© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2018.

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français. 

For more information about the management plan or about Castle Hill National Historic Site :

Mailing address:
Castle Hill National Historic Site
P.O. Box 10
Placentia, NL
Canada
A0B 2G0

Telephone:
709-227-2401

Fax:
709-227-2452


Front Cover Image Credits

Andre Cornellier

Foreword

The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Canada’s national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas belong to all Canadians and offer truly Canadian experiences.

These special places make up one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world.

The Government is committed to preserving our natural and cultural heritage, expanding the system of protected places and contributing to the recovery of species-at-risk. At the same time, we must continue to offer new and innovative visitor and outreach programs and activities so that more Canadians can experience Parks Canada places and learn about our environment, history and culture.

This new management statement for Castle Hill National Historic Site of Canada supports this vision.

Management statements are developed through extensive consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local and regional residents, visitors and the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

National parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas are a priority for the Government of Canada. I would like to thank everyone who contributed to this plan for their commitment and spirit of co-operation.

As the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I applaud this collaborative effort and I am pleased to approve the Castle Hill National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement.

Original signed by

Catherine McKenna
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended and original signed by

Michael Nadler
Acting Chief Executive Officer
Parks Canada

Trevor Swerdfager
Senior Vice-President, Operations
Parks Canada

William (Bill) Brake
Field Unit Superintendent
Newfoundland East Field Unit
Parks Canada 

Introduction

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic places in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada's management approach and objectives for Castle Hill National Historic Site.

Located within the ancestral territory of the Beothuk and Mi’kmaq Peoples, Castle Hill National Historic Site is of national historic significance because, between 1692 and 1811, it played an important role in the defence of “Plaisance”, the former French capital of Newfoundland, and in the larger strategic interests of France and Britain in what is now Atlantic Canada. Situated in Placentia, Newfoundland and Labrador, the site consists of twenty-four hectares of land containing fortification remains and archaeological sites as well as a visitor centre, trails, picnic areas, an outdoor theatre space and maintenance compound. Since opening to the public in 1968, Castle Hill National Historic Site has been a key tourism attraction for the Placentia region and a focal point for Newfoundland’s francophone history.

Management Approach

Parks Canada is responsible for all cultural resources, natural features, and contemporary assets within the administered area for Castle Hill National Historic Site. A self-guided site, Castle Hill is open daily from early June to Labour Day and also hosts special events, such as Learn to Camp, and off-season activities whenever possible. Parks Canada will continue to engage Indigenous partners, key stakeholders, including from the francophone community, the public, and regional partners to ensure that Castle Hill National Historic Site remains a cultural and tourism focal point for the Placentia region.

Management Objective

  • Building Relationships with Indigenous Partners:Fostering positive relationships with Indigenous peoples, in the spirit of reconciliation and healing, is a high priority for Parks Canada. Parks Canada will work closely with Indigenous partners to explore aspects of Castle Hill National Historic Site's historical and cultural significance and pursue opportunities to feature Indigenous stories and activities at the site, including opportunities for Indigenous partners to tell their own stories.
  • Resource Conservation: At Castle Hill National Historic Site, the focus is on adding to the archaeological and historical research records, undertaking vegetation control to mitigate risks to historic resources and view planes, implementing preventive conseivation and maintenance measures for cultural resources, and monitoring for species at risk that may occur within the site. In addition, Parks Canada will work with others to ensure the protection and understanding of the site's cultural resources as well as associated sites that lie outside the boundaries of Castle Hill National Historic Site.
  • Visitor Experience: Parks Canada will continue to offer high quality, primarily self-guided visitor experience opportunities focused on the cultural and natural treasures at Castle Hill National Historic Site. Parks Canada will also engage partner and stakeholder organizations to pursue opportunities for special events, programs, and visitor seivices. Visitor experience facilities, signage, and exhibits will be maintained according to Parks Canada standards and policies. Parks Canada will continue to monitor visitor use, identify hazards, and mitigate risks to ensure visitors to Castle Hill National Historic Site have safe and memorable experiences.
  • Public Awareness and Appreciation:Parks Canada provides information about Castle Hill National Historic Site on the Parks Canada website and social media channels as well as the Canadian Register of Historic Places. Through collaborating with thematically-linked heritage places, such as Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, and with regional tourism and cultural stakeholders, Parks Canada will pursue promotional, public outreach and media opportunities to increase public awareness and appreciation of Castle Hill National Historic Site.

Strategic Environmental Assessment

In accordance with The Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment is conducted on all management statements tabled in Parliament. The strategic environmental assessment for the Castle Hill National Historic Site assessed the potential effects on natural and cultural resources and visitor experience. The strategic environmental assessment concluded that the proposed management statement for Castle Hill National Historic Site would have positive effects on cultural resources and visitor experience. Potential environmental effects on vegetation and migratory birds were identified but the effects can be mitigated through project-level impact assessments when necessary. The Plan supports the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy goal of Connecting Canadians with Nature. There are no important negative environmental effects anticipated from management statement implementation.

© Sa Majeste la Reine du chef du Canada, representee par le directeur general de l'Agence Pares canada, 2018. 

This document is also available in English. 

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes Lieu historique national du Canada de Castle Hill:

Adresse postale:
Lieu historique national de Castle Hill
CP 10
Placentia, T-N-L
Canada
A0B 2G0

Téléphone:
709-227-2401

Télécopieur
709-227-2452


Source de /'Image de la page couverture:

Andre Cornellier

Avant-propos 

L'honorable Catherine McKenna, Ministre de ['Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada  

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada appartiennent à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes et offrent des expériences authentiquement canadiennes.

Ces endroits spéciaux forment l'un des plus beaux et plus vastes réseaux d'aires patrimoniales naturelles et culturelles protégées au monde.

Le gouvernement s'est engagé à protéger notre patrimoine naturel et culture!, à élargir le réseau des aires protégées et à contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril. Nous devons en même temps continuer d'offrir de nouveaux programmes et activités innovateurs axes sur les visiteurs et la sensibilisation pour permettre à davantage de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de découvrir les sites de Pares Canada et d'apprendre au sujet de notre histoire, environnement et culture.

Ce nouvel énonce de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de Castle Hill vient appuyer cette vision.

Les énonces de gestion sont élabores dans le cadre de consultations et de contributions exhaustives de personnes et d'organismes divers, dont les peuples autochtones, des résidents locaux et régionaux, des visiteurs et l'équipe dévouée œuvrant a Pares Canada.

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation sont une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. J'aimerais remercier tous ceux qui ont contribué à cet énonce de gestion pour leur engagement et leur esprit de collaboration.

A titre de ministre responsable de Pares Canada, j'applaudis cet effort concerte, et je suis heureuse d'approuver l'Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de Castle Hill.

Copie originale signée par

Catherine McKenna
Ministre de ['Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada  

Recommandé par

Copie originale recommandé et signée par:

Michael Nadler
Directeur général de l'Agence par intérim
Parcs Canada

Trevor Swerdfager
Vice-président principal, Operations
Parcs Canada

William (Bill) Brake
Directeur d'unité de gestion
L'unité de gestion est de Terre-Neuve
Parcs Canada 

Introduction

L'Agence Parcs Canada gère l'un des plus beaux et des plus vastes systèmes de zones naturelles et historiques protégées du monde. Le mandat de l'Agence est de protéger et de présenter ces endroits pour le bénéfice et la jouissance des générations actuelles et futures. Cet énoncé de gestion décrit l'approche de gestion et les objectifs de Parcs Canada pour Castle Hill.

Situé sur le territoire ancestral des Beothuks et des Mi'kmaq, le lieu historique national de Castle Hill est un endroit d'importance historique nationale car, de 1692 à 1811, il a joué un rôle important dans la défense de« Plaisance», l'ancienne capitale française de Terre-Neuve, et des intérêts stratégiques généraux de la France et de la Grande-Bretagne dans ce qui est aujourd'hui le Canada atlantique. Situé à Placentia, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, le lieu est constitué de vingt-quatre hectares de terre sur lesquels on trouve les vestiges de fortifications et des sites archéologiques ainsi qu'un centre d'accueil, des sentiers, des aires de pique-nique, un théâtre extérieur et un enclos d'entretien. Depuis son ouverture au public en 1968, le lieu historique national de Castle Hill est un attrait touristique incontournable dans la région de Placentia et un carrefour de l'histoire francophone de Terre-Neuve.

Approche de gestion

Parcs Canada est responsable de toutes les ressources culturelles, de tous les éléments naturels et de tous les biens modernes qui font partie du lieu historique national de Castle Hill qu'il administre. Lieu à visite autoguidée, Castle Hill est ouvert tous les jours du début juin à la fête du Travail, et il accueille aussi des activités spéciales comme l'initiation au camping et des activités hors saison lorsque l'occasion se présente. Parcs Canada continuera de dialoguer avec ses partenaires autochtones et régionaux, les principaux intervenants, incluant les communautés francophones, et le grand public pour veiller à ce que le lieu historique national de Castle Hill demeure un point d'intérêt culturel et touristique pour la région de Placentia.

Objectifs de gestion

  • Consolider les relations avec les partenaires autochtones:L'établissement de relations positives avec les peuples autochtones, dans un esprit de réconciliation et de guérison, est une priorité pour Parcs Canada. L’Agence travaillera en étroite collaboration avec ses partenaires autochtones pour étudier certains aspects de l'importance historique et culturelle du lieu historique national de Castle Hill, et cherchera des occasions de présenter les récits et les activités des Autochtones sur place, notamment des occasions pour les partenaires autochtones de présenter leurs propres récits.
  • Conservation des ressources:Au lieu historique national de Castle Hill, nous avons pour priorités l'ajout de documents de recherches archéologiques et historiques, le contrôle de la végétation dans le but d'atténuer les risques pour les ressources historiques et les panoramas, I ‘adoption de mesures préventives de conservation et d'entretien des ressources culturelles, ainsi que la surveillance des espèces en péril pouvant être présentes sur place. Par ailleurs, Parcs Canada collaborera avec d'autres pour assurer la protection et la compréhension des ressources culturelles du lieu et de celles des sites connexes situes a I' extérieur des limites du lieu historique national de Castle Hill.
  • Expérience du visiteur:Parcs Canada continuera d'offrir aux visiteurs des possibilités d'expérience autoguidées de qualité qui sont axées sur les trésors culturels et naturels au lieu historique national de Castle Hill. Il mobilisera également les organisations de partenaires et d'intervenants pour trouver des possibilités d'activités spéciales, de programmes et de services aux visiteurs. Les installations, les expositions et les panneaux liés à l'expérience du visiteur seront entretenus conformément aux normes et aux politiques de Parcs Canada. L'Agence continuera de surveiller l'utilisation du lieu par les visiteurs, de cerner les dangers et d'atténuer les risques afin que les visiteurs du lieu historique national de Castle Hill puissent vivre des expériences sécuritaires et mémorables.
  • Connaissance et appréciation du public:Parcs Canada fournit des renseignements au sujet du lieu historique national de Castle Hill sur son site Web et ses comptes de medias sociaux ainsi que dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux. En collaborant avec d'autres lieux patrimoniaux axés sur les mêmes thèmes, par exemple le lieu historique national de la Forteresse- de-Louisbourg, ainsi qu'avec les intervenants régionaux du domaine touristique et culturel, Parcs Canada profitera des possibilités qui se présentent en matière de promotion, d'éducation du public et de diffusion dans les médias afin de favoriser la connaissance et l'appréciation du public à l'égard du lieu historique national de Castle Hill.

Résumé de l'évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique est réalisée pour tout énoncé de gestion déposé au Parlement. L'évaluation environnementale stratégique pour le lieu historique national de Castle Hill a porté sur les effets possibles sur les ressources naturelles et culturelles et sur l'expérience du visiteur. Au terme de l'évaluation environnementale stratégique, on a conclu que l'énoncé de gestion propose pour le lieu historique national de Castle Hill aurait des effets positifs sur les ressources culturelles et l'expérience du visiteur. Des effets environnementaux éventuels sur la végétation et les oiseaux migrateurs ont été recenses, mais il est possible de les atténuer au moyen d'études des impacts propres a un projet, au besoin. Le plan contribue à l'atteinte de l'objectif « Rapprocher les Canadiens de la nature » de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. La mise en œuvre de l'énoncé de gestion ne devrait avoir aucun effet environnemental négatif important.