Explore the interactive exhibit galleries located at the Visitor Centre. Here, you’ll discover why martello towers were once favoured by the Royal Engineers as well as see how the War of 1812 affected Saint John.

Learning about the past can be fun! Take the arch-building challenge and see if you can construct an arch just like the Royal Engineers. Use the touch screen station to take a tour of martello towers around the world, or follow the War of 1812 exploits of privateer, Captain John Harris, at the audio station. Brag to your friends that you now know what a stereoscope is!

Although visitors are not able to experience the tower’s interior, our Photo Tour display shows images from all four floors of the fort. A collection of artifacts from the barracks illustrate the daily life of the Victorian soldier living at Carleton Martello Tower. How many objects can you identify?

Explorez les salles d’exposition interactive situées au centre d’accueil. Vous découvriez ici pourquoi les tours Martello étaient autrefois privilégiées par les Royal Engineers ainsi que les répercussions de la guerre de 1812 sur la ville de Saint-Jean.

Apprendre sur le passé peut être agréable! Relevez le défi et voyez si vous pouvez construire une arche comme le faisaient les Royal Engineers. Utilisez la station à écran tactile afin de faire une visite des tours Martello partout dans le monde ou suivez au poste d’écoute les exploits de la guerre de 1812 par le corsaire, le capitaine John Harris. Ventez-vous auprès de vos amis que vous savez ce qu’est un stéréoscope!

Bien que les visiteurs ne peuvent pas explorer l’intérieur de la tour, notre exposition de photos montre des images de tous les étages du fort. Une collection d’artéfacts de la caserne illustre la vie quotidienne du soldat de l’époque victorienne qui vivait dans la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton. Combien d’objets pouvez vous identifier?