Note to readers

The health and safety of visitors, employees and all Canadians are of the utmost importance. Parks Canada is following the advice and guidance of public health experts to limit the spread of COVID-19 while allowing Canadians to experience Canada’s natural and cultural heritage.

Parks Canada acknowledges that the COVID-19 pandemic may have unforeseeable impacts on the Riel House National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement.


Foreword

Steven Guilbeault

The Honourable Steven Guilbeault
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

From coast to coast to coast, national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas are a source of shared pride for Canadians. They reflect Canada’s natural and cultural heritage and tell stories of who we are, including the historic and contemporary contributions of Indigenous peoples.

These cherished places are a priority for the Government of Canada. We are committed to protecting natural and cultural heritage, expanding the system of protected places, and contributing to the recovery of species at risk.

At the same time, we continue to offer new and innovative visitor and outreach programs and activities to ensure that more Canadians can experience these iconic destinations and learn about history, culture and the environment.

In collaboration with Indigenous communities and key partners, Parks Canada conserves and protects national historic sites and national parks; enables people to discover and connect with history and nature; and helps sustain the economic value of these places for local and regional communities.

This new management plan for Riel House National Historic Site of Canada supports this vision.

Management plans are developed by a dedicated team at Parks Canada through extensive consultation and input from Indigenous partners, other partners and stakeholders, local communities, as well as visitors past and present. I would like to thank everyone who contributed to this plan for their commitment and spirit of cooperation.

As the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I applaud this collaborative effort and I am pleased to approve the Riel House National Historic Site of Canada Management Plan.

Steven Guilbeault
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by:

Ron Hallman

President & Chief Executive Officer
Parks Canada

Andrew Campbell

Senior Vice-President, Operations Directorate
Parks Canada

Terrie Dionne

Superintendent, Manitoba Field Unit
Parks Canada


Introduction

Parks Canada manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Riel House National Historic Site of Canada in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Riel House National Historic Site of Canada represents a late 19th-century Métis farm and home. The grounds and the house, the only heritage structure remaining on the site, were transferred into the care of the Government of Canada in 1969 and designated of national historic significance in 1976. Although Louis Riel never lived here, the site and home are intimately connected to the Riel family and Louis Riel himself, a pivotal figure in Canadian and Métis culture and history. Louis Riel was designated a person of national historic significance in 1956. His legacy continues to influence the evolving landscape of Winnipeg, the province of Manitoba, and Canada as a nation.

The house’s architectural significance lies in its representation of typical Red River frame construction traditions of the 19th century and its association with traditional Red River lots, an early form of prairie settlement. This system allowed multitudes of families to own land along the river, which they used for access to water and transportation. The house sits upon one of two remaining adjoining traditional Red River lots, purchased by Julie Lagimodière-Riel and her son Louis. Members of the Riel family continued to live in the house until 1967. The site opened to the public in 1980 after the home was restored and furnished to represent the spring of 1886. The house is a Recognized Federal Heritage Building.

Riel House National Historic Site has the distinction of being the only heritage place in Canada where Louis Riel is commemorated as a person of national historic significance and of being a key site in Manitoba that represents the river lot system of the early settlers and that explores 19th century Métis culture and daily life. Parks Canada uses a multiple-perspective approach to reflect the range and complexity of history present at the site.


Management approach

Riel House National Historic Site is administered by Parks Canada’s Manitoba Field Unit from its offices in downtown Winnipeg. The site’s regular operational season is in July and August, but the site is open for school programming in May and June. The Louis Riel Institute, through funding from the Manitoba Metis Federation, works collaboratively with Parks Canada to offer on-site interpretive programming and demonstration activities related to Métis Nation culture from May to August.


Management objectives

Building and maintaining relationships with the Métis Nation

Parks Canada respects Aboriginal rights and Treaty rights, and building mutually beneficial relationships with Indigenous communities is a priority for the Agency. Riel House National Historic Site holds special meaning for the Métis Nation as both a physical and intangible part of their cultural identity. The site and the memory of Louis Riel play a role in helping to sustain and enrich the history and culture of Métis Nation citizens. In managing Riel House National Historic Site, Parks Canada works with the Manitoba Metis Federation to ensure that the perspectives and knowledge of the Métis Nation remain a pivotal part of site management, decision making, and programming.


Cultural resource conservation

Preservation of the site is achieved through active cultural resource conservation and sustainable asset investment. Projects involving cultural resources are assessed through cultural resource impact analysis and are evaluated against the Parks Canada Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada to mitigate or eliminate potential impacts to the cultural resources at the site.


Public understanding and appreciation

The site and its association with Louis Riel, Métis Nation culture, traditional river lot farms, and local Red River construction traditions is significant to the Métis Nation, the City of Winnipeg, the Province of Manitoba, and all Canadians. The members of the public who visit the site, those who explore Parks Canada’s website and social media streams, and those who benefit from Parks Canada’s public outreach program, learn about the significance of Riel House and of the significant role the Red River Métis and Louis Riel played as a negotiating partner in Confederation, in the creation of the Province of Manitoba, the development of the city of Winnipeg, the negotiation of the treaties, and the advancement of human rights in Canada.

Relationships with neighbouring property owners are cultivated and maintained to enhance awareness and support for Riel House and Parks Canada, and to ensure understanding of potential impacts they may have on the site and its commemorative integrity.


Summary of strategic environmental assessment

The purpose of a strategic environmental assessment is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision making. In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment was conducted on the Riel House National Historic Site Management Statement.

The objectives in the management statement are expected to have positive effects on the level of cultural resource protection and commemorative integrity at Riel House National Historic Site. The management statement will help connect Canadians with nature, thus contributing to the implementation of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.

Operations at the site are required to mitigate impacts on climate according to Greening Government requirements in support of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy. There are no significant negative environmental effects anticipated from the management statement implementation. Individual projects at the site will be evaluated separately under the Impact Assessment Act, or successor legislation, as necessary.


Regional setting
Map 1. Regional setting of Riel House National Historic Site — Text version

A map of south-central Manitoba centred around the city of Winnipeg. All of the Parks Canada sites in the area — Riel House, The Forks, St. Andrew’s Rectory and Lower Fort Garry NHS — are shown, with the location of Riel House highlighted. The site is located in south Winnipeg, near the Red River.

Site plan of Riel House National Historic Site
Map 2. Site plan of Riel House National Historic Site — Text version

An aerial image of the Riel House site showing the property boundary and location of the site’s heritage and modern infrastructure.

The infrastructure legend:

  1. Riel House
  2. Washrooms
  3. Garden
  4. Orientation node
  5. Shed
  6. Tent pad
  7. Grounds
  8. Parking lot

Contact us

For more information about the management plan or about Riel House National Historic Site of Canada:

Riel House National Historic Site of Canada
Parks Canada, Manitoba Field Unit
145 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg MB R3B 0R9
Canada

Email:  manitoba@pc.gc.ca

Phone: 204-983-6757

 Riel House National Historic Site

Publication information

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the President & Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2021.

Front cover image credit:
Parks Canada 2018

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français :
Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Riel, 2021.

  • ISBN: R64-561/2020E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-34093-7

Note aux lecteurs

La santé et la sécurité des visiteurs, du personnel et de l’ensemble de la population canadienne sont de la plus haute importance. Parcs Canada suit les conseils et les orientations des experts en santé publique pour limiter la propagation de la COVID 19 tout en permettant aux Canadiens et Canadiennes de découvrir le patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada.

Parcs Canada reconnaît que la pandémie de la COVID-19 peut avoir des effets imprévisibles sur l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Riel.


Avant-propos

Steven Guilbeault

L’honorable Steven Guilbeault
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

D’un océan à l’autre, les lieux historiques nationaux, parcs nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation sont une source de fierté pour toute la population canadienne. Ils reflètent le patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada et racontent qui nous sommes, y compris les histoires, les cultures et les contributions des peuples autochtones.

Ces endroits prisés sont une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. Nous sommes résolus à protéger le patrimoine naturel et culturel, à élargir le réseau d’aires protégées et à contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril.

Nous devons en même temps continuer d’offrir des activités et des programmes innovateurs sur place et à distance pour permettre à un nombre accru de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de faire l’expérience de ces destinations emblématiques et de découvrir l’histoire, la culture et l’environnement.

En collaboration avec les communautés autochtones et des partenaires clés, Parcs Canada protège et restaure les lieux historiques et parcs nationaux; permet aux gens de découvrir l’histoire et la nature et de s’en rapprocher; contribue à maintenir, pour les collectivités locales et régionales, la valeur économique de ces lieux.

Ce nouveau plan directeur du lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Riel vient appuyer cette vision.

Les plans directeurs sont élaborés par une équipe dévouée de Parcs Canada après de vastes consultations auprès de partenaires autochtones, d’autres partenaires et parties prenantes, de collectivités environnantes, et de visiteurs passés et présents. J’aimerais remercier tous ceux et celles qui ont contribué à ce plan pour leur dévouement et leur esprit de collaboration.

À titre de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, j’applaudis à cet effort concerté, et j’ai le plaisir d’approuver le plan directeur du lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Riel.

Steven Guilbeault
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Recommandations

Recommandé par :

Ron Hallman

Président et directeur général
Parcs Canada

Andrew Campbell

Vice-président principal, Direction générale des opérations
Parcs Canada

Terrie Dionne

Directrice, Unité de gestion du Manitoba
Parcs Canada


Introduction

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes du monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison Riel qui est situé à Winnipeg, au Manitoba.

Le lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Riel est représentatif des maisons et des fermes métisses de la fin du XIXe siècle. Les terrains de même que la maison, seule structure patrimoniale qui y est encore présente, ont été transférés au gouvernement du Canada en 1969 et désignés comme lieu historique national en 1976. Bien que Louis Riel n’ait jamais vécu à cet endroit, un lien étroit unit les terrains et la maison à la famille Riel et à Louis Riel lui-même, figure marquante de l’histoire et de la culture du Canada et des Métis. En 1956, Louis Riel a été désigné personnage historique national. L’héritage qu’il nous laisse continue d’influer sur l’évolution du paysage de l'actualité de Winnipeg, de la province du Manitoba et du Canada en tant que nation.

Reconnue en raison de son importance architecturale, la maison Riel constitue un exemple typique des maisons à charpente de bois de la rivière Rouge au XIXe siècle et des lots riverains adjacents, système propre au type de peuplement adopté à cette époque dans les plaines. Le système de lots riverains permettait à de nombreuses familles de posséder des terres le long des berges de la rivière pour l’eau et le transport. La maison, achetée par Julie Lagimodière-Riel et son fils Louis, se trouve sur l’un des deux derniers lots traditionnels adjacents de la rivière Rouge. Des membres de la famille Riel ont occupé la maison jusqu’en 1967. Celle-ci a ouvert ses portes au public en 1980 après avoir été restaurée et meublée pour évoquer le printemps 1886. Elle a été désignée édifice fédéral patrimonial reconnu.

Le lieu historique de la Maison-Riel a la particularité d’être le seul lieu patrimonial au Canada qui rend hommage à Louis Riel en tant que personnage d’importance historique nationale. Il s’agit d’un lieu emblématique au Manitoba, qui représente le système de lots riverains en place à l’époque des premiers pionniers où le public peut découvrir la culture et la vie quotidienne des Métis au XIXe siècle. Parcs Canada utilise une approche à plusieurs points de vue pour mettre en valeur l’étendue et la complexité de l’histoire du lieu.


Approche de gestion

Le lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel est géré par l’Unité de gestion du Manitoba de Parcs Canada à partir de ses bureaux situés au centre-ville de Winnipeg. La saison d’activité régulière se déroule en juillet et août, mais des programmes scolaires y sont offerts en mai et juin. Par l’intermédiaire de fonds accordés par la Fédération des Métis du Manitoba, l’Institut Louis-Riel travaille en étroite collaboration avec Parcs Canada pour offrir sur place des programmes d’interprétation et des démonstrations axés sur la culture de la Nation métisse, de mai à août.


Objectifs de gestion

Établissement et entretien de relations avec la Nation métisse

Parcs Canada respecte les droits des Autochtones et les accords de revendication territoriale, et l’établissement de relations mutuellement avantageuses avec les communautés autochtones est une priorité. Le lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel revêt une signification particulière pour la Nation métisse en raison de ses éléments physiques et immatériels qui constituent une part essentielle de l’identité culturelle des Métis. Le lieu ainsi que le souvenir de Louis Riel contribuent à soutenir et à enrichir l’histoire et la culture des citoyens de la Nation métisse. Parcs Canada travaille avec la Fédération des Métis du Manitoba pour s’assurer que les points de vue et le savoir de la Nation métisse demeurent un élément essentiel de la gestion, du processus décisionnel du lieu historique et des programmes qui y sont offerts.


Conservation des ressources culturelles

La préservation du lieu est réalisée par la conservation active des ressources culturelles et par des investissements durables dans les biens. Les projets liés aux ressources culturelles sont évalués au moyen de l’analyse des impacts sur les ressources culturelles, de la Politique de Parcs Canada sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et des Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux historiques du Canada afin de limiter ou même d’éliminer les répercussions éventuelles sur les ressources culturelles du lieu historique.


Compréhension et appréciation du public

La Nation métisse, la Ville de Winnipeg, la Province du Manitoba et la population canadienne accordent une grande importance au lieu et à son association avec Louis Riel, la culture de la Nation métisse, aux fermes traditionnelles installées sur des lots riverains et aux techniques traditionnelles de construction représentatives de la rivière Rouge. Les visiteurs qui se rendent sur les lieux, le public qui consulte le site Web et les fils de médias sociaux de Parcs Canada ainsi que ceux et celles qui bénéficient du programme de diffusion externe de l’Agence peuvent découvrir le rôle important que les Métis de la rivière rouge et Louis Riel ont joué en tant que partenaire de négociation dans la Confédération, dans la création de la province du Manitoba et de la ville de Winnipeg, dans la négociation de traités ainsi que dans l’avancement des droits de la personne au Canada.

Les relations avec les propriétaires voisins sont cultivées et entretenues pour accroître leur sensibilisation et leur soutien envers la maison Riel et Parcs Canada, et pour s’assurer qu’ils sont conscients des impacts possibles qu’ils pourraient avoir sur le lieu historique et son intégrité commémorative.


Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

L’évaluation environnementale stratégique a pour objet d’intégrer les considérations d’ordre environnemental dans l’élaboration des politiques publiques, des plans et des propositions de programmes afin d’appuyer la prise de décisions respectueuses de l’environnement. Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique a été appliquée à l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel.

Les objectifs fixés dans l’énoncé de gestion devraient continuer à avoir des effets positifs sur le niveau de protection des ressources culturelles et l’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel. L’énoncé de gestion permettra de favoriser des occasions pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes de se rapprocher de la nature et de contribuer à la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable.

Selon les exigences d’écologisation du gouvernement à l’appui de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable, les activités menées sur place doivent se dérouler de manière à limiter les effets sur le climat. Aucun effet environnemental négatif majeur n’est prévu à l’issue de la mise en œuvre de l’énoncé de gestion. Chaque projet sera évalué séparément en vertu de la Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact ou de toute loi lui succédant, le cas échéant.


Cadre régional
Carte 1. Cadre régional du lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel — Version texte

Carte du centre-sud du Manitoba centrée autour de la ville de Winnipeg. Tous les lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada se trouvant dans cette région — Maison-Riel, La Fourche, Presbytère-St. Andrew’s et Lower Fort Garry — sont indiqués sur cette carte, et l’emplacement du lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel est surligné. Ce lieu se trouve au sud de Winnipeg, près de la rivière Rouge.

Plan du lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel
Carte 2. Plan du lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel — Version texte

Plan de situation du lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel Image aérienne de l’emplacement du lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel indiquant les limites de la propriété et l’emplacement des infrastructures patrimoniales et modernes du lieu.

Légende des infrastructures :

  1. Maison-Riel
  2. Toilettes
  3. Jardin
  4. Composante d’orientation
  5. Remise
  6. Tablier de tente
  7. Terrains
  8. Parc de stationnement

Contactez-nous

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes au sujet du lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Riel :

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Riel
Unité de gestion du Manitoba, Parcs Canada
145 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3B 0R9
Canada

Courriel :  manitoba@pc.gc.ca

Tél. : 204-983-6757

 Lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel

Renseignements sur la publication

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le président et directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2021.

Sources des images de la page couverture :
Parcs Canada 2018

This document is also available in English:
Riel House National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement, 2021

  • ISBN R64-561/2020F-PDF
  • R64-561/2020E-PDF