Canada’s participation in the First World War (1914-1918) and the Second World War (1939-1945) touched every community in this country. Parks Canada invites Canadians to join us in commemorating individuals from all walks of life who made unique contributions to the war effort. During these global conflicts, civilians and those in the armed forces played a crucial role in protecting and building their communities and thus Canada as a whole.

Get to know the remarkable stories of these Hometown Heroes, honour their memory and express your gratitude for their service by visiting Parks Canada’s National Historic Sites, National Parks, and National Marine Conservation Areas. We will remember them…

Major Albert Desbrisay Carter (1892-1919)

Historic photo of Major Albert Carter
Major Albert Desbrisay Carter

Born in Point de Bute on July 3, 1892, Albert Desbrisay Carter enlisted in November 1914 in Saint John, New Brunswick. He began his military career in the 26th New Brunswick Battalion, as the unit machine gun officer. Lieutenant Carter was seriously wounded during the Battle of the Crater in 1915. After recovering, Major Carter volunteered for the Royal Flying Corps.

With the Royal Flying Corps, he downed between 27 and 31 enemy aircraft, making him one of the top 15 ranking Canadian aces. He was awarded the 1914-1915 Star, the Distinguished Service Order with bar, the Belgian Croix de Guerre and was mentioned in Dispatches.

On May 20, 1918, Major Carter’s plane was shot down behind German lines. He was held prisoner in Karlsruhe, Bavaria, until the signing of the Armistice on November 11, 1918. After the war, Major Carter commanded a Canadian squadron in England where they trained using captured German Fokker D-VII’s. During an exercise his plane collapsed in midair and Major Carter died on May 22, 1919 at the age of 27.


* The Poppy Design is a registered trademark of The Royal Canadian Legion, Dominion Command and is used under licence.

La participation du Canada à la Première Guerre mondiale (1914-1918) et à la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945) a touché toutes les communautés du pays, sans exception. L'Agence Parcs Canada invite les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se joindre à elle afin de rendre hommage aux personnes de tous âges qui ont contribué à l'effort de guerre. Lors de ces conflits mondiaux, les civils et les soldats ont joué un rôle crucial dans la défense et l'édification non seulement de leurs communautés, mais aussi du pays tout entier. Découvrez les histoires remarquables de ces héros de chez nous.

Rendez hommage et exprimez votre reconnaissance à ces personnages pour le service qu'ils ont rendu en visitant les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation de Parcs Canada. Nous nous souviendrons d'eux...

Major Albert Desbrisay Carter (1892-1919)

Historic photo of Major Albert Carter
Major Albert Desbrisay Carter

Né à Point de Bute le 3 juillet 1892, Albert Desbrisay Carter s’est enrôlé à Saint-Jean, Nouveau-Brunswick, en novembre 1914. Il a débuté sa carrière comme officier mitrailleur du 26e Bataillon du Nouveau-Brunswick. Lieutenant Carter est gravement blessé lors de la Bataille du Cratère en 1915. Après son rétablissement, il se porte volontaire pour le Royal Flying Corps.

Avec le Royal Flying Corps, il a abattu entre 27 à 31 avions, ce qui le place parmi les 15 meilleurs pilotes de chasse canadiens. Il a reçu l’Étoile de 1914-1915, l’Ordre du Service distingué avec barrette, la Croix de Guerre belge et est cité à l’Ordre du jour.

Le 20 mai 1918, l’avion de Major Carter est abattu derrière les lignes allemandes. Il est fait prisonnier de guerre en Karlsruhe, en Bavière, jusqu’à la fin de la guerre. Après la guerre, Major Carter commande un escadron canadien en Angleterre où les pilotes s’entrainent avec les Fokker D-VII allemands qui ont été capturés. Major Carter meurt le 22 mai 1919 à l’âge de 27 ans suite à une défaillance de son avion en plein vol, lors d’un exercice.


* Le coquelicot est une marque de commerce enregistrée de La Direction nationale de La Légion royale canadienne, employée sous licence.