Scenically set at the confluence of the Northwest and Southwest Miramichi rivers, Beaubears Island and Wilson Point combine to create Boishébert and Beaubears Island Shipbuilding National Historic Sites, J. Leonard O'Brien Memorial. Part archaeological site, part outdoor adventure and part historical re-creation, this captivating heritage collection illuminates a history both triumphant and tragic.

For eons, Mi’kmaq peoples visited Beaubears Island, drawing subsistence and spirituality from the land; French fur traders first arrived in the 17th century. During the Le grand dérangement, many Acadians sought refuge in this area; in the 18th and 19th centuries, Beaubears was renowned for its industrious wooden shipbuilding.

Roam the woodland, meet local characters re-enacting these centuries long past and hear historical tales to rouse imagination. Paddle a Voyageur Canoe to a riverside archaeological site and contemplate the rich human experiences that lie hidden within these white pines and waterways.

Au cœur d’un splendide paysage, au confluent de la rivière Miramichi Sud-Ouest et la Miramichi Nord-Ouest, l’île Beaubears et la pointe Wilsons constituent les lieux historiques nationaux de Boishébert et de la Construction-Navale-à-l’Île-Beaubears, mémorial J. Leonard O’Brien. À la fois parc archéologique, site d’aventure en plein air et de recréation historique, ce lieu patrimonial met en lumière une histoire à la fois tragique et victorieuse.

Durant des temps immémoriaux, les peuples mi’gmaq se rendaient à l’île Beaubears, tirant leur subsistance de la terre et s’y ressourçant spirituellement. Les commerçants de fourrures français sont arrivés sur les lieux au 17e siècle. Durant le Grand Dérangement, de nombreux Acadiens ont cherché refuge dans cette région. Et aux 18e et 19e siècles, la construction de navires en bois a fait la réputation de l’île Beaubears.

Parcourez les terrains boisés, rencontrez des personnages locaux, témoins de siècles animés, et écoutez des récits historiques qui nourriront votre imagination. À bord d’un canot voyageur, pagayez vers un site archéologique, le long de la rivière, et contemplez la riche histoire humaine dissimulée derrière la forêt de pins blancs et les voies navigables.