The garden at Hawthorne Cottage is currently closed due to construction and is inaccessible to the public. The cottage will remain open for visitors during this work.

What to know before you visit

Over the next five years, Parks Canada will invest $2.6 billion to rehabilitate infrastructure assets within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada.

This historic investment supports conservation while promoting visitor experience and making our infrastructure safer and more appealing to visitors.

When visiting Hawthorne Cottage National Historic Site, you may encounter construction zones or reduced services while we complete this important work. Please plan ahead before you travel to avoid inconvenience. Consult the following list of current infrastructure projects to see if any facility work might impact your trip.


Ongoing projects

Site Recapitalization
Construction commenced Summer 2018
This project will result in Hawthorne Cottage National Historic Site being completely rehabilitated, thereby extending its life and ensuring its structural and commemorative integrity now and in the future.

Le jardin du cottage-Hawthorne est actuellement fermé en raison de travaux de construction et n'est pas accessible au public. Le cottage restera ouvert aux visiteurs pendant la durée des travaux.

Ce qu'il faut savoir avant votre visite

Au cour des cinq prochaines années, Parcs Canada investira 2,6 milliards de dollars pour remettre en état les intrastructures des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux, et des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Cet investissement historique appuie la conservation tout en favorisant use expérience mémorable pour les visiteurs et en accroissant la sécurité et l'attrait de notre infrastructure.

Au cours de votre passage dans le lieu historique national du Cottage-Hawthorne vous pourriez devoir traverser un chantier de construction ou zones de services réduits pendant la réalisation de ces travaux importants. Veuillez planifier à l'avance pour éviter des désagréments. Consultez la liste suivante de projets d'infrastructure en cours pour vérifier si des travaux d'amélioration des installations pourraient avoir une incidence sur votre voyage.


Projets en cours

Réfection du lieu
Les travaux de construction ont commencé à l’été 2018.
Le projet vise à remettre en état l’ensemble du lieu historique national du Cottage-Hawthorne, assurant la prolongation de sa durée de vie ainsi que son intégrité structurelle et commémorative, aujourd’hui et demain.