Table of contents

 

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2018

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

Issued also in French under the title:
Lieu historique national du Tour-Martello-de-Carleton Énoncé de gestion 2019

  • Paper: R64-549/2019E
  • 978-0-660-30305-5
  • PDF: R64-549/2019E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-30304-8

For more information about the management statement or about Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Site of Canada:

Mailing address:
Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Site of Canada
454 Whipple Street
Saint John, N.B.
Canada
E2M 2R3

Telephone:
506-636-4011

Fax:
506-887-6011


Foreword

The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Canada’s national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas belong to all Canadians and offer truly Canadian experiences.

These special places make up one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world.

The Government is committed to preserving our natural and cultural heritage, expanding the system of protected places and contributing to the recovery of species-at-risk. At the same time, we must continue to offer new and innovative visitor and outreach programs and activities so that more Canadians can experience Parks Canada places and learn about our environment, history and culture.

This new management statement for Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Site of Canada supports this vision.

Management statements are developed through extensive consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local and regional residents, visitors and the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

National parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas are a priority for the Government of Canada. I would like to thank everyone who contributed to this management statement for their commitment and spirit of co-operation.

As the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I applaud this collaborative effort and I am pleased to approve the Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement.

Original signed by

Catherine McKenna
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Front Cover Image Credits

Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by:

Michael Nadler
Acting Chief Executive Officer
Parks Canada

Trevor Swerdfager
Senior Vice-President, Operations
Parks Canada

Julie M. LeBlanc
Field Unit Superintendent
New Brunswick South Field Unit
Parks Canada 

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage places in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Carleton Martello Tower (CMT) National Historic Site of Canada.

Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Site of Canada

Carleton Martello Tower is a cultural resource of national historic significance, on top of which sits a Second World War command post, a cultural resource of other heritage value. Together, the tower and the command post comprise a Recognized Federal Heritage Building.  In 1924, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada made the following recommendation: CMT is of national significance because it was built for the defence of Saint John during the War of 1812-1814, and because of its significance as a type of military architecture.

Carleton Martello Tower is located on a 1.17 hectare plot of steep, rocky, open ground called Carleton Heights, in what is now an older, well-established residential area of western Saint John, New Brunswick, across the harbour from uptown Saint John.  Because of the significant role CMT and other elements of the harbour defence complex played during the Second World War, the site’s history remains a source of pride for local residents, of which some are descendants of Second World War veterans. The success of recent partner-led events hosted at CMT, such as the ‘Hometown Heroes’ program, has re-invigorated those memories and reinforced the site’s strong connection with numerous stakeholders. 

Carleton Martello Tower is about 68.5 metres (225 ft) above sea level at its highest point, offering sweeping views of uptown Saint John and the harbour to the north and northeast, and of the Bay of Fundy to the east and southeast.  The view is an important driver of visitation, in addition to the site’s rich cultural history.  To support and enhance visitor experience, the site also has a small visitor centre that includes an interpretive centre, theatre, washroom facilities, parking area and office space for staff.   

To increase understanding and appreciation for CMT, Parks Canada actively engages a diverse network of partners, including the community, the municipality of Saint John, local and regional tourism and/or heritage groups, and private businesses.  Through continual growth of its network of partners and stakeholders, CMT has and will continue to grow and adapt opportunities for personal connection amongst its target audiences, defined through market segmentation research.

Restoration Activities

Battered by the elements, notably the cold winds and rain that sweep off the Bay of Fundy, and stressed by the weight of the two-storey concrete fire command post added to the top of the tower in the Second World War; Carleton Martello Tower has been plagued by leaks for a number of years. Investigative work in 2015 revealed the tower to be in a state of critical failure. In response to the urgent work required to conserve CMT, the Government of Canada committed $13 million in 2016 to rehabilitate it.

Investigative work was conducted during the 2016 operational season and a phased approach for renovation work has been identified.  For public safety, since 2016, the 1812 tower has been closed to visitors; however, the surrounding site remains open to visitors to enjoy and explore the visitor centre, exhibit gallery, gift counter, and grounds.  Visitor experience opportunities are still offered in collaboration with CMT’s network of partners, stakeholders and Indigenous organizations, to continue to connect Canadians to this important part of Canada’s history. 

Management Approach

Carleton Martello Tower is a National Historic Site operated by Parks Canada and enhanced through partner and stakeholder engagement. Parks Canada’s intent is to continue to increase Canadian’s understanding of and connection to CMT’s long spanning history of military defense through provision of quality visitor experiences including active visitor reception and orientation, and guided interpretation services which are enhanced by on-site partner-led historical re-enactments and heritage presentation programs and events.

Management Objectives

Building Relationships with Indigenous Partners

By forging strong relations, Parks Canada and local Indigenous organizations, will work together to ensure stories of the Indigenous connection to the land, site and history are shared. These stories will also include recognizing Indigenous War Veterans and their contributions in support of war efforts.

Building Relationships with Local/Regional Partners

Parks Canada is committed to building on successful past experiences and to establishing cooperative opportunities within the community, local and regional heritage groups, Indigenous communities, tourism operators, and private businesses. Carleton Martello Tower contributes to the heritage tourism industry in New Brunswick by attracting and retaining visitors in the Saint John area. This contribution can be further enhanced by continuing to work cooperatively with the tourism industry, the City of Saint John, Indigenous partner organizations and relevant provincial agencies and departments, as well as continuing to attract new partners.

Cultural Resource Conservation

Parks Canada protects cultural resources at its heritage places in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. This includes basic monitoring of the state of cultural resources and documentation of interventions at the site. At CMT, the focus is on ensuring the structural integrity of the 1812 tower.

Visitor Experience

Parks Canada will enhance its on-site visitor experience offer and facilitate community engagement through Parks Canada-led, partner-led and collaborative programming and events. These visitor experience opportunities will deepen visitors’ understanding of the significant role CMT, the City of Saint John, the Port of Saint John and the Saint John River have played in the Story of Canada; including pre-contact era, the War of 1812 and the First and Second World Wars. The opportunities will also position CMT within the larger network of military infrastructure and historic sites of Saint John.

Visitor Safety

Parks Canada puts appropriate measures in place to protect the health and safety of visitors to the site. At CMT, this includes visitor safety briefings by front-line staff, information online and in brochures, barriers to prevent visitors from accessing high-risk areas and temporary closures of the Fire Command Post during extreme weather events.

Site Maintenance

Parks Canada maintains the property it administers so as to respect the site’s heritage values, present a positive image to the public, and reflect the Parks Canada brand.

Public Understanding and Appreciation

Parks Canada will monitor and strive to achieve targets for its visitors’ understanding and appreciation using the Visitor Information Program. Parks Canada will provide information about the significance of CMT on its website, on the Canadian Register of Historic Places, and through social media.  Proactive media engagement supports public understanding and appreciation through local and regional media outlets.  Public communications will focus on sharing the story of its restoration broadly, and across a variety of platforms.  

Summary of the Strategic Environmental Assessment

In accordance with The Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all management statements tabled in Parliament. The SEA for the Carleton Martello Tower NHS assessed the potential effects on natural and cultural resources and visitor experience. The SEA concluded that the proposed management statement for this site would have positive effects on cultural resources and visitor experience. Potential environmental effects on vegetation, migratory birds and species at risk were identified but the effects can be mitigated through project-level impact assessments when necessary. This statement supports the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy goal of Connecting Canadians with Nature.  There are no important negative environmental effects anticipated from management statement implementation.

Table des matières

 

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2019.

This document is also available in English.

Issued also in English under the title:
Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement 2019

  • Paper: R64-549/2019E
  • 978-0-660-30305-5
  • PDF: R64-549/2019E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-30304-8

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes Lieu historique national du Canada Tour-Martello-de-Carleton

Adresse postale :
Lieu historique national du Canada de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton
454, rue Whipple
Saint John, N.B.
Canada
E2M 2R3

Téléphone :
506-636-4011

Télécopie :
506-887-6011


Avant-propos

Ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada appartiennent à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes et offrent des expériences authentiquement canadiennes.

Ces endroits spéciaux forment l'un des plus beaux et plus vastes réseaux d'aires patrimoniales naturelles et culturelles protégées au monde.

Le gouvernement s'est engagé à protéger notre patrimoine naturel et culturel, à élargir le réseau des aires protégées et à contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril. Nous devons en même temps continuer d’offrir de nouveaux programmes et activités innovateurs axés sur les visiteurs et la sensibilisation pour permettre à davantage de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de découvrir les sites de Parcs Canada et d’apprendre au sujet de notre histoire, environnement et culture.

Ce nouvel énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton vient appuyer cette vision.

Les énoncés de gestion sont élaborés dans le cadre de consultations et de contributions exhaustives de personnes et d'organismes divers, dont les peuples autochtones, des résidents locaux et régionaux, des visiteurs et l'équipe dévouée œuvrant à Parcs Canada.

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation sont une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. J'aimerais remercier tous ceux qui ont contribué à cet énoncé de gestion pour leur engagement et leur esprit de collaboration.

À titre de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, j'applaudis cet effort concerté, et je suis heureuse d'approuver l’Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton.

Copie originale signée par

Catherine McKenna
Ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Source des images de la page couverture

Parcs Canada

Recommendations

Recommandé par :

Michael Nadler
Directeur général de l’Agence par intérim
Parcs Canada

Trevor Swerdfager
Vice-président principal, Opérations
Parcs Canada

Julie M. LeBlanc
Directrice
Unité de gestion du Sud du Nouveau-Brunswick
Parcs Canada 

 L’Agence Parcs Canada administre l'un des plus grands et des plus beaux réseaux d'aires naturelles et culturelles patrimoniales protégées dans le monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que les générations actuelles et futures puissent en profiter. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche et les objectifs de gestion de Parcs Canada pour le lieu historique national de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton (TMC).

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton

La Tour-Martello-de-Carleton est une ressource culturelle d’importance historique nationale, au sommet de laquelle se trouvent un poste de commandement de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, une ressource culturelle liée à une autre valeur patrimoniale. Ensemble, la Tour et le poste de commandement forment un édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu. En 1924, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a fait la recommandation suivante : TMC est d’importance nationale parce qu’elle fut construite pour protéger Saint John durant la guerre de 1812-1814  et parce qu’elle est typique d’un style d’architecture militaire.

La TMC s’étend sur un lot de 1,17 hectare de terrain rocheux découvert et éscarpé  appelé Carleton Heights, qui est devenu depuis le temps un quartier résidentiel bien établi de l’ouest de Saint John, Nouveau-Brunswick, et surplombe le port depuis le centre-ville de Saint John. En raison du rôle important joué par la TMC et d’autres éléments du complexe du défense du port pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, l’histoire du site demeure une source de fierté pour les résidents locaux, dont certains sont des descendants des anciens combattants de cette guerre. Le succès qu’ont connu les activités récentes tenues sur le site et dirigées par les partenaires, comme le Programme des héros de chez nous, a revigoré des souvenirs et consolidé le fort lien qui unit le site avec de nombreux intervenants.

Le point culminant de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton se trouve à 68,5 mètres (225 pieds) au-dessus du niveau de la mer, ce qui lui donne une vue plongeante vers le nord et nord-est sur le centre-ville de Saint John et sur le port, ainsi vers l’est et le sud-est sur la baie de Fundy.  Les visiteurs sont attirés à la fois par ce magnifique panorama et par la riche histoire culturelle du lieu historique. Afin de renforcer et d’améliorer l’expérience du visiteur, le site dispose également d'un petit centre d'accueil comprenant un centre d'interprétation, un théâtre, des installations sanitaires, un espace de stationnement et des bureaux pour le personnel.

Pour accroître la compréhension et l’appréciation de la TMC, Parcs Canada travaille activement avec un réseau diversifié de partenaires, notamment la communauté et la municipalité de Saint John, les groupes locaux et régionaux axés sur le tourisme et le patrimoine, et des entreprises privées. Grâce au développement continu de son réseau de partenaires et d’intervenants, la TMC continuera d’accroître et d’adapter les possibilités offertes à ses publics cibles, tels qu’ils sont définis dans les études sur la segmentation du marché, d’établir un lien personnel avec le site.

Activités de restauration

Battue par les éléments climatiques naturels, en particulier la pluie et les bises violentes qui balaient la baie de Fundy, et assaillie par le poids des deux étages de béton du poste de commandement de tir ajouté sur son toit pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, la TMC est rongée par des infiltrations d’eau depuis plusieurs années. En 2015, à la suite de travaux d’inspection, on a déterminé que la tour était dans un état de défaillance grave. Compte tenu des travaux urgents requis pour préserver la TMC, le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à verser 13 millions de dollars en 2016 pour la réhabiliter. 

Des travaux d’inspection ont été effectués pendant la saison opérationnelle de 2016 et une approche progressive pour les travaux de rénovation fut identifiée. Pour des raisons de sécurité publique, depuis 2016, la tour de 1812 a été fermée aux visiteurs. Cependant, le site environnant reste ouvert aux visiteurs pour leur permettre d'apprécier et d'explorer le centre d'accueil, la galerie d'exposition, le comptoir de souvenirs et les sentiers avoisinants. Les expériences du visiteur sont toujours offertes en collaboration avec le réseau de partenaires de la TMC, des intervenants et des organisations autochtones afin de continuer de permettre aux  Canadiens de découvrir et se rapprocher de ce volet important de l’histoire du Canada. 

Méthode de gestion

La Tour-Martello-de-Carleton est un lieu historique national administré par Parcs Canada et est enrichi par la mobilisation des partenaires et des intervenants. L’intention de l’Agence est de continuer d’accroître la compréhension des Canadiens et leur lien avec la riche histoire de la défense militaire de la TMC en offrant des expériences de qualité aux visiteurs, y compris la réception et les services d’orientation actifs des visiteurs, ainsi que des services d'interprétation guidés. Ceux-ci seront renforcés par des reconstitutions historiques sur place menées par des partenaires ainsi que des programmes et activités de mise en valeur du patrimoine.

Objectifs de gestion

Établissement de relations avec les peuples autochtones

Grâce à l’établissement de liens solides, Parcs Canada et les organisations autochtones locales travailleront de concert pour s’assurer que les histoires honorant les liens Autochtones avec le territoire, le site et à son histoire sont partagées. Ces histoires comprendront également la reconnaissance des anciens combattants autochtones et leurs contributions à l’appui des efforts de guerre.

Établissement de relations avec les partenaires locaux et régionaux

Parcs Canada s’engage à tirer parti des expériences antérieures réussies ainsi qu’à créer des opportunités de collaboration au sein de la communauté, des groupes locaux et régionaux axés sur le tourisme et le patrimoine, les communautés autochtones, les exploitants d’entreprises touristiques et les entreprises privées. La TMC  contribue à l’industrie du tourisme patrimonial au Nouveau-Brunswick en attirant les visiteurs dans la région de Saint John et en les incitants à y séjourner. Cette contribution peut être davantage renforcée en continuant de collaborer avec l’industrie touristique, la Ville de Saint John, les organisations autochtones partenaires, les organismes et ministères provinciaux concernés, et en continuant d’attirer de nouveaux partenaires. 

Conservation des ressources culturelles

Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans les lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Les mesures prises à cet égard comportent notamment la surveillance de base des ressources culturelles et la documentation des interventions menées sur ce lieu. À la TMC, la priorité est d’assurer l’intégrité structurale de la tour de 1812.

Expérience du visiteur

Parcs Canada améliorera son offre d'expérience du visiteur sur place et facilitera l'engagement communautaire par l'entremise de programmes et d'événements dirigés par Parcs Canada, par des partenaires et des collaborations. Ces opportunités d’expérience du visiteur permettront aux visiteurs d’approfondir leur compréhension du rôle important que la TMC, la Ville de Saint John, le port de Saint John et la rivière Saint-Jean ont joué dans l’histoire du Canada, entre autres pendant la période qui a précédé l’arrivée des Européens, ainsi que pendant la guerre de 1812 et les deux guerres mondiales. Ces opportunités permettront également de situer la TMC dans le vaste réseau des infrastructures militaires et des lieux historiques de Saint John.

Sécurité des visiteurs

Parcs Canada prend les mesures nécessaires pour protéger la santé et la sécurité des visiteurs du lieu. À la TMC, cela consiste notamment à demander au personnel de première ligne de renseigner les visiteurs sur la sécurité, à donner de l’information en ligne et dans des dépliants, à installer des barrières pour empêcher les visiteurs d’avoir accès aux zones à risque élevé et à fermer temporairement le poste de commandement de tir lors des phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes.

Entretien du lieu

Parcs Canada entretient le bien qu’il administre de manière à respecter les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu, à présenter une image positive au public et à témoigner de la marque de Parcs Canada.

Compréhension et appréciation du public

Parcs Canada s’efforcera d’atteindre les cibles en matière de compréhension et d’appréciation de la part du public, et d’en assurer le suivi, à l’aide du Programme d’information sur les visiteurs. Parcs Canada présentera de l’information sur l’importance de la TMC sur son site Web, dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux et sur les médias sociaux. La mobilisation proactive des médias locaux et régionaux contribue à la compréhension et à l’appréciation du public. Les communications publiques viseront à partager l’histoire de sa restauration de manière générale et sur diverses plates-formes.

Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est menée pour tous les énoncés de gestion déposés devant le Parlement. Dans le cadre de l’EES de l’énoncé de gestion de la TMC, les effets potentiels sur les ressources naturelles et culturelles ainsi que sur l’expérience des visiteurs ont été évalués. L’EES a conclu que l’énoncé de gestion proposé pour ce lieu aurait des effets positifs sur les ressources culturelles et l’expérience des visiteurs. Les effets environnementaux potentiels sur la végétation, les oiseaux migrateurs et les espèces en péril ont été déterminés, mais ces effets peuvent être atténués si nécessaire au moyen d’évaluations des répercussions à l’échelle du projet. L’énoncé va dans le sens de l’objectif de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable qui consiste à rapprocher les Canadiens de la nature. On ne prévoit pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants qui découleraient de la mise en œuvre de l’énoncé de gestion.