Life inside the fort at Beauséjour resembled that of other garrisons in North America. During the French regime, the garrison included about 150 regular soldiers from the Compagnies franches de la Marine originating from Québec and Louisbourg. The regulars were sometimes joined by militiamen from New France. Two-hundred French soldiers defended the fort in 1755.

The garrison of 150 men was divided into three companies of about 50 soldiers, each of which was led by a captain. The men were lodged in relatively comfortable quarters for the time but often suffered from mosquitoes in the summer and from the snow and cold in the winter.

Each French soldier received a monthly pay of 30 sols while the captain of a company received 90 livres. In addition to food, clothing and firewood, the soldiers were also entitled to a number of other essential items including soap, combs, needles and razors which they obtained at the King's Storehouse. Both soldiers and officers received a daily ration of wine or beer and also frequented the taverns outside the fort. One of the more popular ones belonged to an Acadian by the name of Joseph Caissie.

Soldiers were called upon to work on the fortifications, to dig and maintain the ditch, to pick up rubbish, and to cut and transport firewood for the barracks. To escape from these duties, the men often requested a leave and in some cases even deserted, despite the severe punishment.

À l'intérieur du fort de Beauséjour, la vie ressemble à celle des autres garnisons en Amérique. Sous le régime français, la garnison compte plus de 150 militaires de carrière des Compagnies franches de la Marine, provenant de Québec et de Louisbourg. Parfois, des miliciens de la Nouvelle-France se joignent aux soldats du détachement. Deux cents militaires défendent le fort en 1755.

Les 150 militaires français qui forment le gros de la garnison se divisent en trois compagnies. Chacune d'elles regroupe une cinquantaine de soldats sous l'autorité d'un capitaine. Logés assez confortablement pour l'époque, les occupants sont cependant souvent incommodés par les moustiques l'été, et par le froid et la neige l'hiver.

La solde mensuelle est de 30 sols pour un soldat et de 90 livres pour un capitaine de compagnie. En plus de la nourriture, des vêtements et du bois de chauffage, la rétribution comprend aussi des articles de nécessité courante, tels que peignes, savonnettes, aiguilles, rasoirs, etc., que les militaires se procurent au magasin du roi. Les soldats et les officiers reçoivent une ration quotidienne de vin ou de bière, et ils peuvent fréquenter les tavernes à l'extérieur du fort. La taverne de l'Acadien Joseph Caissie est particulièrement populaire parmi les soldats français.

C'est aux soldats qu'on fait appel pour les travaux de fortification, pour le creusage et l'entretien des fossés, et pour le ramassage des ordures. Ils doivent aussi couper et transporter le bois de chauffage de la caserne. Pour se soustraire à ces conditions de vie, les soldats réclament des congés. Certains n'hésitent pas à déserter leur poste en dépit de sanctions très sévères.

Prochain volet : Les Acadiens et le fort