Location: 1 South Street, Brigus, NL  |  47 32 6.54 N    53 12 35.53 W

Newfoundland and Labrador is the easternmost province in Canada. Hawthorne Cottage National Historic Site is located in the scenic community of Brigus on the island of Newfoundland. The island is accessible by scheduled airline services that connect with most major centres in North America and northern Europe. Ferry access is via the Marine Atlantic service from Nova Scotia.


By air

St. John’s International Airport (YYT) serves the east coast of Newfoundland. Air Canada, WestJet, Porter, Provincial Airlines, and Air Labrador are the major airlines offering a variety of flights to St. John’s.

By ferry

Marine Atlantic operates car/passenger ferries year-round between North Sydney, Nova Scotia, and Port aux Basques on Newfoundland’s southwest coast. Ferry service between North Sydney and Argentia, on Newfoundland’s east coast, is offered from mid-June to late September. The crossing time from North Sydney to Port aux Basques is approximately 6 hours, and 11 hours from North Sydney to Argentia.

For ferry reservations, which are strongly recommended, and the most up-to-date ferry schedules and fares, please visit the Marine Atlantic website.

By car

Hawthorne Cottage National Historic Site is located in Brigus which is approximately a one-hour drive west of St. John's. Turn right off the TransCanada highway onto Route 70. Travel approximately 18km (11 miles), turn right again at Route 60 and follow the Parks Canada signs to Brigus. Hawthorne Cottage is located at the corner of South Street and Irishtown Road in Brigus.

Location: 1, rue South, Brigus, T-N-L  |  47 32 6.54 N    53 12 35.53 W

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador est la province la plus à l’est du Canada. Le lieu historique national du Cottage-Hawthorne se trouve dans la pittoresque localité de Brigus sur l'île de Terre-Neuve. L’île est desservie par des vols réguliers en provenance de la plupart des grands centres d’Amérique du Nord et d’Europe du Nord, ainsi que par les traversiers de Marine Atlantique depuis la Nouvelle-Écosse.


Par avion

L’aéroport international de St. John’s (YYT) dessert la côte Est de Terre-Neuve. Air Canada, WestJet, Porter, Provincial Airlines et Air Labrador sont les principaux transporteurs à proposer des vols à destination de St. John’s et de la province en général.

Par traversier

Les traversiers de Marine Atlantique relient toute l’année North Sydney (Nouvelle-Écosse) à Port aux Basques, sur la côte Sud-Ouest de Terre-Neuve. Un autre traversier relie North Sydney à Argentia, sur la côte Est de Terre-Neuve, mais seulement de la mi-juin à la fin septembre. La traversée de North Sydney à Port aux Basques dure environ 6 heures et North Sydney-Argentia environ 11 heures.

Pour faire une réservation, ce qui est fortement recommandé, et connaître l’horaire et le tarif des traversées, consulter le site Web de Marine Atlantique.

En voiture

Le lieu historique national du Cottage-Hawthorne se trouve dans la localité de Brigus, à environ une heure de route à l'ouest de St. John's. À partir de la route transcanadienne, tourner à droite sur la route 70. Au bout d'environ 18 km, prendre à nouveau la droite (route 60) et suivre les panneaux routiers de Parcs Canada jusqu'à Brigus. Le cottage Hawthorne se trouve au centre du village, à l'angle de la rue South et du chemin Irishtown.