The Acadian population was comprised of the families who first settled around the fort at Beauséjour, and others who had fled their lands on the east side of the Missaguash River. These refugees helped with maintenance work on the fort and with the building of dykes.

Provisioning the garrison was one means of deriving economic benefit, although needy refugees received rations from the fort. Trade with Louisbourg and Île Saint-Jean via Baie Verte and Tatamagouche constituted another source of income for the Acadians in the region. They exported cattle, poultry, fish, vegetables, flour, furs and lumber.

In 1754 the French missionary, Le Loutre, undertook a vast dyke-building project for which he had been able to obtain considerable monies from Versailles. The project was designed to appease the original Acadian settlers who did not welcome the arrival of hundreds of refugees into the area. Le Loutre also hoped to pacify the latter who wanted to go back to their farms. The refugees even sent two representatives to Quebec to petition civil and ecclesiastical authorities on their behalf. They were not greeted with much sympathy and, in fact, were criticized for the lack of gratitude and loyalty with regard to their missionaries and their mother country.

Out of a total of about 3,000 Acadians living on the Isthmus of Chignecto and in the Shepody, Petitcodiac and Memramcook region, Commandant de Vergor estimated that about 700 were able to bear arms. However, all of them feared British reprisals if they took up arms. In June 1755,Vergor was only able to rally between 200 and 300 Acadian men and a number of Aboriginal people to join the 200 soldiers defending the fort at Beauséjour.

La population acadienne de la région est composée des premiers colons établis autour du fort de Beauséjour et de nombreux réfugiés venus de la rive est de la rivière Mésagouèche. Ces réfugiés travaillent principalement à l'entretien du fort et à la construction des aboiteaux.

L'approvisionnement de la garnison se révèle une des activités économiques des Acadiens de la région. Les autorités du fort doivent cependant venir au secours des réfugiés les plus démunis. Le commerce avec Louisbourg et l'île Saint-Jean, par la baie Verte et Tatamagouche, constitue une autre source de revenus importante pour les habitants. Les Acadiens y exportent du bétail, de la volaille, du poisson, des légumes, de la farine, des fourrures et du bois de construction.

L'abbé Le Loutre se lance dans un vaste projet de construction d'aboiteaux en 1754, pour lequel il réussit à obtenir de Versailles des sommes assez considérables. Par ce projet, il veut calmer les premiers colons qui voient d'un mauvais oeil l'arrivée de centaines de réfugiés acadiens dans la région du fort. Il cherche ainsi à apaiser les plaintes des réfugiés qui veulent retourner sur leurs anciennes terres. Ces derniers délèguent même deux des leurs à Québec, afin de présenter leurs griefs aux autorités civiles et ecclésiastiques. Celles-ci se montrent peu sympathiques à leur égard et leur reprochent leur ingratitude et leur manque de fidélité envers leur mèrepatrie et leurs missionnaires.

Des quelque 3 000 Acadiens habitant l'isthme de Chignectou, la région de Chipoudie, de Petcoudiac et de Memramcook, le commandant Vergor estime qu'à peu près 700 peuvent porter les armes. Mais tous craignent de prendre les armes et de s'attirer ainsi les représailles des Anglais. En juin 1755, Vergor ne peut rallier qu'entre 200 et 300 Acadiens, et quelques Amérindiens qui s'ajoutent aux 200 militaires assignés à la défense du fort de Beauséjour.