The first report assessing the fort ruins was made in 1913. At that time, all that remained in the middle of a field was a stone wall, brick foundations and the remains of a powder magazine. During the 1920s, the ruins were cleared as much as possible and the walls were stabilized.

The first archeological digs at the fort began in the summer of 1962. Four years later, under the direction of Jervis D. Swannack, systematic excavations were carried out over a period of three years. This work uncovered the French powder magazine and casemate along with remains of a wooden palisade dating from 1751. Barracks from both the French and British occupation period were also unearthed. The more fragile structural features were reinforced or restored to give visitors a better glimpse of life in the fort.

Archeological excavations have uncovered the remains of four military occupations of the fort of Beauséjour and Fort Cumberland. Thousands of artefacts were found in the course of these digs, some of which are on display in the Museum. This collection of objects and artefacts provides a valuable illustration of the history of the Isthmus of Chignecto, a region which occupies a pivotal position in the history of the Canadian people.

Un premier rapport datant de 1913 décrit les vestiges du fort. À cette époque, il ne subsiste qu'un amas de ruines perdu au milieu d'un champ, en l'occurrence un mur de pierres, des fondations en briques ainsi que des vestiges de la poudrière. Dans les années 1920, on déblaie autant que possible les ruines et on consolide les murs.

Les premières fouilles archéologiques au fort de Beauséjour sont entreprises pendant l'été de 1962. Quatre ans plus tard, sous la direction de Jervis D. Swannack, on procède de façon systématique à des fouilles qui s'étalent sur une période de trois ans. Ces fouilles permettent de dégager la poudrière et la casemate françaises, de même que les vestiges de la palissade en bois remontant à 1751. Les casernes des soldats des époques française et anglaise sont découvertes. Les structures les plus fragiles sont déterrées puis renforcées ou restaurées afin que les visiteurs aient un meilleur aperçu de la vie du fort d'autrefois.

Les ruines mises au jour témoignent de quatre occupations militaires du fort Beauséjour et du fort Cumberland. Lors des recherches archéologiques, des milliers d'artefacts ont été exhumés, dont certains sont exposés au musée du site. Par sa riche collection d'objets et d'artefacts, le musée illustre l'histoire locale et militaire de l'isthme de Chignectou, région charnière qui a joué un rôle important dans l'histoire du peuple canadien.