été envoyées aux gouvernements et organisations autochtones de la région, y compris la Première Nation Qalipu, la Première Nation de Miawpukek, la Nation innue, les gouvernements du Nunatsiavut et du NunatuKavut, lors de rencontres distinctes si désiré.

Tous les ménages des collectivités de L’Anse aux Meadows, Hay Cove, Straitsview, Noddy Bay, Gunners Cove, St. Lunaire-Griquet, Raleigh, Ship Cove et St Anthony ont reçu une invitation par la poste à la journée portes ouvertes de juin 2017. Les intervenants ont aussi été contactés par courrier, par courriel ou par téléphone. L’information sur la journée portes ouvertes était affichée sur le site Web du LHN et au centre d’accueil, à la disposition des visiteurs intéressés sur place plusieurs jours avant l’événement. Environ 85 personnes ont assisté à la journée portes ouvertes.

Les groupes cibles et les personnes ont surtout participé en posant des questions et en discutant de leurs préoccupations et de leurs intérêts avec le personnel de Parcs Canada et les autres membres et organismes de la collectivité présents. Aucun commentaire, recommandation ou suggestion n’a été soumis par écrit (une boîte de commentaires était disponible). La journée portes ouvertes a été autant une rencontre sociale qu’une réunion; les membres de la communauté locale étaient heureux de venir se remémorer et communiquer leurs expériences de L’Anse aux Meadows. Aucune préoccupation directe n’a été signalée au personnel de Parcs Canada présent lors de la journée portes ouvertes.

Ces consultations ont permis d’examiner l’ébauche du plan directeur et d’en discuter, y compris ses stratégies clés et ses éléments de vision. Les partenaires, les intervenants et le grand public ont manifesté leur appui général et ont formulé des commentaires positifs. Ainsi, les stratégies, les objectifs et les cibles clés détaillés dans le plan directeur du lieu historique national de L’Anse aux Meadows reflètent ce qui a été entendu durant la période de consultation.

Le directeur de l’Unité de gestion, les agents de Partenariats et engagement de l’Unité de gestion de l’Ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (2), le superviseur du LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows, l’agent de développement de produits (basé à L’Anse aux Meadows), un planificateur du bureau national et le directeur, Politiques et opérations de gestion et d’autres employés de Parcs Canada ont participé aux consultations. Le personnel du lieu était aussi présent lors de la journée portes ouvertes.

Résumé des principaux points soulevés lors du processus de consultation publique

Voici un résumé des principaux points soulevés de vive voix par les participants durant le processus de consultation publique. Les commentaires sont énumérés ci-dessous sous chacune des stratégies clés du plan directeur.

Stratégie clé 1 : Accroître l’affluence et la visibilité par l’entremise d’activités stratégiques de marketing, de mobilisation et de sensibilisation

Valorisation de la destination
  • Les participants à la consultation ont reconnu que le site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et le LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows sont la destination de prédilection de la plupart des visiteurs dans cette région. Il existe aussi un large éventail d’offres d’expériences et d’attractions pour les visiteurs dans la région, ainsi qu’un besoin de valorisation de la destination et de marketing auprès d’un plus grand nombre de publics.
  • Les participants ont mentionné la nécessité de relier les trois sites du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO situés à proximité (le parc national du Gros-Morne et le lieu historique national de Red Bay sont facilement accessibles en voiture) afin d’encourager le tourisme au nord du parc national du Gros-Morne.
  • Les participants ont indiqué la nécessité d’une meilleure couverture cellulaire et Internet dans la région pour faciliter l’utilisation des outils de marketing touristique et la promotion axée sur les visiteurs sur les médias sociaux.
  • Les participants ont souligné que la randonnée pédestre est l’une des 20 activités qui attirent le plus de visiteurs à Terre-Neuve. Divers intervenants aménagent l’Iceberg Trail, qui relie un vaste réseau de sentiers de randonnée pédestre communautaires existants. Les participants ont noté qu’il est possible de pratiquer la randonnée et la marche sur des sites de renommée mondiale dans la région, avec des paysages exceptionnels. Il existe aussi des options pour relier les sentiers de Parcs Canada à L’Anse aux Meadows au réseau de sentiers de l’Iceberg Trail (l’extrémité du tronçon terre-neuvien du Sentier des Appalaches est située à proximité du lieu).
Saison du site et offre de service
  • Les participants ont suggéré d’intégrer davantage d’éléments culturels et d’histoires orales à l’interprétation offerte au LHN de L’Anse-aux-Meadows afin d’offrir une expérience complète aux visiteurs.
  • Les participants ont recommandé que Parcs Canada prolonge la saison et l’horaire du lieu, même avec un effectif réduit. Une expérience autoguidée pourrait être offerte au site archéologique. Des visiteurs du monde entier se rendent à L’Anse aux Meadows, y compris pendant les saisons intermédiaires.
Planification avant départ
  • Les participants ont encouragé Parcs Canada à élaborer davantage de contenu de planification avant départ pour le site Web du LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows et à inciter le personnel à souligner la variété des offres touristiques dans la région quand il s’adresse aux visiteurs.
Partenariats
  • Les intervenants et les entreprises du secteur du tourisme étaient très désireux de s’associer à Parcs Canada pour atteindre des objectifs touristiques communs et consolider l’offre touristique régionale.
  • L’Association des lieux historiques a fait part de son intérêt à promouvoir L’Anse aux Meadows, notamment lors d’activités de sensibilisation ou d’expositions itinérantes pendant la saison morte. Ils ont aussi exprimé leur intérêt à soutenir davantage les activités sur le lieu qui mettent en valeur les artisans locaux.
  • Les participants ont suggéré de s’associer à Norstead pour l’interprétation d’un plus vaste éventail d’histoires de l’époque viking et favoriser la promotion conjointe du lieu auprès des visiteurs et des groupes commerciaux.

Stratégie clé 2 : Mobiliser les visiteurs grâce une expérience améliorée de la vie des Vikings

Perfectionnement des compétences et planification de la relève
  • Le personnel devrait suivre une formation supplémentaire pour développer et maintenir la qualité de l’expérience du visiteur sur le lieu.
  • Parcs Canada pourrait appuyer le tourisme local et renforcer les relations en offrant, dans la mesure du possible, une formation conjointe aux fournisseurs, p. ex. une formation sur l’expérience de qualité du visiteur, une formation en interprétation, des visites avec des archéologues, etc.
  • Certains ont suggéré que Parcs Canada s’associe au Collège de l’Atlantique Nord à St. Anthony pour offrir un cours sur l’interprétation du site norrois.
  • D’autres options ont été proposées pour permettre aux résidents de postuler et de se qualifier pour un emploi sur le lieu.
  • Les participants ont aussi mentionné qu’un engagement accru auprès des écoles régionales pourrait profiter à la fois à la planification de la relève et à l’intérêt à long terme pour le lieu. 

Stratégie clé 3 : Préserver les paysages, les habitats, les panoramas et les ressources culturelles uniques

  • Les participants ont appuyé la proposition de document d’orientation sur les paysages culturels et l’utilisation des terres, faisant remarquer que cet outil est pertinent pour de nombreux exploitants d’entreprises touristiques de la région et qu’il serait très utile pour orienter toute proposition touristique future dans la région.

Stratégie clé 4 : Entretenir des liens solides avec les communautés locales

  • L’histoire de nombreuses familles de la région est ancrée dans le paysage. Les gens nous ont parlé de leurs expériences des activités traditionnelles. De nombreux résidents ont travaillé pour Parcs Canada au LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows au fil des ans ou avec l’équipe d’archéologie et les Ingstad. Plusieurs personnes et organisations entretiennent des liens étroits avec Parcs Canada, à la fois en tant qu’organisation et qu’individu.
  • Les activités traditionnelles et l’utilisation des terres sont importantes pour les résidents. Les règles et règlements régissant la gestion des lieux historiques nationaux ont été discutés, y compris les activités permises dans les limites du lieu. Les participants ont recommandé que Parcs Canada améliore les communications avec le public en ce qui concerne les permis et les allocations pour les activités traditionnelles, comme la chasse au canard.
  • Les participants ont suggéré d’accueillir plus d’artistes locaux pratiquant l’artisanat régional et nordique par le biais de la boutique de l’Association des lieux historiques et de démonstrations ou d’activités sur place.

Le rapport de la réunion des intervenants mentionné à la page 1 (Ce que nous avons entendu, juin 2016) fournit une liste complète des principaux points d’intérêt pour les partenaires, les intervenants et le grand public.

Conclusion

L’Unité de gestion de l’Ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador s’efforce depuis de nombreuses années à mobiliser les collectivités intéressées et investies dans l’importance du site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et du LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows. Elle accorde depuis longtemps une grande priorité à la mobilisation communautaire et cultive des relations de travail positives avec bon nombre des collectivités et des intervenants voisins de la péninsule Great Northern. La longue histoire de ces relations a tissé des liens et des connexions solides avec les individus et les organisations. Pour plusieurs membres du personnel de Parcs Canada, l’incroyable histoire de l’exploration et de l’établissement humains au LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows, ainsi que les années de travail sur le site archéologique avec les Ingstad, est bien plus qu’un récit fantastique; c’est l’histoire de leur famille et un récit de leur passé. Ainsi, les idées et les opinions de nos partenaires, des intervenants et du grand public sont de précieux renseignements qui nous permettrons de créer une vision à long terme du lieu qui favorise l’intérêt mutuel et la coopération. Parcs Canada s’engage à tenir dûment compte des préoccupations et des recommandations exprimées au cours du processus de consultation publique.

La grande majorité des commentaires formulés par les groupes cibles et le grand public sont très positifs, surtout en ce qui à trait à la vision et aux stratégies clés énoncés dans l’ébauche du plan directeur. Ces commentaires rassurent Parcs Canada sur le fait que ses stratégies sont bien choisies.

Dans la mesure du possible, les modifications apportées à l’ébauche du plan directeur répondront aux attentes exprimées lors dess réunions en personne.

Le plan directeur du LHN de L’Anse aux Meadows devrait être achevé au printemps 2018. Une fois terminé, le directeur de l’Unité de gestion de l’Ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et le directeur général de Parcs Canada soumettront le plan directeur au ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique du Canada pour approbation. Une fois approuvé, il sera déposé au Parlement.

Nous concluons en remerciant tous ceux et celles qui ont participé aux consultations publiques et sur qui nous comptons pour obtenir de l’aide lors de la production du plan directeur 2018-2028.

Geoffrey Hancock
Directeur d’unité de gestion
Unité de gestion de l’Ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Parcs Canada