After the fort was taken over by the British, with the new name of Fort Cumberland, new barracks were constructed both inside and outside the walls. Although these new facilities could house up to 800 soldiers, they were rarely occupied by more than a detachment of about 200.

The soldiers took advantage of every opportunity to amuse themselves. In 1756, for example, British soldiers brought in the New Year by roasting a variety of meats outdoors. St. Patrick's, St. George's and St. David's were always accompanied with festivities, as were the birthdays of the Royal Family.

In the early 1760s, a British engineer recommended, without success, that the fortifications be strengthened since they would never withstand a sustained artillery attack. French engineers had made similar observations in the past.

In 1763, with peace restored, Fort Cumberland was no longer of strategic importance although it continued to be manned by British troops until 1768. It was occupied temporarily in 1776 during the American War of Independence by about 275 soldiers from the Royal Fencible Americans under the command of Colonel Joseph Goreham.

Quand le fort à Beauséjour devient possession anglaise, avec son nouveau nom Fort Cumberland, les Britanniques construisent de nouvelles casernes dans l'enceinte et à l'extérieur. Les nouvelles installations peuvent recevoir jusqu'à 800 militaires, mais elles n'abritent en général qu'un détachement d'environ 200 soldats.

Les militaires britanniques saisissent tous les prétextes pour se divertir. Ainsi, en 1756, à la veille du jour de l'An, les officiers anglais font griller en plein air quantité de viandes. Ils ne manquent pas de fêter la Saint- Patrick, la Saint-Georges, la Saint- David et les anniversaires de la famille royale.

Au début des années 1760, un ingénieur britannique suggère en vain de renforcer les fortifications. D'après lui, le fort ne serait jamais défendable advenant une attaque soutenue d'artillerie. Ses observations abondent dans le même sens que celles faites auparavant par des ingénieurs français.

En 1763, la paix revenue, le fort Cumberland perd de son importance stratégique, bien que des militaires britanniques l'occupent jusqu'en 1768. En 1776, il est occupé temporairement pendant la guerre de l'Indépendance américaine par environ 275 militaires du Royal Fencible Americans, sous le commandement du colonel Joseph Goreham.