In 1919, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recommended that the ruins of Fort Cumberland be preserved, given their historic significance. An area of 59 acres was designated as a national historic site by the government in 1920. The original name, Beauséjour, was used and the area became one of the first historic sites in Canada.

100th anniversary of National Historic Site designation

The year 2020 marks Fort Beauséjour – Fort Cumberland’s 100th anniversary as a designated National Historic Site of Canada.

Virtual Exhibit

To highlight the site’s centennial, the fort’s staff is working on developing a new virtual exhibit of the fort’s memorabilia!

To help us capture the fort’s rich history, we’re inviting Canadians to dig into their souvenirs and memorabilia, and share their photos, post cards and/or stories with us as they relate to Fort Beauséjour – Fort Cumberland National Historic Site.

Contributions to the fort’s virtual exhibit will be featured on Parks Canada’s website and social media platforms, and should be sent to our staff via email at pc.fortbc.pc@canada.ca for a contactless exchange.

Dr. Webster

Dr. John Clarence Webster was the first person to bring the historical significance of the Beauséjour-Cumberland region to the attention of the public and government officials. He was a surgeon and gynecologist of international renown who, after his retirement in 1919, lived in Shediac, his native town.

He devoted considerable energy to the identification and restoration of various historic sites in the Maritimes, including the fort at Beauséjour, the habitation at Port-Royal and the fortress at Louisbourg. He also founded the New Brunswick Museum in Saint John. Dr. Webster wrote numerous historical works on the Maritimes and was a member of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board from 1923 until his death in 1950. He became chairman of the Board in 1944.

Preserving the past

The Museum at Fort Beauséjour - Fort Cumberland was officially opened in 1936. The Webster wing, housing hundreds of artefacts collected by Dr. Webster in both New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, was opened in 1949.

Next part: Archaeological digs

En 1919, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques recommande la conservation des vestiges du fort Cumberland en raison de sa valeur historique. En 1920, le gouvernement délimite un terrain d'une superficie de 59 acres qu'il désigne lieu historique national, et auquel il redonne son appellation originale de Beauséjour. Cet endroit figure ainsi sur la liste des premiers sites historiques du Canada.

100e anniversaire de la désignation du fort comme lieu historique national

L'année 2020 correspond au 100e anniversaire du Fort-Beauséjour-Fort-Cumberland en tant que lieu historique national du Canada.

Exposition virtuelle

Pour souligner le centenaire du site, nous travaillons à l'élaboration d'une nouvelle exposition virtuelle des souvenirs du fort.

Pour nous aider à saisir la riche histoire du fort, nous invitons les Canadiens à fouiller dans leurs souvenirs et leurs objets, et à partager avec nous leurs photos, cartes postales et/ou histoires en rapport avec le lieu historique national du Fort-Beauséjour-Fort-Cumberland.

Les contributions à l'exposition virtuelle du fort seront présentées sur le site web de Parcs Canada et sur les plateformes de médias sociaux, et devront être envoyées à notre personnel par courriel à pc.fortbc.pc@canada.ca pour un échange sans contact.

Dr Webster

C'est John Clarence Webster qui, le premier, attire l'attention du gouvernement et du public sur l'importance historique de la région Beauséjour-Cumberland. Chirurgien et gynécologue de réputation internationale, le Dr Webster se retire de la médecine en 1919 et élit domicile à Shediac, sa ville natale.

Il consacre beaucoup d'énergie à la localisation et à la restauration de divers sites historiques des Maritimes : le fort de Beauséjour, l'habitation de Port-Royal et la forteresse de Louisbourg. Il est aussi responsable de la fondation du Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick, à Saint-Jean. Auteur de nombreux ouvrages historiques sur les Maritimes, le Dr Webster est membre, de 1923 jusqu'à son décès en 1950, de la Commission des parcs et sites historiques du Canada, dont il devient président en 1944.

Préserver l'histoire

L'ouverture officielle du Musée du Fort-Beauséjour – Fort-Cumberland a lieu en 1936. En 1949, on procède au dévoilement de l'aile Webster. Des centaines d'objets et d'artefacts recueillis par le Dr Webster, autant au Nouveau-Brunswick qu'en Nouvelle-Écosse, y sont conservés.

Prochain volet : Les fouilles archéologiques