Access to the interior of the tower (the blockhouse) is closed due to COVID‑19 restrictions.

Tour the St. Andrews Blockhouse barracks and storage battery to imagine what life was like “on guard” during the War of 1812. Bring a lunch and enjoy a serene picnic overlooking the dramatic ebb and flow of the world-famous Bay of Fundy’s tides. When the tide is out, you can walk a path across the tidal flats and look out for shorebirds. Heritage interpreters are on hand in summer.

Discover the Blockhouse

Experience life as a British Royal Artillery soldier might have during the War of 1812. Try on the heavy blue, red and gold uniforms and imagine life spent defending the town from private armed vessels (American privateers) known to raid military installations and towns.

Explore the restored blockhouse barracks room and storage loft. Picture aiming the carronades to fire. Check out the roof that overhangs from the second floor, for great vantage points against harbour attacks. Look through the loopholes and gun ports and imagine raising your rifle to secure the shoreline.

Cross-border travellers will be interested in seeing the War of 1812 from the Canadian vantage point, as the Blockhouse is situated directly across from the New England state of Maine (then part of Massachusetts),whose residents suffered greatly during the war.

Make sure to see where flames torched the walls of the salvaged Blockhouse after a major fire in 1993.

Photography

The site's seaside views make it a venue often favoured by photographers.

Observing the intertidal zone

The site offers a good viewpoint to observe the changes in the shoreline and harbour by the ebb and flow of the Bay of Fundy's tides which, at this location, rise and fall an average of 7.24 m (24 feet) twice every day. This dramatically changes what you can see of the coastal environment.

St. Andrews Blockhouse is adjacent to Passamaquoddy Bay, which flows into the Bay of Fundy. Visitors who venture away from shore should be watchful of the tide, as it is possible to become stranded by the rising tide.

All activities

Dogs on leash Dog walking
Notice board Interpretive trail
Picnic area Picnicking
Interpretation Tours and programs
Geocaching Geocaching
Lookout Lookout
Coffee shop Restaurant or café
Hiking Hiking
Photo Opportunity Photography
Theatre Theatre

Dans le blockhaus de St. Andrews, arpentez la caserne et l’entrepôt abritant la batterie. Imaginez à quoi ressemblait la vie de ces gens sans cesse sur le qui-vive pendant la guerre de 1812. Savourez un pique-nique en toute quiétude devant le spectacle du flux et du reflux des célèbres marées de la baie de Fundy. Promenez-vous à marée basse dans la zone intertidale et repérez les oiseaux de rivage. En été, explorez le lieu en compagnie des animateurs-guides du patrimoine.

Découvrez le blockhaus et ses particularités

Mettez-vous dans la peau d’un soldat de la Royal Artillery pendant la guerre de 1812. Enfilez l’uniforme bleu, rouge et or et imaginez-vous défendre la ville contre l’assaut des corsaires américains des navires armés privés. Ils étaient reconnus pour attaquer les installations militaires et les villes.

Explorez la caserne et l’entrepôt du blockhaus qui ont été restaurés. Imaginez les caronades faire feu. Admirez le toit qui fait saillie : c’était un précieux atout pour la défense du port. Regardez à travers les meurtrières et les canonnières et visualisez la défense du littoral, armé d'un fusil.

Vous voyagez depuis les États-Unis? Découvrez le point de vue des Canadiens sur la guerre de 1812! Le blockhaus est situé juste en face de l’État du Maine, en Nouvelle-Angleterre (qui a ensuite appartenu au Massachusetts). Ses habitants ont grandement souffert pendant la guerre.

Observez l’endroit où les flammes ont embrasé les murs du blockhaus lors de l’incendie de 1993.

Photographie

Comme le lieu est situé en bordure de la mer, c'est un endroit qu'affectionnent les photographes.

Observation de la zone intertidale

Le lieu historique est bien situé pour que l'on puisse y observer les changements occasionnés par le flux et le reflux des marées de la baie de Fundy sur le rivage et le port. Comme la variation entre la marée basse et la marée haute s'établit ici à 7,24 m (24 pieds), les visiteurs peuvent observer des changements dramatiques de l'environnement côtier.

Le Blockhouse de St. Andrews est situé en bordure de la baie de Passamaquoddy, qui se jette dans la baie de Fundy. Les visiteurs qui s'aventurent sur le rivage à marée basse doivent faire preuve de vigilance cars ils pourraient être bloqués par la marée montante.

Toutes les activités

Chiens en laisse
Sentier d'interprétation
Picnic Area Aire de pique nique
Visites guidées
Géocachette
Belvédère
Restaurant ou café
Randonnée pédestre
Photographie
Théâtre