Hawthorne Cottage was designated as a national historic site in 1978 because of its significance both historically and architecturally. It was the Brigus home of Captain Robert Abram (Bob) Bartlett, captain on a number of early Arctic expeditions. Architecturally, the cottage is in the “Picturesque” mode, providing a good example of a gentleman’s modest suburban residence in eastern North America in the 1830s.

The Cottage

Hawthorne Cottage was built in the year 1830 by John Leamon, a local merchant. It was originally built 10km away in Cochrandale. In the winter of 1833-34 the cottage was hauled overland on log rollers to its present location in Brigus.

Although an unusual design for Newfoundland, the cottage is an example of the “Picturesque” architectural style; popular in eastern British North America in the 18th and 19th centuries. This unique architectural style is characterized by harmony of architecture and landscape. The garden setting and ornate veranda of Hawthorne Cottage were standard elements of this type of building. Hawthorne Cottage also incorporates features of Newfoundland vernacular architecture, with a large “linhay” or addition on the rear of the original square structure.

black and white photo of family in front of a house
The Bartlett family outside of Hawthorne Cottage.

Through the years, Hawthorne Cottage was passed through generations with various conditions of inheritances, leading to William and Mary Bartlett inheriting it with a stipulation that it pass to their son, Robert. After his death in 1946, ownership of the cottage was passed to his sisters Emma and Eleanor, who ran a teahouse across the street.

Hawthorne Cottage was donated to the Canadian people in 1987 by Robert’s nephew, Newfoundland Supreme Court Justice Rupert W. Bartlett. Today, Hawthorne Cottage displays furnishings and personal belongings of the Leamon and Bartlett families, demonstrating the wealth and status of this outport family. Some rooms are dedicated to outlining the famous career led by Captain Bob Bartlett himself.

Captain Robert Abram Bartlett (1875 – 1946)

black and white portrait of a man
Captain Robert "Bob" Bartlett.

Between 1885 and 1946, Hawthorne Cottage was the Brigus home of Captain Robert Abram Bartlett, commemorated as a person of national significance as an Arctic navigator and explorer. Bob Bartlett was the son of Captain William J. Bartlett and Mary Jemima (Leamon) Bartlett, granddaughter of the original owner of Hawthorne Cottage.

In 1898, Bob Bartlett sailed north as first mate on Commander Robert Edwin Peary’s flagship the Windward. It was participating in this expedition that sparked Bartlett’s interest in Arctic adventure and that brought him to the attention of Peary. In 1905, when Peary asked Captain Bartlett to command the Roosevelt during his next expedition in search of the North Pole, Bob gladly accepted. By laying out a well-planned and detailed route, Captain Bob made it possible for Peary to make his famous “dash” to the pole on April 7th or 8th, 1909.

In 1913, after hearing of Bartlett’s victory, the Canadian government hired Captain Bob to command the Karluk on a major scientific expedition to the western Arctic. During this expedition, the Karluk was crushed by ice. Bartlett and an Inuit companion embarked on a difficult 1280km trek across the ice to the coast of Siberia to report the wreck and organise a rescue for the survivors. Although 11 people perished in this incident, historian Thomas Appleton called Bartlett’s performance “the finest feat of leadership in Canadian marine history.”

Between 1926 and 1940, Captain Bartlett undertook 16 Arctic voyages aboard the Effie M. Morrisey on behalf of various American museums, zoos, universities and scientific organisations. Although Bartlett now lived in New York, He would always visit Brigus along his travel routes, and these visits would be social highlights in the tiny community.

During the Second World War, the United States Navy commandeered the services of Captain Bob, his ship and crew for hydrographic work in Hudson Bay and Greenland.

Bartlett died in New York on April 28th, 1946 and was buried in his hometown of Brigus.

Le cottage Hawthorne a été désigné lieu historique national en 1978 en raison de son importance tant pour son histoire que pour son architecture. C’est dans cette résidence située à Brigus qu’a vécu le capitaine Robert Abram (Bob) Bartlett, qui a dirigé de nombreuses expéditions dans l’Arctique. Du point de vue de son architecture, le cottage suit la mode « pittoresque » et représente un bon exemple de modeste résidence de banlieue des années 1830 dans l’Est de l’Amérique du Nord.

Le Cottage

Le cottage Hawthorne a été construit en 1830 par John Leamon, un commerçant de la région. À l’origine, il se trouvait à 10 km de Cochrandale. Au cours de l’hiver 1833-1834, il a été tiré sur des billots jusqu’à l’endroit où il se trouve actuellement, à Brigus.

De conception inhabituelle pour Terre-Neuve, le cottage est un exemple du style d’architecture « pittoresque », très en vogue dans l’Est de l’Amérique du Nord aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles. Ce style unique en son genre se caractérise par l’harmonie de son architecture et du paysage. Les jardins et la véranda ornée du cottage Hawthorne étaient des éléments courants pour ce type de bâtiment. Le cottage intègre aussi des éléments de l’architecture vernaculaire de Terre-Neuve, avec une grande remise (« linhay ») ou dépendance à l’arrière de la structure carrée d’origine.

photo noir et blanc d'une famille devant une maison
La famille Bartlett à l'extérieur du cottage Hawthorne.

Au fil des années, le cottage Hawthorne a été transmis de génération en génération aux termes de diverses conditions d’héritages; c’est ainsi que William et Mary Bartlett en ont hérité sous réserve qu’ils le lèguent à leur fils, Robert. Après la mort de ce dernier en 1946, la propriété du cottage est passée aux sœurs de Robert, Emma et Eleanor, qui exploitaient une maison de thé de l’autre côté de la rue.

Le neveu de Robert, Rupert W. Bartlett, juge de la cour suprême de Terre-Neuve, a fait don du cottage Hawthorne à la population canadienne en 1987. Aujourd’hui, le cottage contient du mobilier et des effets personnels de la famille Leamon et Bartlett, qui témoignent de la richesse et du statut de cette famille provenant d’un hameau isolé. Certaines pièces servent à souligner la célèbre carrière du capitaine Bob Bartlett lui-même.

Capitaine Robert Abram Bartlett (1875 - 1946)

portrait en noir et blanc d'un homme
Captain Robert "Bob" Bartlett.

Entre 1885 et 1946, le cottage Hawthorne a été la résidence, à Brigus, du capitaine Robert Abram Bartlett, reconnu comme une personne d’importance nationale à titre de navigateur et d’explorateur de l’Arctique. Bob Bartlett était le fils du capitaine William J. Bartlett et de Mary Jemima (Leamon) Bartlett, petite-fille du propriétaire original du cottage Hawthorne.

En 1898, Bob Bartlett s’est embarqué comme capitaine en second à bord du Windward, porte-drapeau du commandant Robert Edwin Peary, parti en expédition vers le nord. Sa participation à cette expédition a donné à Bartlett le goût de l’aventure dans l’Arctique et l’a fait connaître de Peary. En 1905, quand Peary a demandé au capitaine de prendre les commandes du Roosevelt lors de sa prochaine expédition en quête du pôle Nord, c’est avec joie que Bartlett a accepté son offre. En traçant un parcours bien planifié et détaillé, le capitaine Bartlett a permis à Peary d’entreprendre sa célèbre avancée vers le pôle, le 7 ou le 8 avril 1909.

En 1913, après avoir eu vent de la victoire de Bartlett, le gouvernement canadien a embauché le capitaine pour commander le Karluk lors d’une grande expédition scientifique menée dans l’Ouest de l’Arctique. Au cours de cette expédition, le Karluk a été écrasé par les glaces. Bartlett et un compagnon inuit ont entrepris un difficile périple de 1 280 km à travers les glaces jusqu’à la côte de la Sibérie pour signaler le naufrage et organiser le sauvetage des survivants. Même si 11 personnes ont péri lors de cet incident, l’historien Thomas Appleton a qualifié la performance de Bartlett comme étant l’exploit le plus remarquable sur le plan du leadership de toute l’histoire de la marine canadienne.

Entre 1926 et 1940, le capitaine Bartlett a entrepris 16 expéditions dans l’Arctique à bord de l’Effie M. Morrisey pour le compte de divers musées, zoos, universités et organisations scientifiques. Même si Bartlett résidait à ce moment-là à New York, il s’arrêtait toujours à Brigus au cours de ses voyages, et ces visites constituaient des événements sociaux pour la minuscule collectivité.

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, la Marine américaine a retenu les services du capitaine Bartlett, de son navire et de son équipage pour l’exécution de travaux hydrographiques dans la baie d’Hudson et le Groenland.

Bartlett est décédé à New York le 28 avril 1946 et a été enterré dans sa ville natale de Brigus.