By the Treaty of Utrecht (1713), France ceded Acadia to Great Britain. Yet the lack of a precise definition of the limits of the territory meant that both the British and the French claimed the zone on the isthmus of Chignecto. In fact, the crucial point of territorial dispute between the two imperial powers in Atlantic Canada emerged as the Beaubassin region with its growing Acadian settlements.

Despite the confusion over which European crown should control the isthmus of Chignecto, the Acadians living in the region saw their numbers increase steadily in the decades after 1713. Beaubassin emerged as the Acadian area where the most cattle were raised and where there was a large grain production. It was also there that an active fur trade took place with the Mi'kmaq and Maliseet. Acadians traded the surplus in cattle, grain and furs with merchants from both sides involved in the imperial competition. Those from Louisbourg usually arrived by ship at Baie Verte, while New Englanders generally came by way of the Bay of Fundy.

By 1744, the Beaubassin region had become an important Acadian population center, which included a number of settlements along the Petitcodiac, Memramcook and Shepody Rivers. The most common family names associated with this region were Arsenault, Bourgeois, Chiasson, Cormier, Cyr, Doucet, Gaudet, Poirier, and Haché known as Gallant. An estimated 3,000 Acadians were living in the region in the early 1750s, nearly half of whom were refugees from mainland Nova Scotia. The large number of Acadian refugees speaks volumes about how tension was building throughout Nova Scotia after the founding of Halifax in 1749.

Most Acadians considered themselves neutral in the struggle between Britain and France, since they had refused to bear arms for either side. Only a few Acadians had supported the 1747 military expedition launched by the French from the Beaubassin region against British military posts in Nova Scotia.

En 1713, la France cède l'Acadie à la Grande-Bretagne en vertu du Traité d'Utrecht. Cependant, en l'absence d'une définition précise des limites du territoire cédé, la Grande-Bretagne et la France se croient toutes deux en droit de revendiquer l'isthme de Chignectou. La région de Beaubassin et ses colonies acadiennes prospères se retrouvent donc en plein coeur du litige territorial qui oppose les deux puissances impériales sur la côte de l'Atlantique.

Malgré ce conflit, les colonies acadiennes de la région connaissent une croissance soutenue dans les décennies qui suivent 1713. Beaubassin devient la région acadienne qui élève le plus de bétail et l'une de celles qui produisent le plus de céréales. Les Acadiens de la région se livrent au commerce des fourrures avec les Mi'kmaq et les Malécite. Ils troquent leurs surplus de bêtes, de grain et de fourrures avec les marchands des camps français et britannique. Les commerçants de Louisbourg arrivent habituellement par navire à la baie Verte, tandis que ceux de la Nouvelle- Angleterre passent généralement par la baie Française (Fundy).

Lorsque éclate la guerre de la Succession d'Autriche en 1744, la région de Beaubassin est un important foyer de peuplement acadien qui comprend les établissements des rivières Petcoudiac, Memramcook et Chipoudie. Sa population est composée des familles Arsenault, Bourgeois, Chiasson, Cormier, Cyr, Doucet, Gaudet, Haché dit Gallant, Poirier et bien d'autres. Au début des années 1750, la région compte quelque 3 000 Acadiens, dont près de la moitié ont fui la partie continentale de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Ce grand nombre de réfugiés acadiens témoigne éloquemment des tensions qui gagnaient la Nouvelle-Écosse après la fondation de Halifax en 1749.

La plupart des Acadiens se considèrent comme neutres dans ce conflit entre pouvoirs impériaux : ils ont refusé de prendre les armes aussi bien pour la France que pour la Grande-Bretagne. Seuls quelques Acadiens ont appuyé l'offensive militaire lancée en 1747 par les Français de la région de Beaubassin contre les postes militaires britanniques de la Nouvelle-Écosse.