The tension exploded on 2 June 1755 when Lieutenant-Colonel Robert Monckton, 270 British regulars and about 2,000 soldiers from New England landed with heavy artillery on the Isthmus of Chignecto. Two days later, after a skirmish at Pont-à- Buot, the British troops crossed the Missaguash River. By approaching the fort from the north, Monckton destroyed the communication line to Baie Verte. The following day, his troops were able to advance and set up camp at Butte-à-Mirande, a hill located about two kilometres from the fort. A number of altercations took place between enemy patrols over the course of the next few days. On June 12, Monckton reached the batteries surrounding the fort.

The British had assumed that the French would be relying on the support of 1,000 Acadian men plus the garrison of 150 Compagnies franches de la Marine soldiers commanded by Louis du Pont Duchambon de Vergor. However, at the time of the siege there were only about 250 or 300 Acadians, as well as a number of Aboriginal people, with the garrison inside the fort.

After bombarding the fort for several days, the British launched a shell that killed the occupants of one of the casemates. Three Acadians lost their lives during the siege.With no reinforcements, Commandant de Vergor was obliged to surrender and on June 16 the British flag was raised at Beauséjour. The Acadian defenders handed over their weapons and were released to join their families. The British took over the fort which was renamed Fort Cumberland.

Les tensions montent lorsque, le 2 juin 1755, le lieutenant-colonel Robert Monckton, 270 soldats britanniques et 2 000 soldats de la Nouvelle- Angleterre débarquent avec une artillerie sur l'isthme de Chignectou. Deux jours plus tard, la troupe, après une échauffourée à Pont-à-Buot, réussit à franchir la rivière Mésagouèche. En assiégeant le fort de Beauséjour du côté nord, Monckton coupe d'un seul coup les lignes de communication avec la baie Verte. Le lendemain, les troupes britanniques avancent et campent sur la butte à Mirande, à deux kilomètres environ du fort. Les jours qui suivent sont marqués par des accrochages entre patrouilles ennemies. Le 12 juin, Monckton réussit à s'approcher des batteries entourant le fort.

Les Britanniques estiment que les Français peuvent compter sur l'appui des 150 militaires des Compagnies franches de la Marine de la garnison, sous le commandement de Louis du Pont Duchambon de Vergor, et sur celui de 1 000 Acadiens. Cependant, durant le siège, seulement de 250 à 300 Acadiens, ainsi que des Amérindiens, se trouvent à l'intérieur du fort avec la garnison.

Après avoir bombardé le fort pendant quelques jours, les Britanniques lancent un obus qui tue les occupants d'une casemate.Trois Acadiens perdent également la vie pendant le siège. En l'absence de renforts, le commandant Vergor capitule et le drapeau britannique est hissé sur la colline de Beauséjour le 16 juin. Les combattants acadiens, ayant remis leurs armes, sont relâchés et regagnent leurs familles. Les Britanniques occupent alors le fort, qu'ils nomment fort Cumberland.