When French explorer Pierre Dugua, Sieur de Mons pointed his vessels west along the coast crossing Passamaquoddy Bay, they arrived at Sainte-Croix Island to establish the first permanent French settlement in North America.

They built houses and service buildings, gardens, and a chapel, following a plan envisioned by Samuel De Champlain. The "capital of l'Acadie,” was to be a year-round territory but that winter, nearly half of the settlers lost their lives to scurvy and exposure.

Though the settlement was moved to the southern shores of the Bay of Fundy, the insights gained here helped build an enduring French presence in North America.

Today, St. Croix Island is uninhabited, but interpretive sites on both sides of the St. Croix River evoke the settlement’s significance. The Canadian side explores how St. Croix Island helped entrench French culture and Acadian pride for the generations that followed.


History

On Saint Croix Island in June of 1604, French nobleman-courtier Pierre Dugua, Sieur de Mons, established a settlement known as the first "capital of l'Acadie". This establishment was the first attempt by the French at year-round colonization in the territory they called "La Cadie" or "l'Acadie".

The experience of the French on Saint Croix Island taught them much about adapting to the environment and interacting with the Aboriginal people. These insights helped form the foundation for an enduring French presence in North America.

En mettant le cap à l’ouest le long des côtes de la baie Passamaquoddy, Pierre Dugua, explorateur français et sieur de Mons, est arrivé à l’île Sainte-Croix. C’est là qu’avec les membres de son expédition il a fondé le premier établissement français permanent d’Amérique du Nord.

Ils y ont construit des logis, des bâtiments de service, des jardins et une chapelle selon un plan esquissé par Samuel de Champlain. La « capitale de l’Acadie » devait être un territoire permanent, mais, cet hiver-là, près de la moitié des colons sont morts à cause du scorbut et du froid.

La colonie a été déplacée vers la côte sud de la baie de Fundy, mais les enseignements tirés de l’expérience à l’île Sainte-Croix ont contribué à l’installation d’une présence française durable en Amérique du Nord.

Planifiez une visite aux abords de l’île Sainte-Croix. L’île est aujourd’hui inhabitée, mais des sites d’interprétation des deux côtés de la rivière Sainte-Croix évoquent l’importance de cet établissement. Du côté canadien, explorez le rôle qu’a eu l’île Sainte-Croix dans la culture française. Une véritable source d’enracinement et de fierté acadienne pour les générations suivantes!


Histoire

En juin 1604, Pierre Dugua, sieur de Mons, gentilhomme et courtisan français, établit une dizaine de bâtiments à l'île Sainte-Croix, « première capitale de l'Acadie ». Cet établissement est la première tentative d'établissement permanente réalisée par les Français sur le territoire qu'ils appellent « La Cadie » ou l'Acadie.

Les expériences des Français à l'île Sainte-Croix leur feront acquérir les connaissances nécessaires pour s'adapter au milieu et nouer des liens avec les peuples autochtones. Ces connaissances posent les bases de l'établissement d'une présence française durable en Amérique du Nord.