Note to readers

The health and safety of visitors, employees and all Canadians are of the utmost importance. Parks Canada is following the advice and guidance of public health experts to limit the spread of COVID-19 while allowing Canadians to experience Canada’s natural and cultural heritage.

Parks Canada acknowledges that the COVID-19 pandemic may have unforeseeable impacts on the St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement.


Foreword

Steven Guilbeault

The Honourable Steven Guilbeault
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

From coast to coast to coast, national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas are a source of shared pride for Canadians. They reflect Canada’s natural and cultural heritage and tell stories of who we are, including the historic and contemporary contributions of Indigenous peoples.

These cherished places are a priority for the Government of Canada. We are committed to protecting natural and cultural heritage, expanding the system of protected places, and contributing to the recovery of species at risk.

At the same time, we continue to offer new and innovative visitor and outreach programs and activities to ensure that more Canadians can experience these iconic destinations and learn about history, culture and the environment.

In collaboration with Indigenous communities and key partners, Parks Canada conserves and protects national historic sites and national parks; enables people to discover and connect with history and nature; and helps sustain the economic value of these places for local and regional communities.

This new management plan for St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site of Canada supports this vision.

Management plans are developed by a dedicated team at Parks Canada through extensive consultation and input from Indigenous partners, other partners and stakeholders, local communities, as well as visitors past and present. I would like to thank everyone who contributed to this plan for their commitment and spirit of cooperation.

As the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I applaud this collaborative effort and I am pleased to approve the St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site of Canada Management Plan.

Steven Guilbeault
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by:

Ron Hallman

President & Chief Executive Officer
Parks Canada

Andrew Campbell

Senior Vice-President, Operations Directorate
Parks Canada

Terrie Dionne

Superintendent, Manitoba Field Unit
Parks Canada


Introduction

Parks Canada manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site of Canada.

St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site of Canada lies 25 km north of Winnipeg, Manitoba in the Rural Municipality of St. Andrews. The Rectory was once part of a larger network of buildings and facilities serving a community of Hudson’s Bay Company personnel and local residents. The prominence and social status of the Church Mission Society in Rupert’s Land are reflected in this two-storey stone rectory. Completed in 1854, the Rectory was larger and grander than a typical home in the Red River settlement.

St. Andrew’s Rectory was designated of national historic importance in 1962 as an example of mid 19th century Red River architecture. This style, also known as a Hudson’s Bay style of architecture, adapted Scottish building techniques for use on the Canadian frontier and added local styles like the French-Canadian-style wooden verandah.

The site was acquired by the Government of Canada in 1976. Soon after, the Rectory was determined to be in poor structural condition. Although the building was largely dismantled and rebuilt in the 1980s, it remains true to the style and features of the original.


Management approach

St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site is currently operated by the St. Andrews Heritage Centre Committee, a group of volunteers, who are supported by the offices of the Rural Municipality (RM) of St. Andrews. In 2013, Parks Canada and the RM of St. Andrews negotiated a License of Occupation Agreement for the site that is in effect until 2033. The goal of the Heritage Centre is to showcase the history of the St. Andrews area and the Rectory, and this is achieved through the creation and delivery of organized tours, interpretive programming, special events and local workshops. Over the past years, the Heritage Centre has expanded its offer to the public at the site from a spring-summer seasonal operation, to now offering programming and events throughout the year.

Parks Canada’s Manitoba Field Unit Superintendent provides oversight for the site, which is run by a third party. Parks Canada is responsible for major infrastructure investments and maintenance. Parks Canada assists the Heritage Centre staff when possible from its offices in Winnipeg and at Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site.


Management objectives

Building Relationships with Aboriginal Peoples

Parks Canada respects Aboriginal rights and land claim agreements and building mutually beneficial relationships with Indigenous communities is a priority for the Agency. Indigenous communities associated with the site are engaged to ensure that their voices, perspectives and histories are respectfully incorporated into the interpretation and protection of the site.


Cultural Resource Conservation

Parks Canada protects cultural resources at St. Andrew’s Rectory in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. Preservation of the site is achieved through active cultural resource conservation and strategic asset investments. Parks Canada preserves the elements that define the character of the national historic site and give meaning to the overall site and cultural landscape. Parks Canada provides Cultural Resource Management training for the St. Andrews Heritage Centre Committee, staff and volunteers.


Public Understanding and Appreciation

The site and its significance is communicated to the public who visit the site by the St. Andrews Heritage Centre’s programs, Rectory exhibits, and special events. Parks Canada maintains an outdoor interpretive node that provides to visitors a brief history of the site and the area which is accessible year-round. Parks Canada and the St. Andrews Heritage Centre Committee provide information about St. Andrew’s Rectory on their websites and through social media. Targeted off-site outreach activities and strategic partnerships with local, regional, and tourism related groups generate interest in the site, its regular programming, and special events.


Summary of strategic environmental assessment

The purpose of a strategic environmental assessment is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals, to support environmentally sound decision making. In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment was conducted on the St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site Management Statement.

The objectives in the management statement are expected to have positive effects on the level of cultural resource protection and commemorative integrity at St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site. The management statement will help connect Canadians with nature, thus contributing to the implementation of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.

Operations at the site are required to mitigate impacts on climate according to Greening Government requirements in support of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy. There are no significant negative environmental effects anticipated from the management statement’s implementation. Individual projects at the site will be evaluated separately under the Impact Assessment Act, or successor legislation, as necessary.


Regional setting
Map 1. Regional Setting of St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site — Text version

A map of south-central Manitoba centred around the city of Winnipeg. All of the Parks Canada sites in the area — Riel House, The Forks, St. Andrew’s Rectory and Lower Fort Garry NHS — are shown with the location of St. Andrew’s Rectory highlighted. The site located along the Red River 25 kilometres north of the City of Winnipeg in the Rural Municipality of St. Andrews.

St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site
Map 2. St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site — Text version

An aerial image of St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site showing the property boundary and location of the site’s heritage and modern infrastructure.

The infrastructure legend:

  1. The Rectory
  2. Interpretation Node
  3. Fenced Grounds
  4. Driveway
  5. Walking path
  6. Garden

Contact us

For more information about the management plan or about St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site of Canada:

St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site of Canada
Parks Canada, Manitoba Field Unit
145 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg MB R3B 0R9
Canada

Email:  manitoba@pc.gc.ca

Phone: 204-983-6757

 St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site

Publication information

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the President & Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2021.

Front cover image credit:
Parks Canada 2018

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français :
Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s, 2021

  • ISBN R64-560/2020E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-34091-3

Note aux lecteurs

La santé et la sécurité des visiteurs, du personnel et de l'ensemble de la population canadienne sont de la plus haute importance. Parcs Canada suit les conseils et les orientations des experts en santé publique pour limiter la propagation de la COVID 19 tout en permettant aux Canadiens et Canadiennes de découvrir le patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada.

Parcs Canada reconnaît que la pandémie de la COVID-19 peut avoir des effets imprévisibles sur l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s. Parcs Canada informera les partenaires autochtones, les intervenants et le public de ces répercussions dans le cadre de la mise à jour annuelle sur la mise en œuvre de ce plan.


Avant-propos

Steven Guilbeault

L’honorable Steven Guilbeault
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

D’un océan à l’autre, les lieux historiques nationaux, parcs nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation sont une source de fierté pour toute la population canadienne. Ils reflètent le patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada et racontent qui nous sommes, y compris les histoires, les cultures et les contributions des peuples autochtones.

Ces endroits prisés sont une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. Nous sommes résolus à protéger le patrimoine naturel et culturel, à élargir le réseau d’aires protégées et à contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril.

Nous devons en même temps continuer d’offrir des activités et des programmes innovateurs sur place et à distance pour permettre à un nombre accru de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de faire l’expérience de ces destinations emblématiques et de découvrir l’histoire, la culture et l’environnement.

En collaboration avec les communautés autochtones et des partenaires clés, Parcs Canada protège et restaure les lieux historiques et parcs nationaux; permet aux gens de découvrir l’histoire et la nature et de s’en rapprocher; contribue à maintenir, pour les collectivités locales et régionales, la valeur économique de ces lieux.

Ce nouveau plan directeur du lieu historique national du Canada du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s vient appuyer cette vision.

Les plans directeurs sont élaborés par une équipe dévouée de Parcs Canada après de vastes consultations auprès de partenaires autochtones, d’autres partenaires et parties prenantes, de collectivités environnantes, et de visiteurs passés et présents. J’aimerais remercier tous ceux et celles qui ont contribué à ce plan pour leur dévouement et leur esprit de collaboration.

À titre de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, j’applaudis à cet effort concerté, et j’ai le plaisir d’approuver le plan directeur du lieu historique national du Canada du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s.

Steven Guilbeault
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Recommandations

Recommandé par :

Ron Hallman

Président et directeur général
Parcs Canada

Andrew Campbell

Vice-président principal, Direction générale des opérations
Parcs Canada

Terrie Dionne

Directrice, Unité de gestion du Manitoba
Parcs Canada


Introduction

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes du monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national du Presbytère St. Andrew’s.

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s se trouve à 25 km au nord de Winnipeg (Manitoba) dans la municipalité rurale de St. Andrews. Le presbytère faisait partie à une époque d’un grand ensemble de bâtiments et d’installations qui desservaient le personnel de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et la population locale. Ce presbytère en pierre à deux étages illustre l’importance et le statut social de la Church Mission Society dans la Terre de Rupert. Terminé en 1854, le presbytère était plus grand et plus imposant qu’une habitation typique de la colonie de la rivière Rouge.

Le presbytère St. Andrew’s a été désigné d’importance historique nationale en 1962 en tant qu’exemple de l’architecture de la rivière Rouge du milieu du XIXe siècle. Ce style, également appelé style architectural de la baie d’Hudson, adaptait les techniques de construction écossaises à une utilisation dans les régions canadiennes, auquel s’ajoutaient des styles locaux comme les vérandas des Franco Canadiens.

Le gouvernement du Canada en a fait l’acquisition en 1976. Peu de temps après, on a découvert que la structure du presbytère était en mauvais état. Bien que le bâtiment ait été en grande partie déconstruit et rebâti dans les années 1980, son style et ses caractéristiques restent fidèles à la construction originale.


Approche de gestion

Le lieu historique national du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s est actuellement géré par le St. Andrews Heritage Centre Committee (Heritage Centre), un groupe de bénévoles soutenu par des bureaux de la Municipalité rurale (MR) de St. Andrews. En 2013, Parcs Canada et la MR de St. Andrews ont négocié un permis d’occupation du site qui sera en vigueur jusqu’en 2033. Le but du Heritage Centre est de présenter l’histoire de la région de St. Andrews et du presbytère. Pour cela, il crée et organise des visites guidées, des programmes d’interprétation, des activités spéciales et des ateliers locaux. Ces dernières années, le centre du patrimoine a prolongé la période d’ouverture au public : auparavant, le presbytère n’était ouvert que durant le printemps et l’été, mais il y a maintenant des programmes et des activités toute l’année.

Le directeur de l’Unité de gestion du Manitoba de Parcs Canada assure la surveillance du site, qui est géré par un tiers. Parcs Canada est responsable des grands investissements et de l’entretien des infrastructures. Parcs Canada aide le personnel du centre du patrimoine lorsque cela est possible à partir de ses bureaux à Winnipeg et au lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry.


Objectifs de gestion

Établissement de relations avec les peuples autochtones

Parcs Canada respecte les droits des Autochtones et les accords de revendication territoriale, et l’établissement de relations mutuellement avantageuses avec les communautés autochtones est une priorité. Parcs Canada travaille avec les groupes autochtones concernés par le lieu historique pour s’assurer d’inclure respectueusement leur opinion, leur point de vue et leurs histoires dans l’interprétation et la protection du lieu historique.


Conservation des ressources culturelles

Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles du presbytère St. Andrew’s, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. La préservation du lieu est concrétisée par la conservation active des ressources culturelles et par des investissements stratégiques dans les biens. Parcs Canada préserve les éléments caractéristiques du lieu historique national et les aspects qui confèrent un sens au schéma global du paysage. Parcs Canada offre de la formation au personnel et aux bénévoles du St. Andrews Heritage Centre Committee en matière de gestion des ressources culturelles.


Compréhension et appréciation du public

Les programmes du St. Andrews Heritage Centre, les expositions du presbytère et les activités spéciales permettent de montrer l’importance du lieu historique au public qui le visite. Parcs Canada a installé à l’extérieur un point d’interprétation accessible à longueur d’année et qui présente aux visiteurs un bref historique du lieu et de la région.

Parcs Canada et le St. Andrews Heritage Centre Committee fournissent sur leur site Web et dans les médias sociaux de l’information au sujet du presbytère St. Andrew’s. Des activités de sensibilisation ciblées organisées hors site et des partenariats stratégiques avec des groupes locaux et régionaux s’occupant de tourisme permettent de susciter de l’intérêt pour le lieu historique, ses programmes et les activités spéciales.


Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

L’évaluation environnementale stratégique a pour objet d’intégrer les considérations d’ordre environnemental dans l’élaboration des politiques publiques, des plans et des propositions de programme afin d’appuyer la prise de décisions respectueuses de l’environnement. Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique a été appliquée à l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s.

Les objectifs dans l’énoncé de gestion devraient avoir des effets positifs sur le niveau de protection des ressources culturelles et l’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s. L’énoncé de gestion permettra de favoriser des occasions pour les Canadiens de se rapprocher de la nature et de contribuer à la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable.

Des opérations sur le site sont nécessaires pour atténuer les impacts sur le climat conformément aux exigences d’écologisation du gouvernement en appui à la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. La mise en œuvre de l’énoncé de gestion n’entraînera pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants. Les projets individuels menés sur place seront évalués séparément en vertu de la Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact ou de toute loi lui succédant, le cas échéant.


Cadre régional
Carte 1. Cadre régional du lieu historique national du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s — Version texte

Carte du centre-sud du Manitoba centrée autour de la ville de Winnipeg. Tous les lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada se trouvant dans cette région — Maison-Riel, La Fourche, Presbytère-St. Andrew’s et Lower Fort Garry — sont indiqués sur cette carte, et l’emplacement du lieu historique national du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s est surligné. Il se situe le long de la rivière Rouge, à 25 kilomètres au nord de la ville de Winnipeg, dans la municipalité rurale de St. Andrew’s.

Lieu historique national du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s
Carte 2. Lieu historique national du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s — Version texte

Image aérienne de l’emplacement du lieu historique national du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s indiquant les limites de la propriété et l’emplacement des infrastructures patrimoniales et modernes du lieu.

Légende des infrastructures :

  1. Presbytère
  2. Composante d’interprétation
  3. Terrains clôturés
  4. Entrée
  5. Sentier pédestre
  6. Jardin

Contactez-nous

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes au sujet du lieu historique national du Canada du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s :

Lieu historique national du Canada du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s
Unité de gestion du Manitoba, Parcs Canada
145 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3B 0R9
Canada

Courriel :  manitoba@pc.gc.ca

Tél. : 204-983-6757

 Lieu historique national du Canada du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s

Renseignements sur la publication

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le président et directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2021.

Sources des images de la page couverture :
Parcs Canada 2018

This document is also available in English:
St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement, 2021

  • ISBN R64-560/2020F-PDF
  • 978-0-660-34092-0